We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and peaceful with wonderful hosts and a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Gubbio, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Toby M
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful with wonderful hosts and a great dog who loves walks!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful 9 days. Silvio and Alessandra are a lovely fun couple who went out of their way to make our stay magic. Helped by the most wonderful dog, Nebbia (fog!) who looks like an unbelievably matted English sheep dog (but is some local breed). He just loves walking and jumping through the bushes on the beautiful hills surrounding the old farmhouse, so the 2 walks we did each day turned into adventures, particularly when we met the 2 donkeys.

Silvio is an escapee from the world of advertising in Milano, so not your average farmer (don't think he does any except feed the donkeys, whose sole purpose seems to be to keep the grass down!).

He created some magic events for us. Firstly, on Good Friday the 2 men in our group (we were 2 couples, sharing one of the 3 very pretty apartments) organised an invitation from his funny and passionate friend Fabio for the 4 of us (men only, our wives had to watch!) to walk in the Church parade in the local hill town of Montone. About 15 of us were carrying flares and the body of the crucified Christ (we are both atheists, but that didn't seem to matter!), led by the village brass band and followed by a choir of women who appeared to be carrying the Virgin.

We were wearing the traditional white hooded robes with just holes for our eyes (shame those animals in the American South adopted the same garb as the penitents of catholic Italy and Spain). And we wended our way through what is, in our opinion, the most beautiful of all the 5 fortified towns in Umbria that we visited (because the architecture is glorious (as in the others), the square is beautiful, but the town is also peaceful, unlike the tourist bun fights of Assisi etc. And don't get us started on the crowds swarming over Tuscany - swore off going there again 4 years ago).

Ian and I both thought it was one of the most magical experiences of our (too long!) lives.

And it all started with a simple dinner in their part of the large farm house, a dinner that they didn't charge us for (but we brought some nice wine to it!).

Silvio also took us to a lovely Wine cellar where he buys his wine - no-one cared that we could only buy 6 bottles because we were soon to leave for Paris. We had a great tour and a long chat and wine tasting with the owners.

Silvio recommended 3 great restaurants in Umbertide, the local town and each was just wonderful. One was amazingly innovative (pasta with chocolate (but savoury) was a real treat). One very classy and more traditional. And one cheap, cheerful and ugly in a modern 2 star hotel with great basic food. And none of the 3 had a foreign tourist in it, which is nice if you can find it (and yes, know we are part of the problem). Town is a bit ordinary in terms of architecture, but surprisingly fun to walk around and sit in its square.

Took us to the local church, Byzantine, not famous, just unbelievably beautiful in the lower half of it (newer church built above it). Look at the photo.

And then the best meal of all: Allessandra organised a dinner in their house with a local farmer's wife cooking a simple 2 course meal that was delicious (the roast duck, wow!). And we got to meet the other 2 lots of guests who were Italian and had one of those wonderful 3 language conversations (most of us had a bit of French which helped) about the meaning of life and travel.

The only downside: it seems the women do all the work, and Silvio and Fabio have all the fun! Alessandra is sent out to work in the local bank, and Fabio's wife is the housekeeper while he chats to the Australian guests. But it is Italy after all!

Thank you guys for a magic holiday, the best part of our 3 week trip, we will be coming back as we always do when we find the magic places.
Toby (and Sarah, Sue and Ian)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Liked least: Lack of an electric jug
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterina...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2018
Cari Caterina e Daniele,
grazie della vostra recensione e delle belle parole.
Siamo sempre onorati e felici nel constatare la soddisfazione dei nostri clienti. Ancor più felice sono stato nel verificare che anche dopo qualche anno di inattivita come fotografo pubblicitario sia riuscito a scattare una bella foto con una simpatica Polaroid e di avervi soddisfatto in pieno. Spero davvero di rivedervi presto.
Un abbraccio da parte di mia moglie Alessandra e mia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Ter...
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Care ragazze Teresa e Franca,
per noi è stata una piacevole sorpresa vedervi qui nonostante ci fossero stati dei problemi di salute; avete una bella fibbra, complimenti. Grazie della vostra bella recensione. Per noi è sempre una soddisfazione verificare che i nostri clienti si siano trovati bene qui da noi. Grazie ancora e speriamo di rivedervi qui in perfetta forma. Un abbraccio.
Alessandra e Silvio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Cher Anne Marie, Frèderic, Marion et Camille,
merci pour vos bons mots, nous sommes vraiment heureux d'avoir rendu votre séjour agréable et nous espérons que nous reviendrons bientôt.
Un affection Alessandra et Silvio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianluca...
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Cari Donatella e Gianluca, � stato un piacere conoscervi e scambiare delle belle oppinioni. Peccato del tempo molto risicato, ma ad ogni modo avremo modo di rivderci presto.
Un caro saluto da Alessandra e Silvio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing