We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 15 October 2011

If you want somewhere reasonably priced and perfectly located in the old part of Siena, then this is the place for you. It is near the bus station and shops, restaurants and a very good supermarket.

Plain white walls and simple rooms are quite a basic decor. The breakfast room is difficult to find and has no windows. Breakfasts are just about adequate. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms seemed to be quite large and clean but there are no baths, only showers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Cannon d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a two star hotel, and with that in mind, I guess it was okay. The staff were making an effort to make the stay pleasant, the room was clean and the staff were helpful. But there is no AC, which was dreadful (30+ degrees outside), no sound proofing, so it was very noisy, and the breakfast was very simple. The location is central though, and the staff showed us were to park for free (15 minutes to walk from the hotel). We would not stay here again, and learned to keep away from two-star hotels. But if you are in Siena at a cooler time of year, and don't mind a bit of noise, it is okay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sigrun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The good thing about this place is definitely the location - right in the heart of the historic centre, just a heartbeat from the sightseeing delights of Siena. Everything else is pretty ordinary, even by 2 star standards. The building is obviously very old, and maintenance has not been high on the agenda. Rather than old world charm it exuded old world decay. Single beds pushed together (like a lot of Italy) rather than a double/queen. No hairdryer, but sockets so antiquated that our European-purchased travel dryer plug did not fit. The normally uninspiring Italian breakfast was even more dreary here and, oddly, a lot of the 'crockery' and 'cutlery' were plastic. Could not work out what that was about. Overall the price was high for very little.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank kathryn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I had no problems with my stay here--the staff was helpful, my room was very spacious, everything was clean, and the hotel itself has a quite a bit of charm, as it is quite old (dressed up with rustic lace curtains, dark wood furniture, etc.) No AC, but there was a ceiling fan. No elevator, but it's doable, and the staff will help you out. Overall, it's a very good two-star hotel, excellent for the value. The location is ideal--it's easily walkable from the train station, and Piazza del Campo is just a few minutes away on foot.

I found this hotel to meet all of my needs, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I will be returning with a friend in a few weeks for my second stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USofArugula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I understand prices are high for Il Palio. This hotel is clean, safe, and the staff are pleasant & helpful. Personally, though, I wish I had paid more to have AirCon, more sound insulation and a shower that didn't leak water into the room and hallway. We were also in one of the smallest rooms they had. I chose poorly for my expectations. For less demanding folk, it's a great budget option.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfaMikeTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
247 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#32 of 40 in Siena
178 reviews
0.3 km away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#28 of 40 in Siena
188 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#21 of 40 in Siena
833 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#14 of 40 in Siena
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cannon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Address: Via Dei Montanini 28, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: $79 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Cannon d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Cannon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cannon d`Oro Hotel Siena
Albergo Cannon d Oro Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing