We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
505
82
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
82
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairy taletower roomcastle groundstruffle huntwatch towercastle staycentury towertwo nightsawesome staywine tourmodern travellerumbrian countrysidelarge bathroombreakfast roomspiral staircaseamazing hotelwent above and beyond
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Fabulous location a small privately run hotel in a small castle. The setting is straight from a fairytale and the amenities in character. The food is excellent and the staff friendly and attentive. We attended a star gazing vending and a medieval banquet both were great and we would repeat the experience again even with a 6 year old!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AileeLongnoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

This place is worth trip. We spent one night in the castle and two in a large beautiful room. The castle is great fun and the view early in the morning is unforgettable. The other room was lovely, too. The food is great and the service is so welcoming. What a beautiful place. Five stars.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tandoor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Within short drives from Gubnio, Urbino, and other medieval hill towns, the Castello di Petroia is a great base for which to explore this region of Italy. Well-appointed and spacious room, great food, and peerless service make it hard to leave. Spend at least one night in the watch tower. It’s not as large as the main rooms, but it is the oldest accommodations (12th century?) on the grounds, and the parapets offer beautiful views of the mountains and any invading armies.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I had a fantastic stay here. The location is amazing, but the best of all are the people who run it. A short drive to the medieval town of Gubbio, in the heart of beautiful Umbria. Great room and great service. Dinner was delicious, with best quality ingredients from their own farm, and in great atmosphere, with real fireplace and real candles. I can say that Paolo was the best waiter I've ever had, and I travelled quite a bit. Breakfast was equally delicious. Great value for money. Congratulazioni vivissime a tutto lo staff del Castello.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank marcomura75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We were two couples touring Umbria. We stayed at the Castello for two nights. It was originally built as part of the defenses of Gubbio 1000 yrs ago then came into the possession of various owners who lived there over the many years. The Duke of Urbino, made famous in a portrait by Piero della Francesca was supposedly born there illegitimately! The place is way atop a mountain ridge deep in the Umbrian countryside. It's gorgeous and isolated. The accommodations are top notch (we did not stay in the tower). The rooms were airy and although traditional outfitted with all modern conveniences. The staff were great-Leonardo, Lucia-very pleasant, thoughtful. We had dinner twice there and the meals were superb, the service top notch. The views from the rooms and the breakfast room are stunning. If you are planning a trip anywhere near the area a stay here is well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews