We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Romantik!”
Review of Hotel Wilden Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Wilden Mann
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Nusa Dua, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definitely Romantik!”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights in April 2011. Room was small but bed was really comfortable, soft sheets, good pillows. Bathroom/shower was very small - could hardly move but this hotel is a few hundred years old in d heart of Lucerne so I guess it was built during "smaller" times... D floorboards creak, but I didn't have any problems with pedestrian noise even though my room faced d street..

Staff were very attentive & polite.. Helped me with my tour reservation.. D best part of d hotel, to me, was d breakfast served on d first floor. Very dignified setting. Served d usual stuff but d croissants were especially good. Excellent start to each day. D Swiss restaurant on d ground floor is apparently a local institution, but pricey(even by Swiss standards).

Excellent location, 2 mins walk to Chapel Bridge (its esp romantic at night, partially lighted up). The area near d Chapel Bridge is a hive of activity on Saturday mornings, when there's a great Farmers Market. Hotel is 5 mins walk to train station/ferry cruise terminal. Nearest supermarket is in d underground train station.

As they say, nothing is cheap in Switzerland, but I think it was money well spent at Romantik Wilden Mann.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollingstone66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    145
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
229
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Amazing place. Close to the centre of Lucerne but not to close to the noise and bustle. Rooms were huge. Staff were attentive and accomodating. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle15780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed one night here after our flight from DC to Zurich. The hotel is a historic property, in a very good location just a 5 minute walk to the lake, but no views of the lake. Our room was spacious, and the bed ~ oh, the bed and the linens! So comfy with lots of down pillows, crisp sheets and a down featherbed. The hotel is very charming and the staff is very friendly and helpful, but we felt it was overpriced. But, hey, everything in Switzerland is outrageously expensive. The breakfast was wonderful and the city of Lucerne is absolutely lovely, perfect for walking and just enjoying the gorgeous lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My partner and I stayed here as part of a organised walking holiday with InnTravel. The hotel is certainly very central, very close to the Reuss River through the centre of town. It's only a few hundred yards at most to the railway station, and nothing in Lucerne is really very far away. No problems with our booking - the staff were pleased to see us, and concierge service to an average sized double room. Also, our room had a free coffee/hot drinks machine just outside the door on the landing - a real bonus in continental Europe were access to hot drinks in your room just doesn't happen. Breakfast was large and sumptuous, a very good continental spread.

The downsides were heat and noise. We'd arrived on a warm Friday afternoon (28 degrees C), and our room was stultifying stuffy. No A/C, so it had to be open windows. Revelling in Lucerne on Friday evenings goes on well into the early hours of Saturday morning, there were groups of young lads setting off sirens at all hours. Was also disturbed by the sound of vomiting on the pavement downstairs at 3.30am - got very little real sleep all night

The shower too was laughably tiny, have simply never seen a smaller fitting setting.

So there you have it - a game of 2 halves makes an average hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid a Friday/Saturday night in summer as heat and noise = no sleep whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cangarwbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of an organised trip. This was a very pretty hotel with very good staff. The room was incredibly warm at night but we were given a large fan which helped. It was also a bit noisy outside but we had to have the windows open.
The food was good, although on one night we were left waiting a long time as there was a large group at dinner. I think because we were part of this organised trip and were on a set menu, we were not given the same sort of attention.
However, this was a good hotel, good sized room, great bathroom, very clean and good staff. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC9079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,027 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
933 reviews
0.3 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.7 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
891 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilden Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilden Mann

Property: Hotel Wilden Mann
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price range (per night): $328 - $606
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilden Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Wilden Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing