We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightful experience.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Bedroom has its own Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bedroom has its own Balcony
The Bedroom with Writing Cabinet The Bedroom and the Closets as well as the TV Cabinet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Bedroom has its own Balcony
The Bedroom with Writing Cabinet
The Bedroom and the Closets as well as the TV Cabinet
View from the Bedroom into the Bathroom and the rest of the Appartment
Private adjacent Bathroom
Private adjacent Bathroom
Private adjacent Bathroom
Private adjacent Bathroom
The modern spacious Kitchen
The modern spacious Kitchen
The modern spacious Kitchen
The Dining Room
The Dining Room
The Dining Room
The small and big Living
The small and big Living
Parkview Lake Side
Lakeview
Parkview from Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Geneva

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DR_DD
Evanston, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice room well located in new town”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this apartment from April 6th through April 9th (3 nights). This is a room with an attached bath and balcony in an apartment owned by Mark. Mark's apartment is on the 8th floor of a large complex. We were allowed to share Mark's kitchen, dining room, another balcony and his living room.

The room rented out shares a common entrance with the apartment, however the room door does not have its own lock (neither from inside or outside). The room is of medium size with a double (as per USA standard a "full size") bed. The mattress is a bit odd shaped, slightly high in the middle and sloping to both sides. We found the bed a bit tight for the two of us. There is a writing table and two chairs. The room also has its own TV with a inbuilt video player. There are two cupboards with sufficient space for clothes. The attached balcony is spacious with the view of mountains. It has a small table and chair , and a lounging chair.

The apartment is about 10 mins walk from the main train station, located in the new part of town. All the key attractions are within walking distance. The balcony next to the dining area faces lake Geneva. The main road in front of the apartment (rue de lussane) has several resturants. There is a Pizzeria very close on the left.

Our last night in the apartment, Mark had another guest. Well past our bedtime (10.30 pm), we could hear loud voices. This was a bit of disturbance for us.

The apartment advertisement does not mention that Mark owns a dog. The dog is very friendly, however for us the presence of the dog became a bit of an inconvenience. Both my wife and I are allergic to dog and cat hair, so literally we had to spend all our time (while in the apartment) inside our room. My wife who loves to cook, was unable to step out into the kitchen. If we had known, ahead of time, (we found out via Trip Advisor reviews, after having made the payment) that Mark has a dog, we would have made alternative arrangements.

We feel this information should be included in the apartment description so renters can make an informed decision.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: The property did not advertise presence of a dog on premise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe R
Brighton, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful experience.”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I travel to Geneva for the motor show every March, but this was the first time I've ever stayed in a private home.This new experience turned out to be delighful, and Mark, our host, made us feel very welcome and at home. The apartment is elegant and spectacular with views of the French Alps across glimmering Lake Geneva. The penthouse room with private bath is perfect for a single traveler or a couple, and provided plenty of privacy and quiet for my wife and me. The building is located in a great spot, too. We walked everywhere -- shopping, dining, bars. It's also close to bus stops and only 10 minutes from Gare Cornavin (main train station). It was nice getting to know Mark, who we invited to attend our company's last night reception in Geneva before returining to the USA. He joined us and brought a few special guests, too. I look forward to enjoying Mark's hospitality again - maybe when the weather is warmer, so I can sit on the balcony and finish the bottle of wine I opened!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, location, accommodations,
Liked least: No negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffMc60
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxe et calme”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I booked a room at Mark's apartment for just over a week. The interior is beautifully decorated. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was good. I could make use of the kitchen and sit at the balcony to eat breakfast. The view over the lake and Wilson Palace was gorgeous. The only downside was that I did not have a proper seat and table to work at, in my own room. Mark had explained I could also use the lounge to relax but I did not feel I could really sit there whilst Mark was at his desk...The dining area was beautifully presented but not used. It might have felt different if I came with my husband! Overall a lovely guest, a beautiful room and a good stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and the use of the balcony
Liked least: Lack of table or desk and comfortable armchair in my room.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XodaSnit
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Brilliant Accommodation”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every moment. The penthouse is very spacious, the view from the lake facing balcony is magnificent, our room also had its own balcony and this received the afternoon sun and gave an interesting view across the park and inland Geneva.
Mark is a very considerate host and went out of his way to make our stay comfortable.Bill, the resident cocker spaniel, is always ready with a friendly greeting and a smile ! The kitchen is well appointed, bright, clean and opens out to the dining room and the balcony.
The location is very convenient, good public transport, walking distance to many eating places and the lake front boulevard. Central point to explore the wonderful towns around the lake and visits to France - Chamonix and Annecy - both beautiful resorts 1 hr away.
If you are visiting Geneva this would be an excellent choice - I doubt you will find better value for such excellent accommodation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and quality of the apartment, Mark's friendly attitude
Liked least: no negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing