We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tranquil, but inconvenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Da Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Da Angelo
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“tranquil, but inconvenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

A very picturesque setting, quiet, but not really in Assisi. As in most hotels in Umbria, no elevators and quite appalling breakfast. The hotel restaurant is adequate in the evening, on a lovely patio. The public buses are infrequent, though it is only about a one kilometer walk to the Porta Nuova. For those with rental cars, there is easy parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    121
    28
    15
    4
See reviews for
127
84
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

My family and I stayed in a quad room for 2 nights. Excellent location close to Assisi, with spectacular views. Service was good, we arrived late afternoon and were offered lunch even though kitchen was closed. Room and pool were clean, owner was very helpful and gave us lift into Assisi so we could catch a bus to the rail station. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

If modern is what you're looking for, then this hotel isn't for you. The grounds and scenic views are beautiful. Be advised, we had to carry our luggage down the stairs as there is not an elevator. Once inside our room, we had 2 steps to walk down to enter the room. The bathroom was small and had mold on the ceiling in the corners. I was awaken to roosters crowing. Be careful, if you have a voltage converter/adapter you are unplugging. Mine broke as I was trying to unplug. Needless to say, as I tried to get the prongs out of the socket, I got zapped by the exposed prongs. The dinner and breakfast staff were curteous.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thrilled_2_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2005

I have to disagree with the previous reviews (except the last). The hotel has the most spectacular view over valleys we ever witnessed, and nice surroundings, but it stops there. The owners' (front desk) attitude is horrible. Maybe they didn't fancy us, but I got the impression that it was the same with everyone. You have to work hard to get a smile or some conversation from them (except when you're checking out that is). The hotel in itself is nice, beautiful landscaped garden and pool. But our room was very smallish, with 60s TV and linen, and you could hear what's happening in the other room...in the middle of one night I could actually hear another tourist in the room next to us snoring!! So if you're only into the environment and don't care about 'customer service' this hotel is for you, otherwise forget it. Breakfast wasn't a great deal either, in fact it wasn't a "looking forward to it" thing as in other hotels. Ample carpark: we had a rented car so I can't say anything about buses. The walled city is around 2 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hawker_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2005

Room was very small, and ceilings were quite low.
Nice swimming pool.
Owners were very indifferent towards guests.
- For example, the doorway to the bathroom within our room was so low that one of us hit our head (resulting in a gash) while en route to the bathroom at night. When we requested a change in rooms for this reason(we were staying 3 nights), we were told "not possible" (the owners didn't even care to ask about the injury).. we found out later that at least 2 other rooms were free that night.
- When we requested a roll of toilet-paper after ours had run out, we were interrogated, hassled, and had to actually explain why we needed more toilet paper
- The service at the restaurant was good, but the food was below average
- Good view of the countryside from the restaurant

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.7 km away
Da Elide
Da Elide
#15 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#11 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Assisi
Grand Hotel Assisi
#18 of 72 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Da Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Da Angelo

Property: Hotel Da Angelo
Address: Via San Potente 6, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Assisi
Price range (per night): $85 - $123
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Da Angelo 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Hotel at 1 km From Assisi center. Free parking and swimming-pool. Restaurant and pizzeria. Room with bathroom shower tv-sat Phon. Free wi-fi . Air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Da Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Angelo Hotel
Da Angelo Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing