We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Affordable Old Town Option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of vino olio cafe

vino olio cafe
Ranked #381 of 1,622 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: USD 60 - USD 150
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Bourg-de-Four
Monkey Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Affordable Old Town Option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Geneva isn’t a cheap city in which to eat, and in the “Old Town”, which appeals so much to tourists, it can be hard to find good value. It was therefore a delight to find Vino Olio. Arriving at 7.15pm on a wet mid-week evening I was relieved that I’d called ahead to reserve a table as I suspect we would otherwise have been turned away. The restaurant was jumping. The menu had a super range of salads and pasta dishes, many of which were different from the standard Italian favourites you so commonly see, and all reasonably priced (by Geneva standards!).

The service, was prompt, attentive and friendly – so hard to find in Geneva!

The only slight downside is that they don’t take credit or debit cards and there’s not a cash machine in the immediate vicinity - so be prepared!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JayCeeMonKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    39
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Italian food and Art-Deco in Old Town Geneva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

If it's lunch time and you're in Old Town Geneva, there's this small beautifully decorated restaurant just around the corner of Geneva's old town plaza called VOC, short name for Vino-Oglio-Cafe.

The choice of meals, mainly Italian inspired, such as pasta and salads is not extensive but very good. I would recommend the Tagliata - sliced beef sirloin - on rocket salad with truffle oil, which was really great, pasta Gorgonzola or the house specialty steak Gigi with a homemade citrus-based sauce. Don't ask for French fries with your steaks, they don't serve any. It's a good idea for a healthy meal! The Tiramisu was one of the best I've eaten because they added blueberry giving it this extra touch. As for the choice of wines, just great : where else can you order Sasicaia by the glass!?!?!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldtrotterCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Rude!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The waitress was very rude to us. We live in Geneva and go out a lot, and never have we encountered such a host. We didn't even continue ordering. Just paid for our drinks and left. We went to another restaurant down the street, where we really felt the difference in service. It does make a big difference.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Experi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clearly better than other restaurants around; all in all a positive experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Clearly better than other restaurants around. Food was never a disappointment (although I do usually choose among the large list of salads), and service was good and very friendly. A special thought to the two employees who were very "child friendly" each time we came (although this nice "plus" probably has no link with the management at all).

All in all, in spite of a few CHF more than other places, the food is good, decor way above average, and service very friendly. We'll return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AIR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I love the pasta syracuse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

This is one of my "secret" little places in Geneva, the pasta and salads are outstanding and the staff is extremely friendly. The wines are also good and I like the fact that it is one of few places that is hardly ever overcrowded. The restaurant is very charming and romantic, and the place feels very special. The only negative points is that they do not accept cards, so I had to make trip to the cash machine several times when eating there.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isem_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed vino olio cafe also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to vino olio cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing