We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We enthusiastically recommend this hotel because of the very helpful staff and the spacious rooms . The view from our third floor room really gave you a true taste of Tuscany.
The room overlooked a period courtyard, an olive grove and a fortress on a hill. Compared to other hotels we stayed at during our 3 week exploration of Tuscany, the rooms at the Antico were more spacious. Our room included an extra bed on which we conveniently placed our over-sized bags. The bathroom was compact but very modern. The room was tastefully decorated and contained antique furniture. A full continental breakfast was included in the room rate and it was satisfying . WIFI was provided to us for free. What really distinguished this hotel though was the very helpful staff. They advised us on the best bus and train connections to our next destination and made excellent nearby restaurant recommendations. There is a shuttle for guests that will take you to the hotel from the Porta Giovani ,where you are dropped off by bus outside the city gates. You may need to call ahead though and advise the hotel of your arrival. Otherwise, you will have to trudge uphill to where the hotel is located towards the rear of San Gimignano. The hotel staff also informed us that buses to the train station stop outside the Porta Strada which is more convenient to the hotel (front desk will check bus schedule for you). This will avoid the longish trek back to the Porta Giovani upon your departure. We highly recommend a stay in San Gimignano and this hotel. You have the city all to yourself at night when the tourist buses pull out and you have a sense of having been transported back in time. Very Cool !

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room with a view facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamusaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    233
    50
    13
    4
See reviews for
113
407
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

If there were bonus stars to add to this review I would add them. The Hotel L'Antico Pozzo was an amazing place to stay in San Gimignano. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome. The staff was so helpful, especially Emanuele. He arranged for us to do a private tour of the city and wine tasting at a farm house just outside the city walls. Ask for Claudia at Tuscany Ex. She is an excellent tour guide. The staff also helped us with bus and train schedules for our next destination. If arriving by bus save the cross-ton walk by asking for the Porta San Matteo stop. The hotel is just a short walk up hill on the right hand side. The hotel is located in a good party of town. Very close to the center and lots of shopping and ristorantes close by.

The hotel was very clean and quiet. Breakfast included fresh fruit, meats, cheese, pasteries. The rooms are nice. Very clean and large bathroom. I HIGHLY recommend staying here when you visit San Gimignano. I know I will stay there again during my next trip to San Gimignano.

Room Tip: We booked directly on the hotel website under the Sleep and Go rate. Nice double room with large ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_U_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have just spent 6 nights at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo and enjoyed every moment of it. We are probably spoilt with our modern acccommodation down-under but this was exactly what we wanted to experience. The authentic feeling of being "somewhere else in the world" was ever present The "staff" who turned out to be the owners were amazing and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Situated pretty much in the middle of San Gimignano, we walked out of front door into the main street and immediately were immersed in the culture and atmosphere of our much anticipated "Tuscan Experience".

Prior to arriving we had rented a garage outside the walls of city as we could not take our rental car inside the gates. This proved perfect for our needs as we journeyed out from San Gimignano every day to towns within 1-3 hours drive from our base at St Gimignano.

For the girls, lots of shopping, particularly the markets on Thursday, great value. Handbags shops galore. Meanwhile the boys idled their time away waiting in wine bars, hating every moment!!!!!

Restaurants were great once we got used to eating at 7.30pm, the opening time. Our particular favourite restaurant was on the left of street down to the garages. Ricardo was the owner from memory. Food fabulous and it was BYO. I just can't remember the name but we went 3 times and were treated like the locals. So nice.

Room Tip: We had a room that was just next to outside patio. Perfect but we were there during a cooler time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Crowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder Creek
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

San Gimignano,the old walled city is a must see in Tuscany and the Hotel L'Antico Pozzo is in the walled city and the best place to stay. You drive on cobbled-stoned streets up into the walled city to the Hotel. It is a picture of the medieval times. The location is ideal . You walk out your door to the sweet happy faces of the people of the town who are always accommodating with their stories of the city. The nights are quite a little mysterious. The staff is wonderful and I thank them for all the assistance given to us for our wonderful time. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 645Maryellen645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

4 of us recently stayed at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo. The staff was very helpful From hosting our wine tasting in their bar to helping us plot a tour route of the Tuscan countryside. The outside courtyard was also a nice add. Breakfast was well done. Rooms were clean and very nice. We found this to be a great little secret at a extremely reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.3 km away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Property: Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Address: Via San Matteo 87, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#5 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price range (per night): $142 - $314
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Pozzo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish hotel in San Gimignano. Located in a superbly renovated historic building within the ancient walls of the medieval town, L’Antico Pozzo is the perfect backdrop for art lovers and travelers looking for sober and refined elegance. The peaceful and inspiring atmosphere of the hotel reflects the incomparable charm of the town that surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Pozzo
l Antico Pozzo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing