We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely! ”
Review of Rasoi by Vineet

Rasoi by Vineet
Reserve with
Rasoi by Vineet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,853 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 51 - USD 86
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Saint-Gervais Temple
Transit: The main bus hub is located place Bel-Air, 5 min walking distance.
Description: En tant que meilleur restaurant gastronomique indien à Genève, le Rasoi by Vineet vous propose un voyage culinaire dans le monde de la cuisine indienne contemporaine. Créé par le célèbre chef Vineet Bhatia, le Rasoi by Vineet est le petit frère du restaurant londonien Rasoi, son premier et plus célèbre établissement. Puisant son inspiration dans la tradition culinaire indienne, Vineet Bhatia fait également appel à son imagination pour associer les saveurs et les textures selon une approche résolument moderne. Pour mettre en valeur cette cuisine originale, nous avons conçu un cadre tout aussi imaginatif. Dans une interprétation moderne du style indien traditionnel, le décor fait appel à des rouges et noirs vibrants pour composer une ambiance envoûtante. Vous pourrez également y admirer le vaste four tandoor en granit qui constitue la pièce maîtresse du restaurant.
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely time- the staff were really friendly and the service was quick- food was great too! The veg biryani was not to our taste as there was too much saffron in it but we had plenty of choice and the food was well prepared- the waiters also brought out popadoms and a amuse bouche for starters and dessert :)

Thank Sakshi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, Directeur général at Rasoi by Vineet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Sakshi J,

Thanks a lot for having shared your comment. We are absolutely delighted to know you fully enjoyed your dining experience at our gourmet Indian restaurant. It’s a pleasure to read you liked our dedicated service, our friendly staff, the variety of the items listed on the menu, as well as the taste of the dishes served.

Again, the whole team is very grateful for the excellent score and rewarding feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental. Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017

The food was well prepared but not outstanding and overall I much prefer the London version.!! The menu is very limited just 4 starters and 5 main courses and four desserts ( not very Indian either - the desserts ). However it was not exactly what we were expecting and they really need to offer more options and more traditional Indian food. At the table next to us four clients had the ''Menu Traditionnel Indien '' and that looked more like the real thing. However it does need to be ordered 48 hours in advance and it is expensive - CHF139 per person - it really needs to be very good at those prices. We enjoyed our meal nevertheless but the prices are too high and the choice too limited. Service was fine , the dining room is elegant and comfortable and good for business luncheons. We will give it one more try ordering the Menu Traditionnel and see what our thoughts are afterwards. It definitely needs much more of an Indian flavour and tastes.!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, Directeur général at Rasoi by Vineet, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Michael J,

Thanks for having taken the time to share your feedback. We regret to read you liked the food presentation but were disappointed by the flavours and selection of dishes available on the menu. Our Rasoi by Vineet restaurant serves evolved Indian cuisine according to the standards of chef Vineet Bhatia and his modern Indian cuisine vision. Our star chef regularly comes to visit us, his Geneva’s concept is different from the one you have experienced and seemed to have liked better in London.

Our menu features a selection of 5 starters, 5 main courses and 6 desserts, we are sorry to read this choice wasn’t satisfying the day of your visit. Our chef and Director of Food & Beverage have designed the menu to offer the best available produce. In addition to the “à la carte” specialties, our restaurant offers a selection of some of the most traditional dishes in India such as Dal Makhni, Chicken Masala, Chicken tikka Makhni, Lamb Dum Parda Biryani and much more.

It is true our guests can also choose to order 48-hours in advance our Traditional Indian Menu. Reading your appreciation we are convinced you would like this type of food better as it is based in traditional spicy Indian cuisine.

We are pleased to read you seemed to have an overall pleasant dining experience especially as the service was attentive and the restaurant set-up nice, but regret that you didn’t find the price value up to your expectations. You may rest assured that we align our prices to other similar fine-dining restaurants in Geneva.

We definitely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back so you can experience our Traditional Menu and enjoy the authentic flavours of India.

Best regards,

Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Invited my sister for her birthday there.
Service is really good and attentive.
Wine was amazing (Gamaret from the region if I remember well).
Food was so-so. Nothing bad but nothing worth those expensive prices (350.- for 2). I’ve been several times to India and really love Indian food... i expected this restaurant to serve something special with Indian taste but a little bit more elaborated... but was wrong. It’s indeed nicely presented and served but nothin special in tastes and it was often too sweet (not a sweet tooth, I have to admit).
Conclusion: wouldn’t go back but don’t regret it!

Thank Gigiroesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, Directeur général at Rasoi by Vineet, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Gigiroesti,

Thanks for sharing your feedback following your recent dining experience at our Indian gourmet restaurant. We regret to read you were enchanted with the attentive service and great wines but disappointed with the food you ordered. Our chef’s creations are aligned with the standards of Chef Patron Vineet Bhatia’s modern Indian culinary identity and is therefore not based on traditional spicy Indian cuisine. Nevertheless, I have personally informed our Chef about your comments and your impressions regarding the flavours of the dishes.

We are sorry to read that you didn’t find the price value up to your expectations. You may rest assured that we align our prices to other similar fine-dining restaurants in Geneva.

I understand you are a fan of Indian cuisine, we do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

You can’t go wrong with this Restaurant, it offers the best Indian food in Geneva. Surprisingly the prices, compared to other hotels on the lake, aren’t too bad and you don’t feel bad paying for the experience. For example, Kiran restaurant nearby cost you more than here.

Thank Breshna Orya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

I took a colleague of mine for lunch and it was an excellent experience. The service is always exemplary and the food portions just right for lunch, not heavy but fulfilling. We tried the business lunch. Good value for money, considering it is located inside a posh hotel.

Thank 52Chaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rasoi by Vineet also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Rasoi by Vineet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing