We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 148
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 164
USD 125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bosone Palace(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tenuta Borgo Santa Cecilia(Gubbio)
USD 122
USD 103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nikis Resort(Gubbio)
USD 229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Gattapone(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
USD 89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bed & Breakfast Casa La Valle(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
USD 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
105
3
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
3
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestshis teamstunning beautylarge infinity poolwithin easy reacha special placerooms are cleangayhostsuitevalleypropertyperugiadivadiscerningestatescenery
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

a. We'd never been to Umbria
b. Never heard of Gubbio
c. Needed somewhere to get away from it all for a few days
d. Fancied a bit of luxury thank you very much

You know the score, you book somewhere in the hope that it's as good as the photos and that it will match your vision of relaxing by the pool, glass of Sangiovese in one hand and a good book in the other, with nothing but the views to think about. Welcome to Bellaugello. From the moment we arrived along a track with cypress tress either side we knew we'd found somewhere extra special. Alec your host is the epitome of what a host should be, warm, welcoming and a fountain of knowledge about the area. Food and wine are top of the list for us too and being able to eat outside with the other guests for a fabulous meal one evening was brilliant - one of those memories are made of this type moments. Corny but true. Rooms were very comfortable and the wifi was excellent as was the alfresco breakfast each morning. Explore Gubbio, Assisi and Spello while in the area if you can as all are wonderful. We'll be back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaisonGalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

If you have ever fantasized about living in a stone farmhouse in a picture perfect location in Italy, then this is the place for you. Want to take it further? Shop in the local stores for your dinner items and prepare the meal in your kitchen. Add some wine and the dream becomes reality. We did this two of our four nights stay, and really enjoyed it.

That’s how we felt during our stay at this very special hideaway. From the moment you arrive you are transported into an impressionist landscape painting, and it is hard to wander away.

We stayed in the Giardino suite which faces south into the valley. On the entrance level is a charming bedroom with a canopy bed, two chairs, and a dresser table. Two French windows open to a most memorable view of the valley. There is no air conditioning. During our stay, it was very warm, but the room cooled down nicely by bedtime. Downstairs is a cute retro looking kitchenette, a table for four, and a modern new bathroom. These rooms both had doors out to a stone patio and that beautiful view. The lower level stone terrace had a table for two and two lounge chairs. There is also an outdoor shower which was fun to use. There is also wireless internet available. At first we were not sure about our room choice, since the space was broken up on two levels, but we quickly changed our minds and would want this suite again if we came back. The view, terrace, and privacy are well worth a slight inconvenience of the stairs.

As all have said, Alec is an excellent host. Besides being easy to chat with, he was very helpful in guiding us around Umbria. Breakfast, which we ate at the outdoor table each morning, was a nice treat with fresh baked goods, juice and teas. Some cereals would have been a great addition to the mix. We also had dinner one night with Alec and some of the other guests and really enjoyed the meal and the conversation.

The pool setting at the hotel is great, and even though the pool was pretty cool, it is hard not to jump in and take it all in. Each day we made sure we had some down time by the pool, and also made sure we made it back in time each day to watch the sun set over the valley.

The location of the hotel is pretty good for touring the beautiful Umbria countryside. If you are staying for a few days, you should be able to make it to the main touring towns with time to spare and relax back at the hotel. If you have interests in Tuscany, it would be at least two hours one way before you can start reaching tourist sites.

The much talked about last quarter mile of the road to the hotel is really not that bad - after the first time you travel over it. The nearest town, Gubbio, is about fifteen minutes away and has restaurants and stores to meet your needs, all in a charming medieval setting.

A charming stone farmhouse set overlooking a picture perfect valley, a great pool to relax by, a friendly host, all combine to make for a great stay that you will remember for a long time.

Room Tip: We loved the Giardino suite for the view and the terrace.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

An exceptional place with a wonderful host. Stayed there for 10 days (first time in Umbria) and thorougly enjoyed it. The hotel is located off the main road, and somewhat difficult to find, though that's also the advantage. Very quite and clean, nice hiking paths, and a very helpful owner, who speaks Italian, and totaly immersed in the community and local colture. Some Italian guests when we were there, as well as other nationalities.

Room Tip: The rooms seem very different from each other (size and design), so better to ask in advance.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boards2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Returning to Bellaugello was one of the main reasons we planned another trip to Italy earlier this month. And we were not disappointed! Again, our kind host Alec was thorough with all the details of the operation of this wonderful old building which takes full advantage of the amazing vista of the Umbrian valley below. Our suite, the "Diva" is especially spectacular with the views in three directions and the room itself is well-appointed, clean, well-supplied with towels and toiletries. The mornings start off wonderful, often with mist in the valley that gives an ethereal touch to the sunrise, then you head on for one of the great breakfasts that Alec provides, with many homemade items. There is the option usually a few times in the week to have a great dinner in the dining room (or outside in good weather) that allows you some time to have great food prepared by Alec and enjoy meeting the other guests at the villa. There of course is the amazing infinity pool that allows everyone to enjoy the sun and water while taking in that view! We hope to make another trip to visit Bellaugello in the coming years, it is a great constant when we think of where we want to go when visiting amazing Italy!

Room Tip: All rooms at Bellaugello would have great views. As noted, the 'Diva' suite is our preferrance and we asked for it again when we booked. It is suggested that if you want a specific room that you book earlier on to ensure you get that choice, especially in the peak summer season when everything books up very quickly!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

A dear friend of Gubbio, he advised me to stay with Alec (Alec for years invited me to see what had made the house restauration) and I have to say that he was right, Alec is a great host and has created a place full of character and charm, the strong point is the position that dominates the one of the most beautiful landscapes of Umbria, the infinity pool on the landscape and 'breathtaking!. Postcard views and above all an attentive and friendly, discreet, gentle, elegant as Alec, very nice her two dogs Jenny & Milo, I love animals!.
As for the kitchen, the recovery of the recipes of local traditions, is very interesting and absolutely non-trivial, a very special place, to return. Sincerely Gabriele

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GabrieleMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews