We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Good Frescoes, tapestries, sense of the area and history of the church and tower

Good place to start of your tour of the tower, duomo, "graves" and area around the leaning tower... read more

Reviewed 19 October 2018
Pepperjackm
,
Texas
You really have to like museums!

To be completely honest, we visited here as it was included in the price of our multi-attraction... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2018
Geoff L
,
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Read all 174 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Pisa
from USD 25.57
More Info
from USD 37.10
More Info
from USD 79.90
More Info
from USD 12.50
More Info
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
36
37
59
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
37
59
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display visited this museum multi attraction ticket interesting museum other attractions short visit leaning tower drawing development paintings insight duomo
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

In order to enter the amazing buildings that surround the leaning tower of Pisa you will need to visit the museum to obtain a (free) ticket.

We attempted this on two separate days without success (too late and too busy). Which was frustrating but not a major issue.

The customer service of the people behind the counter was however disgusting, literally comically bad. (The people behind us sniggered by the shocking interaction and responses given by the employees there).

My advice is go early, be prepared for a rude response, get in and get out!!! If you do want to spend some time there, the video explaining the origin and history of the tower is quite interesting, however it’s probably easier to hear if you watch it on YouTube.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank MikeTheFoodMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We visited the Museo delle Sinopie last, after having visited the Leaning Tower, Cathedral, Baptistery and the cemetery. If we are honest, this to us, was a bit uninteresting as it is not really our thing.
The reason we visited is because we purchased tickets for all the other attractions at home, this one also popped up in the list, we therefore thought that it must be fairly good, and that is the only reason we visited.
We also appreciate that everyone is different and has different likes, and If you are right into history and frescoes then this museum will probably appeal.
For us, the film show about the leaning tower, and the model of Piazza dei Miracoli were more interesting.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank thetravellingmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

The most uninteresting runaround of a museum ever. Very specialist and narrow subject where half of the exhibition is about how the fresco sketches were saved and the rest a pointless display unless you are an academic specialising in the field. Only good point is air con to cool down after having visited all the other great exhibits in the area.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank 69albertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We visited this museum as part of our multi attraction ticket. Although I can understand some of the negative comments in other reviews, we actually found it very useful and quite intriguing on the insights that it gave into the history of the Camposanto. Well worth at least a short visit.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank One_of_the_BOFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

My dad read an article in The Sunday Times (UK newspaper) saying how this museum was rubbish, but offered good views over the Campo Dei Miracoli, however when we got there, the upper floor was closed for renovation. The museum offers some information into frescoes and contains restored frescoes which were originally in the Camposanto.

There is also a film about the tilt of the tower, but with the museum being the main ticket office for the Pisa attractions, there is so much background noise in the building that the film cannot be heard.

The contents of the museum (while the top floor is under renovation) can be seen in under 15 minutes, so if you do have a combined ticket and limited time, you can fit it in.

The museum isn't very interesting and would be extremely boring for any children. The only advantage is the air conditioning if you want to escape the heat for a short while!

If you see a big queue, and already have a ticket, enter via the other doors. There should never be a queue to enter this attraction!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank timyoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews