We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Wilden Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wilden Mann
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
brighton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“perfect choice”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Great location except no river/lake view 5 minute walk from the lake and railway station. Very friendly staff. We had a big room and it was SO quiet - hotel very busy as was Lucerne Festival - breakfast excellent. Wholly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonTapdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    133
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
63
211
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a organised walking holiday by Inn Travel. The hotel is very central and in easy walking distance of the station. Staff were helpful and friendly. The single room I had was tiny, very warm and overlooked nothing but the back of another building. But it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at the Wilden Mann for three nights in a junior suite with terrace and came away with very mixed feelings. First, we decided to book that pricey room category because of its advertised air-conditioning feature. We were not sure of Lucerne's summer weather and thought that a cooling feature would be advisable. Upon arrival at the hotel, we discovered that the suite's air-conditioning was supplied by a bulky, stand-along floor unit that inconveniently occupied a corner of the smallish bedroom. Further, when turned on, the unit sounded like it was a 747 jet at takeoff. That din would not be compatible with sleeping, even with powerful earplugs. As it turned out, Lucerne was having a cool spell during our visit, and we only needed to turn on the A/C before retiring for the evening. Second, our junior suite was, to be most charitable, quite cozy. Its postage-stamped size living room was filled with "antique" furnishings that had no suitable writing surfaces. The bedroom was barely large enough for our king-sized bed and the aforementioned A/C unit. In contrast, the bathroom was quite spacious, lined with white marble and stocked with high-end toiletries. Our rate included breakfasts and a "romance dinner." Breakfast offerings were decent with the standard array of cheeses, cold cuts, fruits, scrambled eggs, and bacon. To our pleasant surprise, our dinner was superb in terms of service and food preparation. We are not big meat eaters, and the chef accommodated our preference with creative seafood dishes, ranging from seared scallops to prawns to a scrumptious seabass entree. The only downside to our dinner was the presence of an unruly child whose inconsiderate parents thought that it was the duty of the restaurant staff to care for their screaming child while they enjoyed their meal. Throughout our visit, we enjoyed excellent service from the front desk, and housekeeping standards were impeccable. In sum, we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Wilden Mann but, should we return to Lucerne, will likely try another establishment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrZeeSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Location great,staff is very helpful and rooms are cute. Only challenge is no A/C in rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This hotel has a lot of potential and quite a few plusses.

First, it is in a convenient area - very close to the river and within walking distance to all of the sites in Luzern. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is quite nice - good variety, fresh bread, nice cheese, homemade jam. I stayed in a single room and was delighted with the size and the layout. There was a single bed, a sitting chair with footstool and a desk. The bathroom was a good size as well.

My problem with this hotel was that many areas, including my room, have passed the point of 'worn, quaint and charming' to 'dingy'. Just a little too many stains and pulls for my taste. Also the beds are really, really soft.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank SWTTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
971 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
897 reviews
0.3 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
853 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.5 km away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilden Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilden Mann

Property: Hotel Wilden Mann
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price range (per night): $256 - $491
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilden Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wilden Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing