We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sovestro(San Gimignano)
USD 172*
USD 167*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villasanpaolo(San Gimignano)
USD 240*
USD 232*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Volpaie(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
USD 143*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse(San Gimignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leon Bianco(San Gimignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bel Soggiorno(San Gimignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Cisterna Hotel(San Gimignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Colline(San Gimignano)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (835)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveller rating
498
263
56
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
263
56
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelyour luggagewithin the wallsancient buildinghotel is locatedperfect locationthird floorpark the carrestaurant recommendationsloved this hoteltop floortown wallsexcellent breakfasttour busessan gbeautiful townroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 835 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

If there were bonus stars to add to this review I would add them. The Hotel L'Antico Pozzo was an amazing place to stay in San Gimignano. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome. The staff was so helpful, especially Emanuele. He arranged for us to do a private tour of the city and wine tasting at a farm house just outside the city walls. Ask for Claudia at Tuscany Ex. She is an excellent tour guide. The staff also helped us with bus and train schedules for our next destination. If arriving by bus save the cross-ton walk by asking for the Porta San Matteo stop. The hotel is just a short walk up hill on the right hand side. The hotel is located in a good party of town. Very close to the center and lots of shopping and ristorantes close by.

The hotel was very clean and quiet. Breakfast included fresh fruit, meats, cheese, pasteries. The rooms are nice. Very clean and large bathroom. I HIGHLY recommend staying here when you visit San Gimignano. I know I will stay there again during my next trip to San Gimignano.

Room Tip: We booked directly on the hotel website under the Sleep and Go rate. Nice double room with large bathroom (shower and tub).
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_U_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have just spent 6 nights at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo and enjoyed every moment of it. We are probably spoilt with our modern acccommodation down-under but this was exactly what we wanted to experience. The authentic feeling of being "somewhere else in the world" was ever present The "staff" who turned out to be the owners were amazing and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Situated pretty much in the middle of San Gimignano, we walked out of front door into the main street and immediately were immersed in the culture and atmosphere of our much anticipated "Tuscan Experience".

Prior to arriving we had rented a garage outside the walls of city as we could not take our rental car inside the gates. This proved perfect for our needs as we journeyed out from San Gimignano every day to towns within 1-3 hours drive from our base at St Gimignano.

For the girls, lots of shopping, particularly the markets on Thursday, great value. Handbags shops galore. Meanwhile the boys idled their time away waiting in wine bars, hating every moment!!!!!

Restaurants were great once we got used to eating at 7.30pm, the opening time. Our particular favourite restaurant was on the left of street down to the garages. Ricardo was the owner from memory. Food fabulous and it was BYO. I just can't remember the name but we went 3 times and were treated like the locals. So nice.

Room Tip: We had a room that was just next to outside patio. Perfect but we were there during a cooler time. Not sure if it could get noisy. We loved the inside outside feeling. our friends had a bigger room fronting to the street, didn't mention noise but were cold. Was immediately sorted when mentioned to owners.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Crowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

San Gimignano,the old walled city is a must see in Tuscany and the Hotel L'Antico Pozzo is in the walled city and the best place to stay. You drive on cobbled-stoned streets up into the walled city to the Hotel. It is a picture of the medieval times. The location is ideal . You walk out your door to the sweet happy faces of the people of the town who are always accommodating with their stories of the city. The nights are quite a little mysterious. The staff is wonderful and I thank them for all the assistance given to us for our wonderful time. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 645Maryellen645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

4 of us recently stayed at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo. The staff was very helpful From hosting our wine tasting in their bar to helping us plot a tour route of the Tuscan countryside. The outside courtyard was also a nice add. Breakfast was well done. Rooms were clean and very nice. We found this to be a great little secret at a extremely reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kedkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We shared a Superior Dante Room which overlooked the small courtyard at the back Room no 20 on the second floor. Beautifully painted ceiling and spacious room, old faded grandeur with views also over the terrecotta tile roofs of Tuscany. A very small bar area open 24 hrs and night receptionist was always there to help. Great recommendations for restaurants too. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 20 quiet and lovely outlook with beautiful ceiling.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews