We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blessed surprise....just a stone throw away from the basilica.”
Review of Hotel Il Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Il Palazzo
Ranked #42 of 141 Assisi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A blessed surprise....just a stone throw away from the basilica.”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

As a short-notice stay, we were pleasantly surprised at our luck in finding such a gem of a hotel. Well run, and with attentiveness to the weary traveller, it made for a wonderful overnighting stop. Like most otels in Assisi, it does not allow for parking of your own vehicle, however, there is a simple solution in that you can drop off your luggage and then repark your car at a suitable parking garage nearby.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    50
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
64
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peregian Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this wonderful hotel right in the heart of Assisi. The rooms are spacious and this time I have a sweeping view of the Umbrian countryside. The service is friendly and helpful and the ambiance very relaxing. There is a reverse cycle air con in each room which is great as we have arrived in a cold snap.

Breakfast is plentiful and the lounge area just such a pleasure to hang out in after all the sight seeing. Will I be back for a 3rd stay, you bet!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linisleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

From the outside it really looks like a castle. Good reception, but the room was disappointing. Small and not so comfortable. By booking through booking.com one gets a room on the first floor in so called standard quality, very noisy with a shower, possibly made fot children. The personell was friendly, but later I found out that my credit card quarantee had not been accepted because it was American Express!!
Our visit to Assisi was a great success and made some good for the less beautiful hotel close to S. Francis cathedral.

Room Tip: Look further when you book through the net
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Having been inadvertently delayed, by causes outside our control, the welcome received late at night from this hotel was greatly appreciated. Our room on the third floor was large and clean, with a great bathroom. Bedding was two standard adjoining single beds, rather than a double/queen, however this seems to be a common combination from our experiences in Italy, and in no way should detract from the rating of accommodation. Breakfast was very good, with the added touch of freshly made coffee very welcome. The hotel is located in the middle of Assisi, and gives easy access to all parts of the city. Overall, impossible to fault, and good value considering what is offered for the same price in other parts of Italy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waddles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

As we arrived in Assisi, we stopped at the first information desk we saw and the woman called our hotel to find out where we should park. The hotel has a price break at one car park so that is where we were directed to go. Found it easily, but we misunderstood that we could have dropped our luggage off at the hotel first. So we had a long, hilly walk dragging our bags. It was an unfortunate beginning, but when we staggered into Il Palazzo, Silvio immediately made us feel at home and took exceptionally good care of us from that moment on! My husband fell in love with the room and the "million dollar view" the minute we entered it. Very spacious and quiet. There is an elevator. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had exposure on two sides and couldn't stop looking out the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDiY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#25 of 71 in Assisi
230 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#24 of 71 in Assisi
303 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#43 of 71 in Assisi
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#4 of 71 in Assisi
451 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#5 of 71 in Assisi
554 reviews
0.2 km away
La Casina Colorata
La Casina Colorata
#20 of 141 in Assisi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Palazzo

Property: Hotel Il Palazzo
Address: Via San Francesco 8, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price range (per night): $133 - $163
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Palazzo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Il Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing