We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Greenville, SC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Switzerland was lovely and everything so pristine. This grand old hotel had a nice room, wonderful breakfast and very classy decor. We will definitely travel Switzerland again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelasolarek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    161
    77
    42
    28
See reviews for
100
163
29
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
966 reviews
320 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 758 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed for two nights at Grand Hotel Europe with a Trafalgar Tour. The hotel hosted several tour groups at once. Location is fine on the other side of the road from the lake and about a 20 minute walk and a short tram ride from the city center.

Our room 335 had air conditioning (though it was hard to regulate) and Kleenex tissue but no refrigerator. Restaurant staff cheerfully provided a bucket and ice for keeping things cold, and the restaurant froze our ice pack. The room and bathroom were clean. There was no coffee and tea maker in the room. The only place in the shower to put soap while showering at first appeared to be the floor, which reminded me of staying at a YMCA some time in the past. Eventually I found a small flat spot on the shower pipes just big enough to hold the hotel's very small flat bar of soap. We could see trains passing on tracks some distance from one of our two windows, but the sound, muffled by bushes, was not annoying, and after a rain we slept with the window open and the air conditioning off. No neighbor noise.

Motion sensor-driven lights go on automatically when you enter the small shower/sink and toilet/sink rooms, but you have to remember to keep wiggling when you're in there or the lights will go off after a while. For those who are terrified by the dark, probably the act of screaming will activate the motion sensor and turn the lights back on.

Some others in the tour group complained that their rooms were hot and that they did not have air conditioning. They were provided with fans. They had heard that only 12 per cent of the rooms have air conditioning.

The wi-fi Internet provider is the very expensive Swisscom, and the guests pay with credit card on the web. Charge is €5 for 30 minutes, €15 for 3 hours, and €25 for one day. There is also a computer near the lobby that can be used for a fee.

The buffet breakfasts in the large ballroom for tour groups were good, and our tour group ate one dinner at the hotel. The sit-down dinner was very good: a generous portion of mixed green salad, fish and potatoes, and for dessert, a scoop each of white and dark chocolate mousse.

Although the staff were not especially outgoing, I think their helpful and "can do" attitude must have made me forgot some of the shortcomings that I found irritating in other hotels such as the lack of refrigerator, lack of coffee/tea maker, and expensive Internet. Others who did not have air conditioning might rate the hotel lower, but from our point of view, the pluses and minuses come out between somewhere average and very good.

Room Tip: Ask for room with air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

the rooms in the hotel was spacious and service quality good. The hotel is very close to the lake. it is just 10 min by bus from the main station. It is little away from the hustle bustle of the central district. There is a bus stop just in front of the hotel making it very convenient. The staff is very friendly and professional and made our stay memorable. the drawbacks if you were to pick are that the food choices is very limited for a hotel of its size. also they do not provide a kettle with coffee/tea kit in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahesh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great location near the lake :) we had window that overlooked the lake n the hotel had balcony too ! 5 minutes walk to casino and 10 minute walk to square... Me n my husbNd r vegetarians n they made us great dinner for us ( something that lacked in Italy) .. Staff was helpful... There r no AC in the rooms since it's cold in lucerne n u can open ur window n be comfy but the staff gave us fan when we mentioned it was stuffy. Will book this hotel again

Room Tip: Get rooms facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simi_Saini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed part of a rowing team and received the best service we get at any hotel during our trips and personal holidays too!
The staff always go out of their way to help and we did ask for alot! top marks for that and the rooms are great and have everything you want and need, really good if you get the lake view!! Nothing like a really good shower to make the stay better and this place really have good showers!
All in all I would definitely go back with a team, family or romancing as its a 5mins walk from town which you can walk beside the lake and its just a gorgeous place to spend your time, as its just so easy to come back to the hotel and relax and the food is the BEST!
Seriously great place to stay and well worth with!

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view room as you can pass the evening looking out at the mountains and watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
413 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Hotel Royal Lucerne
#42 of 68 in Lucerne
111 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
455 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#13 of 68 in Lucerne
822 reviews
1.6 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price range (per night): $276 - $487
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing