We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Even Better Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2008

The location is in the middle of town which is great for getting right into the swing of this amaziing town. The staff was super and helpful at all times. They gave us great directions on a very seanic and low traffic way to get to Pisa. Amazing! I broke a glass and they responded quickly.

Our room was not facing the main street, very quiet and we had a limited but cool view of the hillside. Our friends stayed on the street side. They had a better view and the noise level was ok. The bathrooms were nice. This had the best shower of the four hotels during our stay in Italy. The air conditioning is average.

Don't forget to go into the dungeon where the old well and cantina are located. I will be back in San G and will stay here. This town is a must see if traveling to Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdelbucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 435 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2008

The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. My husband and I spent 9 nights in early September. San Gimignano was our home base to explore Tuscany. There is very convenient parking outside the city walls. Our room was on the street side. We kept the windows closed and the AC on, as it was hot during our stay. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel’s breakfast is wonderful, and it can be taken in the hotel’s lovely courtyard. Restaurants are a personal matter; we found Dulcis in Fondo to be the better one in town for us. San Gimignano is a lovely town to stroll in before or after dinner. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FB-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of September and found the hotel to be everything other reviewers had said. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and our room was very spacious with a huge antique wardrobe and comfortable bed. The bathroom tho' small and without a window was clean and had a good powerful shower. We got two great recommendations for nearby restaurants, both of which were excellent and exactly what we were looking for. The town is very busy during the day so we chose to leave every day and explore elsewhere but first thing in the morning and during the evening, when the hoardes have disappeared, the town is a magical place to be. For the money this hotel is one of the nicest we have stayed in anywhere in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langside3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

the staff was wonderful and helpful at all times. my room was great. i recommend a room not facing the main street - it's a bit quieter. however if you are on the street side - the early AM antics of the shop keepers opening up for the day is pretty hillarious!! the town was lovely as well and 100% i would stay here upon my next visit to the region.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aplaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We had a great experience at this hotel. You pretty much have to park at the edge of town which is not that far (walking distance). Service was great. Room was large and comfortable. We would stay there again. San Gimagno is a great town to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TPC-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
3 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,349 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
780 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
367 reviews
4 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Address: Via San Matteo 87, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: $156 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Pozzo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish hotel in San Gimignano. Located in a superbly renovated historic building within the ancient walls of the medieval town, L’Antico Pozzo is the perfect backdrop for art lovers and travelers looking for sober and refined elegance. The peaceful and inspiring atmosphere of the hotel reflects the incomparable charm of the town that surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Pozzo
l Antico Pozzo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing