We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection in the Alps!”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  View from the Front  (Apartment C is on the Upper Floor)
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The house in Winter with stunning views
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 showing Ladder Steps to Loft Area
ALPHAVEN  Bedroom 2  Loft Area (King Size Double Bed)
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
Stairs to Apartment C
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C  Living Area
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 with Loft Area above
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
Engelberg ALPHAVEN in Winter with stunning panoramic views
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Engelberg ALPHAVEN   Apartment C   Bedroom 2
Apartment C   Living Area & Kitchen   WINTER
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
fergy2186
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfection in the Alps!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

I discovered Alphaven while looking for a hotel at a ski resort near to Zurich, and I consider it one of the luckiest discoveries ever! I booked Apartment C within hours. At the time, only my partner and I were booked to come, but even then the cost for the apartment was less than most hotels in Engelberg. Our friends were able to come with us, and it could not have been more perfect for the four of us. Situated at the top of the hill, overlooking Engelberg and the whole valley, spectacular views from all sides. Comfortable beds, great water pressure in the shower, well outfitted kitchen (even a fondue pot!), books, movies, and board games to use. We spent each morning on the balcony, admiring the view and basking in the sun. Each afternoon we explored the resort, did some beginner skiing, and fell hourly more in love with the place. It all felt like a dream! John, the owner, was endlessly hospitable, making sure we were comfortable and had all the information we needed. He was patient with my questions before our arrival and was kind enough to extend our check out time on the last day. Thank you, thank you to John and Ursula for sharing your home with us. We will most certainly be back!

(If I could change one thing . . . . I have to admit I found my pillow a little flat. You can see how amazing this place is if that's the most negative thing I can say about it!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, and all the amenities in the apartment!
Liked least: Having to go home again!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristyPan
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would love to come back in winter time!”
Reviewed 6 February 2012 for a stay in November 2011

My family & I had a wonderful stay at the Alphaven apartments. It was a lovely 10-15 minute walk down to the town centre- we enjoyed doing this every morning. I must admit though that Walking back up the hill once a day was enough for us. It did make it a little more difficult with two small children, but we survived & are fitter for the experience!! The apartment was well equipped for everything to make our stay enjoyable. With young children we appreciated being able to cook dinner & makes lunches at our home away from home. Sitting out on the balcony midday having a bite to eat was a magic experience. 5 stars.
I think it is safe to say that we would all love to return one day, especially when the snow has fallen & the town is full of activity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I love Engelberg. A sleepy little Swiss town up in the hills.
Liked least: Not having car access did make things a little more difficult
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eleonorsa...
Male
1 review
“Best place to stay with spectacular view !!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed for 9 nights in Apartment B in beginning of December with our 2 children aged 5 and 9 .We arrived in the evening but with the advice that John & Ursula gave us we did not have any difficulties to find the place.The apartment was warm and comfortable everything spotless .When we woke up in the morning we could not stop looking at the spectacular view .My children were thrilled to see the snow and that was the start of our dream holiday.We can't forget our trips to Mt Titlis and walking on Brunni the weather was so nice and sunny.We took lot's of pictures on these beautiful mountains .We travelled everyday to different places my children enjoyed themselves a lot feeding the swans in Luzern a spectacular city .Engelberg is a very nice town and the people are so friendly.We are so lucky that we had this opportunity to stay in this apartment and it will not be our only visit for sure,we hope that we will return soon.I would highly recomend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment and views
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDupu...
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paridise Found!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a month in Europe which included staying 5 days in Engelberg at Alphaven. It was absolutely fantastic in EVERY way. Staying here was the highlight of our trip. It was a dream come true! The pictures on the website just don't do it justice. It is SO much better! The location is superb! There was a hiking trail right outside our door which led up to Ristis and Brunni. The hiking was beautiful with so many options! 320km of hiking trails all around! The cowbells were tinkling, and you could hear them all around! The restaurants on the mountain tops were a great place to lunch halfway through our hikes!

The apartment has everything you could possibly need. It was spotless, well maintained, and just perfect! Every morning we would have our tea and coffee on the deck enjoying the beautiful panoramic views! Every afternoon after hiking we would go back on the deck to watch the paragliders and then the sunset! We had a bonus with a full moon, which shone through the skylight and the windows, reflecting off the snow on top of the mountains, which made for a beautiful sight!

I would highly recommend Alphaven! Even if you don't hike, the scenery is breathtaking, the town is lovely.

We have travelled extensively in Canada and the US, and this really is without a doubt the best place we've ever stayed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing - everything was fabulous
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin_39
St. Albert, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expectations were high - didn't disapoint!”
Reviewed 14 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I are from Canada we decided to travel Europe for 3 weeks with our friends from Japan (2 couples) and our daughter from Germany. After alot of research I came upon Alphahaven. We rented apartment C and apartment D from September 10 -12, 2011. . It looked so beautiful how could a person go wrong in staying there. My expectations before we left were high and alphahaven didn't disappoint! It was one of the highlights of our stay in Europe. Since we rented the two apartments we basically had the whole floor to ourselves to relax and take in the unforgetable views from all sides. The apartments were very comfortable. If one isn't able to relax in that environment, you should just go home!

During our stay we experienced nature at its grandest. We were musically entertained buy the pasture next door with 3 cows and some sheep, all of which had bells around there necks. The constant ringing of the bells were at first a little distracting, but eventually the cows and sheep moved on to another part of the pasture and solitude came over the Chalet.

We had great memories at Alphahaven and hope whoever stays there in the future can have as great of a experience as we did.

D.Ogata

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and the building it self
Liked least: Kitchen - next a few more tools to cook with.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing