We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paridise Found!”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  View from the Front  (Apartment C is on the Upper Floor)
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The house in Winter with stunning views
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 showing Ladder Steps to Loft Area
ALPHAVEN  Bedroom 2  Loft Area (King Size Double Bed)
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
Stairs to Apartment C
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C  Living Area
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 with Loft Area above
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
Engelberg ALPHAVEN in Winter with stunning panoramic views
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Engelberg ALPHAVEN   Apartment C   Bedroom 2
Apartment C   Living Area & Kitchen   WINTER
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
CarolDupu...
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paridise Found!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a month in Europe which included staying 5 days in Engelberg at Alphaven. It was absolutely fantastic in EVERY way. Staying here was the highlight of our trip. It was a dream come true! The pictures on the website just don't do it justice. It is SO much better! The location is superb! There was a hiking trail right outside our door which led up to Ristis and Brunni. The hiking was beautiful with so many options! 320km of hiking trails all around! The cowbells were tinkling, and you could hear them all around! The restaurants on the mountain tops were a great place to lunch halfway through our hikes!

The apartment has everything you could possibly need. It was spotless, well maintained, and just perfect! Every morning we would have our tea and coffee on the deck enjoying the beautiful panoramic views! Every afternoon after hiking we would go back on the deck to watch the paragliders and then the sunset! We had a bonus with a full moon, which shone through the skylight and the windows, reflecting off the snow on top of the mountains, which made for a beautiful sight!

I would highly recommend Alphaven! Even if you don't hike, the scenery is breathtaking, the town is lovely.

We have travelled extensively in Canada and the US, and this really is without a doubt the best place we've ever stayed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing - everything was fabulous
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin_39
St. Albert, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expectations were high - didn't disapoint!”
Reviewed 14 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I are from Canada we decided to travel Europe for 3 weeks with our friends from Japan (2 couples) and our daughter from Germany. After alot of research I came upon Alphahaven. We rented apartment C and apartment D from September 10 -12, 2011. . It looked so beautiful how could a person go wrong in staying there. My expectations before we left were high and alphahaven didn't disappoint! It was one of the highlights of our stay in Europe. Since we rented the two apartments we basically had the whole floor to ourselves to relax and take in the unforgetable views from all sides. The apartments were very comfortable. If one isn't able to relax in that environment, you should just go home!

During our stay we experienced nature at its grandest. We were musically entertained buy the pasture next door with 3 cows and some sheep, all of which had bells around there necks. The constant ringing of the bells were at first a little distracting, but eventually the cows and sheep moved on to another part of the pasture and solitude came over the Chalet.

We had great memories at Alphahaven and hope whoever stays there in the future can have as great of a experience as we did.

D.Ogata

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and the building it self
Liked least: Kitchen - next a few more tools to cook with.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeekWithA...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a view!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Arriving at Alphaven blessed with cloudless skies during what we later found out was the hottest spell of weather in the area since 2003 (30+ degrees on the mountain!)

Apartment C was our home for the week and being on the top floor has arguably the best view in the house, a view that left us stunned and speechless for at least 30 seconds on stepping onto the balcony for the first time.

The apartment has all that you could possibly need for a week in the Alps, extremely clean and tidy, and well maintained.

Engelberg, Titlis and the other surrounding mountains have plenty to offer in terms of walking (and mountain beer refreshments!) The short trip to Lucerne is also worth making if you have a car or by train if you don't.

The walk/climb up to Alphaven from Engelberg is quite testing on the legs but it can be made easier by using the lift at Terrace hotel for the first half of the climb and then following the footpath or road for the remainder.

I would recommend a stay at Alphaven to friends or family without hesitation, it really is a special place and Engelberg is quite possibly the most beautiful place that I have ever stayed.

Finally special thanks to John and Candy for moving the BBQ upstairs for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!!
Liked least: The walk up but it did make the beer more enjoyable
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhairavim
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wasn't sure heaven existed till we stayed at Alphaven!”
Reviewed 17 August 2011 for a stay in May 2011

All I can say its beautiful! We just didn't want to leave!

We stayed in Apartment C and D+ as we were 2 families with small children. The apartment was the same as shown in the photographs. The booking process was very simple! John was fabulous from the start.. he held my reservation for a week till we got confirmation from one of the schools approving the leave!

The apartment is very simple, european with all the facilities and the view is Out of this World. The day we got in a storm rolled in and the temperature fell to 0C in end May! The vision from the apartment was ZERO! It felt like we were living in the clouds! The kids kept going out on the balcony just to touch the fog! It is something to experience... After that we knew we had made the right choice to stay in Alphaven!

Every evening we would drink coffee in the balcony and admire Titlis and the kids would be playing in the living room! I can remember how it felt but am unable to describe it in words. I am speechless... it was magical!

We liked it so much that we seriously considered buying a plot near Alphaven!

The only drawback to this place is that you would need a car! We didn't rent one and found ourselves pushing 3 strollers up the hill or just taking a taxi. Another point is that next time we would travel light! The 3 stories is too much to lug up the luggage! I hope they put in an elevator just for the luggage!

I would recommend this apartment to those who can climb up stairs and hike up the mountain if you don't have a car!

My family and I definitely want to visit again one day and this time stay in Apartment A which is fabulous... It is the best apartment to stay in Alphaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for price and The View!
Liked least: Lugging up the luggage to the 3rd floor!!!!!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOAO66
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alphaven is simply out of this world!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We booked Alphaven because we wanted to be located somewhere in the centre of Switzerland to be well placed to explore the country from there. Located literally hanging over the beautiful town of Engelberg, Alphaven is a jewel of a place with views that are hard to describe and imagine without experiencing first hand. The apartment we stayed in was very clean, modern and well equipped with balconies and windows all round to capture the superb views from every corner. The owners are very hospitable and professional and make you feel welcome without intruding on you unnecessarily. I would highly recommend Alphaven for families with children, honeymooners, groups of friends, etc. Alphaven and Engelberg are so nice that we hardly went anywhere outside the area apart from Lucerne which is very close.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing