We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
102
77
20
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
77
20
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful medieval towndefinitely return to this hotela small family run hotelgreat locationclose to the main squarest francisclean roomslovely hoteltrain stationgracewificompetentlyeurochurchassissielevatorluggage
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed two nights at this little B&B. Loved the proximity of the hotel and Luigi Ferrata, the owner was a superb host! The rooms are comfortable enough though nothing luxurious but given we were out most of the day, we were very happy with the amenities. Luigi also recommended two fabulous restaurants: La Taverna dei Consoli and another which we forgot to write down (sorry)! The hotel has a private car park area for 10 euro per day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yiwen-sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in the romantic room- there was frescoes painted on the ceiling and was in the arch connecting two buildings. It was a very quaint room with lots of character. The room and the bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was excellent- close to the Piazza del Commune. It was a easy walk from the top bus station with bags when we arrived and when we left Assisi, it was downhill to the bus station. Down is always good, especially in Assisi.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Best wishes to Luigi and the team at Albergo del Viggiatore in Assisi, where we spent a wonderful two nights earlier this month. This is a confortable and clean hotel, with a very central location in a beautiful historic street, but the staff are probably it's key asset, particularly Luigi, who set us a task of seeing all the major sights, and recommended some very good restaurants. We really felt like we were well looked after, and had a very relaxing few days.

With two small children, we were a little unsure about whether Assisi would be suitable, but they found all the old churches fascinating, and enjoyed eating gelato and wandering the streets, looking at the buildings. We found a small park, and particulartly enjoyed exploring the fortress Rocca Maggiore.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

When booking, we had told the hotel that we would arrive late by train - the Italian railway system works, but slowly! Even so, we were most pleasantly surprised on arrival, not only to be warmly welcomed by Luigi the owner but also offered dinner, which he had kept back specially for us. That was the start to our experience of the Viaggiatore, and an experience we would be extremely happy to repeat on any future visit to Assisi. The main reason for choosing the hotel was its location, aided by the Tripadvisor reviews. Both factors lived well up to expectations. We know Assisi from previous visits, but this was the first time we had stayed at the Viaggiatore, and will not be the last.
All the staff of this competently-run hotel are very friendly and helpful, which creates a marvellous atmosphere for guests. Our room was spacious and well-appointed. Despite being on the ground floor next to the reception, we were not overly disturbed by noise, as the sound-proofing is effective. Beakast was ample and sustaining - excellent coffee. We ate dinner there twice, a simple but well thought-out and presented menu. By the way, Italians are sensible people and do not export their best wines - Montefalco is definitely in this category.
It is difficult to find a more central hotel that the Viaggiatore. Assisi is not a town for cars - although the locals use them of course. So the main method of getting about is on foot, and this is where the Viaggiatore really scores points, being just off the main square with the Town Hall and the Tourist Office, with an excellent restaurant even closer, and not quite equi-distant between the Basilica di S Francesca and the Cattedrale di San Ruffino, so one can cover all the major sights without too much effort - apart from good physical exercise!
We were there over Easter, with rain prevalent. Luckily it was dry for the main Good Friday procession, an inspiring and emotionally moving sight with the onlookers falling silent as the sound of the drumbeat grew louder. Our timing was primarily to see a friend who has been living there for some years and will be moving on soon, so the visit was a combined renewal of friendship and spiritual health, both very necessay in today's hectic world.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uropwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Very good hospitality from Luiggi, a nice Italian person, very knowledgeable of the Italian and Assisi culture. Really we enjoyed and profited from his conversation.
An old and historical building, well restored, typical form mediaeval Assisi, well located in the middle of the city, few steps from the main Piazza, good parking lot at the Vescovado around hundred meters from the Albergo. Nice place, very clean, good breakfast. The Hotel was empty, and in spite of being the only customers, they gave us a room with a front wall view and a poorly kept small garden, but overall we liked the place. Bottom line a nice experience. For somebody who does not know Assisi to enter with the car is very difficult. They should do something to help customers to find the place, for example, write instructions and send them to customers by Internet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews