We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, but the church bells are bloody annoying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Merian am Rhein
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, but the church bells are bloody annoying”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I'm staying at the Merian Am Rhein as I write this. We came here for a 5 day business trip. The hotel is 6 tram stops from SBB Banhoff (about 10 mins), but this is a much nicer area than the main station area. There are plenty of shops nearby, and just over the bridge is the beautiful old district, where the museums and beautiful old architecture can be found. The room is clean, comfortable and not too small. There is no air conditioning, but we have a fan in our room and we have a door leading onto our little balcony (2 people can sit on it). The balcony overlooks the river Rheine and the view is beautiful. There is a sun canopy and also a roller shutter to keep the sun out of the room during the day.

There is a nespresso coffee maker in the room and a great free internet connection, along with a perfect work desk.

My only criticism is the damn church on the other side of the river. As it is pretty hot, we have been sleeping with the balcony door open, but despite buying ear plugs, I'm still woken all night by the church, whose bells toll every 15 minutes - day and night!!! Although the view is beautiful, I think that if I stayed again I would ask for a room facing the street, as it doesn't seem so busy. It's a real shame, as this is my only complaint about this hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe try a room on the street side if it's warm outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    136
    65
    24
    9
See reviews for
27
117
21
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

For a night or two in Basel, one can't find abetter hotel: The rooms face the river Rhine and it isclose to the city, almost opposite the famous Hotel 'Three Kings' where a room costs three to four times as much. Service is perfect and the restaurant with a balcony over the river is most pleasant. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I visited this hotel for a friends wedding, the reception was being held there so thought a good idea. I arrived and they checked me in efficiently, went to my room, dark dingy room with a tiny window. Because I was only there on night I decided to not make an issue, but on walking back to the elevator noticed so many other rooms I passed had plenty of natural light and far more open / spacious. I went to reception and asked them why I was given such a horrible room, and they offered to move me, by then I had unpacked, so was not bothered. Its a shame though that the hotel had the availability, and being narrow minded choose to allocate such a terrible room.

Be warned the noise is out of control and because there is no air conditioning you have to leave your window open, that was far worse than the issue of which room I was allocated, the trams, passing traffic and generally noise coming from the people on the street and river all night long was a killer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_FultonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basel hotels

Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel has in incredible location right in the center of Basel. My room had an incredible view to the Rhine and the old bridge. The rooms were of a modest size but still comfortable. Breakfast was good, friendly personnel and a surprisingly good value for money for Switzerland.
Big drawback: the noise. On a good day, even with closed window, you're able to hear the trams passing by every 10 minutes from 5 am or so. If you go in late July-early August, you may find yourself serenaded by the live concerts taking place 20 meters away (www.imfluss.ch). To be fair, the concerts end by 10:30 pm. Still, the hotel is not for light sleepers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

we stayed here for two nights in a small double room with a direct river view, the room was definately small and somewhat noisy due to the proximity to the bridge and traffic but despite that would stay here again, good breakfast, friendly and obliging staff,also handy parking in the hotel. The hotel is well located near the river with restaurants and bars nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yugosunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
East-West Riverside Hotel Basel
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Hotel Krafft Basel
#25 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merian am Rhein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merian am Rhein

Property: Hotel Merian am Rhein
Address: Rheingasse 2, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Basel
Price range (per night): $171 - $394
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Merian am Rhein 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merian am Rhein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merian Am Rhein Hotel Basel
Best Western Basel
Basel Best Western
Best Western Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing