We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just can't stay away”
Casa San Gabriel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa San Gabriel
Stunning view from the swimming pool La Cantina
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
182 reviews
Casa San Gabriel
Stunning view from the swimming pool
La Cantina
La Cantina Terrace
View from La Cantina Terrace
La Stalla
La Stalla with a cot
La Stalla Terrace
Il Fienile
Fienile Bunk Room
Il Fienile
Large Swimming Pool
Garden
Cooking in the pizza oven
Playground
Stunning at night
Child friendly Alpaca
Tom the Alpaca
The Lang Family with dogs Bessie and Cuba
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile Bunk Beds
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile Bathroom
Stalla
Stalla kitchen
Stalla
Stalla
Cantina
Cantina
Cantina Bedroom
Cantina Bedroom
Cantina
Cantina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Perugia, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 182 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Philip C
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just can't stay away”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Keep coming back to this gorgeous location, cannot get enough of it . Fantastic accommodation with the best views. You may struggle to leave to visit the many amazing villages in the area. Plenty to see and do and a tranquil place to return to at the end of the day for a refreshing spritz before dinner. Book it now while you can still get in!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Huge fun set in amazing beauty”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is one of the most stunning places my family and I have had the privilege to visit and stay. The accommodation is well appointed, yet with a traditional rustic feel and has the most wonderful views down the valley towards Assisi. There are three options which are laid out to allow you to mix with other guests or keep yourselves to yourselves. Casa San Gabriel is also child friendly with a play area, swimming pool and Al Paccas to meet; not to mention their friendly dogs, Cuba and Bessie.

It is conveniently placed for access to many amazing and unspoilt hillside towns; numerous other attractions and many magnificent sights and views. David and Chrissie (and their daughters Eli and Luci) are welcoming, warm and friendly. They are extremely knowledgeable and always happy to help and advise on the wide choice of places of interest and local events that might appeal. We will definitely be returning, the sooner the better……..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people and the place
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
thank you we look forward to it
xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz M
1 review
“Like staying in a painting.”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a lovely place. Words can't do the view justice, even on the rainy day we arrived on it was amazing. The hosts are super friendly and gracious, the buildings are straight out of a movie. Couldn't have found a more relaxing get away from everything. Would recommend to anyone looking to get a good slice of country Italian living.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
thank you so much for such a lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam G
1 review
“Awesome Rustic Experience in the Heart of Umbria”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My wife I recently returned from a wonderful stay at Casa San Gabriel, a set of three cottages in a beautiful estate about 20 minutes drive from, Perugia. The properties are managed by Chrissie Todd and David Lang, two of the nicest people you'd ever want to meet. Both are very friendly, helpful and responsive to our every request. They have two children, two dogs and three alpacas on the property and it's one big happy family. The cottages are simple but comfortable and command outstanding views of the Umbrian countryside. We stayed in two different cottages, La Stalla and La Cantina. The latter is a bit larger. I recommend both. Getting to the property can be a bit challenging the first time as you need to make a couple of sharp turns off a dirt road but it doesn't take long to get your bearings. There is a market town called Umbertide close by that has a great supermarket and a weekly farmers market. We also spent five days at another of Chrissie and David's wonderful properties called Chiesa del Carmine, a 13th century church that has been converted to a guest house that sleeps upt to 14. All told, it was a great experience and I have a feeling it won't be long before we're back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
thank you so much for your lovely review
we hope you will be back
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polly W
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Casa San Gabriel is the most wonderful place for a holiday. The owners, Chrissie and David, were so welcoming and easy going. They have thought of everything - with beautifully decorated accommodation in the most stunning location. The cottages were incredibly well equipped. We travelled with a baby and they had so much useful kit and countless toys and books. We loved the views and sense of relaxation, the gorgeously maintained grounds and the wonderful swimming pool. We felt well and truly chilled out after 12 days there. It really was the best self catering place i've been to and provided the perfect base for exploring so many of the beautiful towns and villages nearby. We didn't want to leave and will always remember it as a very special holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hosts
Liked least: that we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing