We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
246
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatdelicious foodwonderful placeyear after yearhonesty barumbrian hillswonderful hostsfresh local produceamazing settingswitch offhot tubboutique hotelcourse mealthe beautiful infinity poolwonderful staylovely roombreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Locanda del Gallo is a haven of green and calm in the Umbrian hills. Located near Assisi, Perugia and Gubbio, the hotel offers a beautiful infinity pool and spa facilities, a yoga and fitness studio, as well as 36 acres of woods and waterfalls for walks. The facilities are excellent and the restaurant’s organic home-grown produce is divine. The gardens are stunning, and bedrooms and bathrooms lovely. The staff are ever so helpful and the honesty bar makes you feel like you are in your own home. A gem! Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Fourqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

I am revisiting this amazing place inJune 2018. This will be my 4th time returning. I have never had a bad experience. The food and service is amazing, setting incredible, place and surroundings beautiful. Perfect for running a retreat or spending a long weekend with family (I've done both) honestly faultless ❤️❤️ you will not be disappointed!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank rowenasoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Amazing setting, great pool/jacuzzi/steam room and wonderful hosts serving fabulous food after aperitifs in the sun with a stunning vista, too beautiful to capture on camera. The website promised silent/peace/tranquillity, but unfortunately for us one couple in the room beneath us had 2 very young children that cried/created during the night/early morning and at other times during the day (including during the designated afternoon nap). We went without virtually any sleep 1 night and had to request a fan to help drown out the noise. The owners kindly offered a different room but this was directly opposite the young family. There were other children present who were well behaved and maintained the owners' stated focus, but perhaps a policy is needed to prevent other holidays being impacted (we had purposely raised our spend because of the stated focus). Really sad and disappointed for us and the owners. Evening Meals were amazing. Would love to return but only if the policy changes.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TGCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Locanda Del Gallo is an excellent and beautiful spot to spend your holidays. We had a room overlooking the garden and surroundings. The room was large and spacious with a nice bathroom.
We stayed there for 6 days where we relaxed and were taken extremely good care of by the owners, Paola and Irish. They are excellent hosts and do their outmost to get your stay to be an unforgettable experience.
We had lunch most days and dinner all nights. Lunch is a cold plate with small Italian dishes. Dinners were 4 courses meal and they were all delicious. Ask eventually for half portions or you will gain weight:-).
The gardens and pool area are clean and nice and you can always find a quiet spot - either in the sun or in the shadow.

We can only give our highest recommendations to Locanda del Gallo and will definitely be back.

Helle and Martin

Room Tip: Room 6 or 7
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Everything about Locanda del Gallo is sublime - the views, the architecture, the rooms, the salt water pool, relaxing in any of the beautiful spots on deck chairs or couches, by the pool, under fig trees. The different dining areas and food, the honesty bar, where you just keep a record of what you've used and the low key, helpful and charming owners, make this place as good as I can imagine for intense recharging of one's energy. Perfect, restful vacation, feasting all one's senses. And at such a reasonable price!

Room Tip: The family suite is brilliantly designed with 2 bedrooms and a double bathroom. Perfect.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank notedna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews