We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
Ranked #78 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We stayed here for three nights from May 11th and was not impressed with the larger man at reception who felt he was doing us a favour and that we had disturbed him.
When we arrived a lady who turned out to be the chambermaid and the breakfast person checked us in until the larger man arrived who just seemed to sit behind the desk. OK Siena is not very big but he was not helpful in any way.
The hotel is situate on the third floor of a shared apartment block . You reach it by going through a shop alleyway passed a florist to the inner courtyard and enter a lift to the third floor.
On the corner at street level is a bar frequented by locals and by god almighty they sing and chanted all through the night till well past 05.00 am!!!!. The place is quite small so they spill out onto the street especially the smokers and the noise just wafted up into our room, even with the window shut we had to use our ear phones as ear plugs.
I remarked this all night noise to the large guy on reception who just nonchalantly shrugged his shoulders and said you should book a hotel outside the city walls quiet nights. Hardly a welcoming or friendly response. As a hotelier who should be caring for their guests' comfort they should be complaining to the bar or the city authorities. I would have complained to them myself if I spoke Italian and had therir details. But alas sadly for Siena and the hotel owners, my wife and I will never visit Siena or this hotel again .Nor will I recommend visiting this place to friends and family which is a shame as the room itself was quite comfortable and nicely decorated and furnished Our third floor room overlooked the neighboring building which seemed to be a hostel or hotel and directly below was the noisy bar. Breakfast was sufficient but samey over three days with plastic ham and plastic sliced cheese. Yoghurt and bread/toast . Bring on eggs and bacon etc.

The hotel is centrally located , literally on Siena's main street about a ten minute walk from the coach station. The Campo is literally 90 seconds walk away where all the expensive restaurants are. One place we wanted to sit for a drink we were told sit inside as outside tables were for diners only so we left to give our custom elsewhere. The Duomo is magnificent and the view from above the museum gives a superb panorama of the town. but once you've been and seen it there's not much else to do......
007 fans of Daniel Craig's Quantum of Solace will recognise from the opening horse race sequence the Campo where the race is held twice a year. Go if you must

Room Tip: Our receptionist guy said if you want a quiet room book a hotel outside the city walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom_Jerry_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2016

Very central in Siena, which was great . Friendly helpful staff on arrival. Lovely room with toiletries provided. The lift to the hotel was a little scary and tricky to find at first. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRichards30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

The room is ok and the location is excellent. But... there is a great but. If you travel with a car , as we usually are, you have to park it some km away from the hotel. So prepare for a long walk with your luggage across the town. We could ask the hotel in advance for the permission to enter the old town at least , but we were told about this possibility only on our arriving.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nelly0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palzzofani, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Fani Mignanelli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Good morning
It ' our practice to send emails to the customer with all the information about the parking. Maybe it has escaped , it can happen . In Siena there are a lot of hotels outside the City Wall (Old City), you will have no problems to arrive certainly , but every time you want to come in the center, you will need the take the car and of course you will have every time problems with parking . You image have dinner in Piazza del Campo, over dinner you have to walk 10/20 minutes to take the car and then drive to your the Hotel located outside the city wall. The advantage of our hotel is that is located at 30 seconds from Piazza del Campo . Anyway, I think honestly everyone can choose freely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Spending the extra money for the location near the Campo was worth it; however, this hotel needs better management.Upon check in, the middle age man, at the desk was not friendly, as mentioned previously. That is his personality. The younger man in the morning was very nice, happy,and helpful. A stark contrast! We stayed in the Junior Suite pictured in the photos with the blue bed and canopy. My goodness! How hard is it to clean the stone floor in all four corners of the room? A fast, wet mop would do good! The blue couch needed cleaning, also the bedspread. Dirty is bad! The bathroom was small, and I expected that. Surprisingly, the bathroom was to my satisfaction. Luckily, the croissants at breakfast were delicious! The staff spoke little English, but understood. If the location is important, stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LadiesMantle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Great location to stay and explore the old part of the town. Difficult to locate as stairway and old lift situated at back of entrance concealed by a flower shop as mentioned in previous reviews. Best way is to take a taxi from train station - difficult to walk uphill with luggage for 1/2 hour (or bus station) as it is quite a bumpy walk with luggage from bus termainal and they will drop you nearby and direct you to the entrance to this B/B. it is not a hotel, but a B/B located in a residential building with no signage. walk to back and take lift to 3rd or 4th floor, small lift if you have much luggage, sign on glass door down some steps says the name!! Young student very helpful on our arrival, which was early evening and gave us choice of a room, which was lovely. View overlooking rooftops of siena just magic well worth any extra money. bathroom small but ok. room spacious. staff at front desk not particularly friendly next day which was a shame after the enthusiasm upon our arrival by the other young man - breakfast included was adequate.

the town of siena was delightful, especially as it was not at all busy, with wonderful Christmas displays and lights everywhere. no problems about finding restuarants that were available.

would love to return always off season

Room Tip: front room at top of building - wonderful view and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallowbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,232 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#13 of 40 in Siena
1,033 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#20 of 40 in Siena
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,518 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
257 reviews
0.4 km away
Bed and Breakfast Pantaneto Palazzo Bulgarini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Fani Mignanelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Fani Mignanelli

Address: Localita Banchi di Sopra 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $80 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Fani Mignanelli 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Siena's historical center, just a few steps from Piazza del Campo, relaxing and comfortable rooms make Palazzo Fani Mignanelli the ideaI place to enjoy Siena. The Palazzo Fani Mignanelli lies on the third floor of a noble XIII century palace with elevator. Whether you are in Siena on vacation, business, or to study our charming hotel is an ideal place to stay while enjoying Siena and its fascinating history. Whether you are in Siena on vacation, business, or to study our charming hotel is the perfect place to stay while enjoying Siena and its fascinating history. The hotel offers comfortable relaxing accommodations in an intimate boutique hotel setting: room service, private bathroom, air conditioning, mini bar, safe, Lcd-Sat television, telephone, and WiFi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Fani Mignanelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing