We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
797
113
25
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
113
25
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river cigar room turn down service a river view room rooms are beautiful modern amenities star hotel memorable stay wonderful hotel junior suite up to date mini bar buffet breakfast old town upon check central location concierge
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2014

My husband and I had the exceptional pleasure to be guests for four nights at this wonderful historic hotel. From check in to departure, everything was handled with courtesy and genuine warmth. Our room was beautiful, in an old world style, and had access to a huge lovely balcony facing the Rhine. The bathroom was nice size, double sinks, tub shower and separate WC. The wifi worked well and was complimentary. We had dinner once in the Brassiere on property. The food was very good, but expensive. I spoke with the Concierge on several occasions. They were very helpful and professional. We are English speakers and never felt this presented any difficulty with staff. I'm happy to say I can't fault this wonderful hotel in any way! I hope you have the chance to visit. Basel itself is delightful old city, especially at Christmas.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jazzmom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Dear Madam

Thank you for having taken the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois and your recommendation to visit Basel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable and pampered during your stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed our professional service and the high food quality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois very soon. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We lived in Basel for a few years and always coveted those who got to stay at this hotel. It is so beautiful! Finally returning for a visit, we chose Les Trois Rois as our accommodation.we were not disappointed!

Absolutely stunning interior, especially as it was all decorated for Christmas. Our room, although small, was quite luxurious and beautifully appointed. Service throughout the hotel more than met their five star standard. If you have the chance to stay here, I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MAP1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Dear Madam

We thank you for taking the time to write this very positive feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois and your kind recommendation.

We are very pleased to read that you like our helpful staff as well as the interior with our temporary Christmas decoration. It is also a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable and that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at the hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014

What a wonderful hotel with the grandest of history. Our room was just wonderful, quite a good size, comfortable bed. All overlooking the Rhine River. The staff went out of their way to take great care of us. There is a very well stocked bar as well and our meals were exquisite.

Room Tip: It is a pricey hotel but .... So well worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IdahoFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback concerning your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the service and the historical hotel with the beautiful view overlooking the River.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois very soon. In the meantime we wish you the very best.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

We spent one night at this hotel in mid-November. We arrived early, at around midday, and the reception staff were very apologetic that our room was not ready (not that we could have expected it to be). The reception staff were notably excellent, and could not have been more welcoming. It was no problem for us to leave our luggage, and when we came back a couple of hours later our bags had already been taken to our room for us and were waiting for us there.

I don't think the location of the hotel could be better, and the room itself was beautiful, a grand old room overlooking the Rhine. It really did give the impression that you could have stepped back in time. The big heavy wooden doors and the entire decor of the hotel is so wonderfully in-keeping. It was great.

The only slight negative (which we did not mind about, but some would) was that our bed was not a double but was instead two single beds pushed together, but with separate duvets! It was incredibly comfortable and we didn't mind being separated for the night, but some would object as it wasn't as though we had booked a twin room. I also had to take the battery out of the wall-clock as the ticking when I was trying to get to sleep was distracting.

There was a free (non-alcoholic) mini bar with a later turn-down service including chocolates and more water. The bathroom was luxurious and opulent with rain shower and normal shower over bath and double sink.

Beware that most unusually, it seemed that the room door does not lock automatically and we noticed we had to actually turn the key to lock the door. I suspect the first time we went out we failed to do this, as there is a tendency to assume the door in a hotel will be locked when shut.

Breakfast was included in the morning and was excellent. Eggs cooked to order and lots of fresh fruit, cereals, meats etc, bakery items to help yourself to. Fresh smoothie (albeit I thought they gave a very mean serving, about a third of a tumbler!). Basically what you would expect from a five star hotel but most enjoyable and again in a lovely setting overlooking the Rhine.

When paying our bar bill upon check-out the (trainee) receptionist did not ask whether we wanted to pay in local currency or GBP and put it through in GBP. She was probably trying to be helpful but we knew this was a more expensive option and we always choose to pay in local currency. The refund and recharge took a very long time, about 20 minutes, which was a slight inconvenience, although they did apologise for this.

Overall we loved this hotel and it really made our stay in Basel. It was just a shame we couldn't have stayed longer.

Room Tip: clearly you want a room overlooking the Rhine!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Dear Madam

Thank you for having taken the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois so explicit.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable and pampered from the beginning on in our hotel and that you enjoyed your time here in Basel – especially the central location of the hotel, your hotel room with view overlooking the Rhein, the complimentary minibar, our turn down service as well as the large breakfast buffet.

Regarding your comment about your beds which were pushed together, we would like to inform you that we would appreciate to prepare your room with a king bed for your next stay.

Moreover, we are sorry that the receptionist did not ask for your preferred terms of payment. At the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois we continuously strive to meet our guest’s needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important for us. In order to prevent that this situation does not occur again in the future, we addressed your remark to our Rooms Division Manager.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois very soon. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014

At this level, you don't talk about money. So let's talk about the experience. At Trois Rois Hotel, you just enjoy the amazing quality of the service, of the rooms, of the food, of the view. Everything is "Basler" style, which means top quality without any pretentious behaviour. Switzerland at his best. Looking forward to find a new opportunity to be back in this realm of cosiness. With my warmest congrats to ALL of the amazing Trois Rois Team.

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are fantastic. River view is a must.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience done at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois and this very positive description on TripAdvisor.

We well noted that you enjoyed the quality of our service, our rooms as well as of our gastronomic outlets.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews