We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little gem in San Gim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2007

Wonderful little hotel in the heart of San Gimignano, perfect for a romantic few days away. Breakfast in the courtyard outside was so peaceful and the continental style food yum. Service was excellent. I will definitely be making a return visit but next time not by myself!!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank BecsDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 471 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2007

The Hotel L'Antico Pozzo is a great three star find. It's centrally located, tidy, and most comfortable three-star accommodation. My wife and I were quite pleased with our two-night stay at this hotel during peak season, as we enjoyed a cozy, attractive room with all the amenities you'd expect in this price range. (standard doubles will set you back 110-130 USD) Breakfasts were fresh and ample; service was friendly and helpful; and the hotel's peaceful courtyard was a plus.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

If you are exploring Tuscany don't miss San Gimignano. It has all of the lovely charm of Tuscany and a perfect hotel. Hotel L'Anitco Pozzo is intimate and elegant, with comfy beds, spotless bathrooms and lovely rooftop views. We drove up to the hotel, through the stone gates of the town just long enough to drop our bags at the hotel and check in. We loved the town from that moment as several people helped direct our crazy 3 point turn on the ancient narrow street...applauding as we finally got going in the right direction.
You park down the hill, just outside of the town in a convenient lot.
San Gimignano is friendly and safe with nice shops and restaurants. The man at the front desk was very helpful with suggestions and directions in perfect english. We also made some day trips to surrounding villages and his suggested routes were very helpful.
My friend remarked every night at dinner, as she looked around at the charming scene " I could live here..I really could live here!"

We brought electric fans everywhere we went in Tuscany because it was late July and some hotels have little or no AC. This was a great idea and made sleeping easy on hot nights and lulled out street noise when necessary. We bought them in a store in the first town we stopped in.(best $20 spent!)

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BetsyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We arrived in the early afternoon to be told our room hadn't been booked because I, admittedly, hadn't read the email they sent me properly. It stated that I needed to send them my credit card details way down on the mail (BE WARNED). Fortunately they had another room, and although it was small it was nicely furnished and it had a good shower room. My issue was the service. The staff were really unhelpful and could barely lift a smile, maybe we caught them on a bad day! And the croissants at breakfast were burnt.

Great location but could be much, much better.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank GlobalStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emanuelemarro, proprietario at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2007
Google Translation

Dear Sir or Madame,
thank you for your submission , we are very sorry to know you did not enjoy your stay,our sincere hope is to see you again in your next trip to San Gimignano and serve you in the manner that you expect.

Regarding our booking terms,we require a credit card number to guarantee your reservation after we sent our availability offer.
A confirmation number will be generated and sent to your mailbox as confirmation that your booking has been correctly registered.

I would like to have more informations about your booking in order to give you a more detailed reply

Looking forward to see you again ,we send our
kindest regards

Emanuele Marro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Following a note in Lonely planet, we book this hotel by calling them. Right in the center of this charming town, l'Antico Pozzo is a very good place to stay with a warm welcome, helpful advice and flawless room.
The breakfast on the patio was particularly enjoyable and I would recommend this place next time you stay at San Gimignano.

Thomas

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
3 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,350 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
780 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
367 reviews
4 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Address: Via San Matteo 87, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: $154 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Pozzo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish hotel in San Gimignano. Located in a superbly renovated historic building within the ancient walls of the medieval town, L’Antico Pozzo is the perfect backdrop for art lovers and travelers looking for sober and refined elegance. The peaceful and inspiring atmosphere of the hotel reflects the incomparable charm of the town that surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Pozzo
l Antico Pozzo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing