We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte
Ranked #44 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2017

This is a small B&B, only 4 rooms I believe. It is operated by a retired couple who are both very nice and very friendly. I stay here for 4 nights in September of 2016, although it was not my first visit to Siena, this was the first time I actually stayed in Siena. The accommodations at Alle Due Porte were very nice. The room was clean and comfortable, and the owners were very hospitable. The breakfasts were exactly what you should expect in Italy, the fruit was fresh, there was a selection of cold cuts, breads, cheese, and cereal. Although I never requested them, I believe there were also eggs. My experience was exceptional.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the front street. Great view down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MichaelJBhamAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights when we visited Siena in September. The location couldn't be better, it's just off the Main Street, less than 5min walk to Piazza del Campo and all the other sights.
This place is rustic in an old Italian charming way, the rooms are spacious but basic. But what really makes a difference is that The owners are a lovely couple who seem to really care about their guest & this is evident in the huge continental breakfasts and freshly made coffee on offer!
Reasonable prices, perfect location & a brilliant breakfast...

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lozliz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We found this place through Rick Steves' Italy guide, with good reviews confirmed here on TA. Terrific location a short walk from all you'd look for in Siena. Also, a pretty great price.

In general, a fine experience. The owner was responsive, provided comfortable beds and an expansive breakfast, which more than made up for the spotty wifi. If not for the bathroom slight odor of sewer, the rating would be 5 stars.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank criden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Our host and hostess were extremely cordial and helpful, accommodating my gluten allergy at their generous breakfast. All the coffee I wanted.

The only suggestions I would make would be to improve the wifi so it can be used in the guest rooms and to install some "acoustic" shutters to help with the street noise. Delivery and garbage trucks start at 5 AM and echo in the narrow medieval street.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank robertjharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We recently returned from a 6-week trip to Italy including 2-weeks in Tuscany. We stayed at Alle Due Porte for 4 nights and had a very nice stay. The best thing about this place is that the owner (Ernesto) and his wife are extremely nice, even though he only speaks some English. His wife makes and serves breakfast and was absolutely a joy to be around. The breakfast was great; very filling, and quite a bit of variety. The room was above average in size, the bathroom was average (all bathrooms in Italy are small), and everything was clean. The room faced the street and it was a little noisy in the morning, but there is very little traffic because it is in the restricted driving zone. The B&B is very convenient for seeing the historic sites in Siena and there are several great restaurants within walking distance; one is right across the street. We arrived by train and took a 12 euro taxi ride to the B&B, then we picked-up a rental car in Florence and drove back. Parking is about a 200 meter walk downhill to free parking (that Ernesto recommended). When we left we wheeled our bags downhill to the edge of the restricted zone and drove the car to that location to load them. We DO NOT recommend trying to drive to the B&B, even if you get permission ahead of time, as you risk getting a 100 euro ticket in the mail after you get home.

Room Tip: This B&B does not have an elevator; the rooms are on the 1st floor, one floor up from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.1 km away
Podere La Strega
Podere La Strega
#19 of 126 in Siena
199 reviews
0.6 km away
B&B Le Camere di Livia
B&B Le Camere di Livia
#7 of 126 in Siena
244 reviews
0.7 km away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Palazzo Masi
Palazzo Masi
#64 of 126 in Siena
126 reviews
0.2 km away
Camere d'Epoca
Camere d'Epoca
#53 of 126 in Siena
32 reviews
2.5 km away
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
#45 of 126 in Siena
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte

Address: Via di Stalloreggi 51, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $138 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B & B are found in the part more ancient than Siena to little steps from the Duomo and from the Santa Maria della Scala, nearest the Piazza del Campo and therefore in center. The testimonies of documents indicate that this building existed already as house tower in the twelfth century and on the facade the signs of the several modifications are obvious that have transformed it. With the restructure jobs it has been attempted to integrate the fascination of ancient with the comforts of a our time being left intentionally intimate atmosphere. Il B & B si trova nella parte più antica di Siena a pochi passi dal Duomo e dal Santa Maria della Scala, vicinissimo alla Piazza del Campo e quindi in posizione centrale.Le testimonianze dei documenti indicano che questo edificio esisteva già come casa torre nel dodicesimo secolo e sulla facciata sono evidenti i segni delle varie modifiche che l’hanno trasformato.Con i lavori di ristrutturazione si è cercato di integrare il fascino dell’antico con le comodità del nostro tempo lasciando volutamente un ambiente intimo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing