We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
52
31
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
31
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We stayed at Montecorneo for a week as a base for visiting Umbria. It is in a good location if you are driving - about 6km outside Perugia, quite close to the main road and with plenty of room for parking.

Our apartment had a lounge area, kitchen nook, bathroom and loft style bedroom. There was also an outside seating area. It is fairly basic / rustic rather than luxury but quite comfortable.

The kitchen is small - two hot plates, sink, small preparation area and a small fridge but adequate to cook a simple meal or make a salad. There is a small supermarket only about 1km away so easy to get provisions.

The grounds are nice with a good clean pool in a lovely sunny location.

The breakfast includes fruit juice, tea, coffee, yoghurt, bread and croissants but the high light are the home made cakes. Our favourites were an apple cake and a chocolate cake (served one morning still hot from the oven).

There is a restaurant just across the road if you do not want to cook or to drive to dinner (Borgo Fe - see my separate review).

The hostess is very helpful and very friendly. She has a reasonable amount of English (which made up for my poor Italian!)

They have wifi. When we first arrived the signal was week in the apartment. When we mentioned this they gave us a small box to plug in, in the room, to strengthen the signal which seemed to work fine.

The only negatives I would mention are that the lighting in the apartment is quite limited so reading at night is not easy and in mid September there were quite a few mozzies about and there are no fly screens so be prepared.

If you are after a simple comfortable place to stay, rather than luxury, I would recommend Montecorneo.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla M, Proprietario at Montecorneo Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Thank you David it was a very great pleasure to have you here with us directly from Sydney Australia!
You provided a very kind description of our services and spaces, thanks again.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in our country house, and look forward to have you back in Italy!
Best
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My friends and I were staying at Montecorneo during our visit to attend a wedding in Titignano. Carla and her husband were charming and incredibly helpful hosts, even making sojurns to the train station for us when we had some trouble getting around. Their assistant Daniela took wonderful care of us; our accomodations were spotless and our complimentary daily breakfast was delicious, especially the fresh espresso, cappucino and American coffee to which we were treated. We especially enjoyed the lovely, sparkling clean swimming pool, such a treat on those hot Italian summer days! I would recommend this beautiful place again and again. Don't miss out!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEZindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

With so much choice, selecting a place to stay near Perugia was our worst nightmare, but we could not have done better than Montecorneo Country House. It was so easy to get to/find ( close to the main motorway south to Rome) and it was so central for visiting so many places (Assisi, Todi,Spoleto,Gubbio, Lake Trasimeno,Le Marche) and the old town of Perugia was just up the hill. The facilities at Montecorneo were fanatastic and the huge swimming pool was a godsend on the 41*C days!The accomodation is in an old restored tobacco factory and it has been done so well done and so tastefully. If we'd wanted to, we could cook in our suite. The most we managed to do was make ourselves lunch (nearby supermarket and bakery) and have it with a bottle of wine under the trees in the gorgeous old established gardens. A nice continental breakfast was provided each morning. Carla ,the owner ,was lovely , friendly, spoke English and was most helpful. We'd recommend this place to anyone and would go back ourselves if the occasion arose.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KiwisX2Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2007

I stayed at this agriturismo for 7 nights and every aspect of the stay was exceptional. The estate is comprised of several detached buildings in a quiet, park-like setting and the extensive grounds and gardens are impeccably manicured. There are a number of amenities including a public-access internet terminal, a large swimming pool, optional continental breakfast, laundry facilities and mini-kitchens (fridge, sink, stove top, and dishes/glassware/utensils) housed in small wardrobes. The staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful and were always glad to call taxis, make restaurant recommendations, track down lost luggage, and even offered to pick up guests at the local train station. One of the highlights of the stay was a surprise pizza party that the staff threw for the guests that included appetizers, salad, a selection of home made pizzas and home made wine. The only potentially negative aspect is the location which is several kilometers from Perugia and therefore requires guests to either take taxis to town (15-20 euros each way) or to have a car (preferred), athough the reasonable rates make this an excellent alternative to the pricier hotels in Perugia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 47north117west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews