We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
35
73
86
41
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
73
86
41
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel double room with shared bathroom the central railway station suited our needs leaning tower of pisa taxi
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Basic, Clean and location good. Italy is expensive so for price this place was ok. Double bed was 2 single beds together. Very firm and only one skinny pillow. I would recommend if you were on a tight budget. But if you can afford a little more then try for something better.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We arrived on Wednesday 13th June as per our reservation. However, on arrival we were informed (by telephone as the receptionist spoke no English) that the hotel had double booked our room, and we would not be able to stay there that night. He advised that he had booked accommodation in an alternative B&B nearby for the night at the same cost. We did not feel it was appropriate that our accommodation had been downgraded without our consent or prior approval, however being stranded and homeless in a foreign country, we didn't feel like we had any alternative but to try it.

We went to the address provided, and discovered a shabby boarded up apartment block (see picture attached). There was no signage or anything indicating the name of the property, or that it was a B&B. On further investigation since arrival home, it is clear that this is an 'Air B&B' which rents out for €50 per night, significantly cheaper than the €80 Hotel Astor was charging us to stay there.

We pressed the buzzer to be let into the building, but found ourselves in a dark hallway with no signage and nobody to greet us. We waited for about 20 minutes before deciding that it was wasting our day, and we would be better arranging an alternative for ourselves. We ended up finding only a hotel room for €250 which was significantly in excess of the €80 we had intended to pay.

We do not feel that the service we received from Hotel Astor was up to standard. We should have been informed of the double booking as soon as the situation was noticed, in order to allow us to make alternative arrangements. We do not feel that it was appropriate for our accommodation to be downgraded from Hotel to Air B&B without our prior consent. The alternative accommodation suggested by Hotel Astor was entirely inadequate and unusable. We had only one day and one night in Pisa for my birthday, most of which was then spent searching for accommodation because of the ineptitude of Hotel Astor so our trip was completely ruined, and ended up costing us significant extra expense.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 519catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

We spent 4 nights here.
Staff was not quite interested (not unfriendly though). Several times there was no-one at reception, including upon our arrival (at 22:30) and our check-out (cleaning lady said to leave the key and go).
Room was as expected, except the heating system with disassembled switch to ensure we will not use it (in May).
The biggest disappointment was the noise - doors slammed, furnitures moved even during the night and cleaning after check-outs early mornings. (It seemed that most people stayed 1-2 nights only).
Anyways, the location is great, 5 mins. walk to train station, 10 mins from the Leaning Tower and several restaurants.

Room tip: Top floor at least have no-one above you
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noname600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Terrible Hotel. We booked a room with a private bathroom and when we checked in we found that our private bathroom was the other end of a long corridor. The air conditioning didn't work. Asked at reception and they barely spoke and English, so no help there. Had to sleep with the windows open, leading my to receive 14 mosquito bites. Was told to leave our room key at reception when out. However there was numerous occasions I saw the reception unmanned and the room keys readily available for anyone to steal and the icing on the cake was being locked out of thdotel at 11pm. Was told that reception would be open until 12pm and was given a keycode for out of hours access. We got to the hotel at 11pm and tbe reception was closed and the keycode machine was turned off. We were banging the door for 1 1/2 hours. In tbe the end I had to knock other guests windows, hoping someone would let us in. Thankfully someone did. A little later my wife had to get up and let some other people in who were also stranded like us. The emergency contact number given was unavailable. What a terrible way to treat guests. Horrendous!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wrestle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

I stayed at Astor for 3 nights during a visit to Pisa I had for a wedding.
It is a great value for price at a good location and close to the train station.
Some of the staff are very friendly and some others not.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews