We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome”
Review of Al Tondone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Tondone
Ranked #53 of 170 Lucca B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great welcome”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We wanted to stay close to a village where my husband's father was born and we chose Al Tondone B&B.
The owner, Anna, is very friendly and we enjoyed our stay at her B&B. The room was large and clean. No TV but we did not care. There is a railroad line outside but it did not bother us at all and we slept well.
We paid 75 Euros for the room. No Visa card accepted, so we paid cash.
The location is a little hard to find but we managed with the GPS.

The breakfast was great and we enjoyed the nice breakfast room overlooking the garden.

.Anna is a very nice person who made us feel very comfortable in her home. She speaks English fluently. She shared with us some of her family history and photos in her living room. She recommended a good restaurant in Lucca where we could get traditional dishes from the region.
There is ample parking in the gated property.

Room Tip: A little hard to find. Get precise directions beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Anna welcomed us with warmth and made our stay memorable. The inn and grounds are idyllic, especially the sun room where we had breakfast feasts every morning. Anna helped us navigate our way around Lucca and to the Cinque Terre, and called around, so that we could visit a winery during our stay. She provides WiFi, as well, so that we could talk to family back home. Although we didn't use the bicycles, they were available, so next time we will cycle the short distance to Lucca and pedal around the ramparts of the old city.
Arnie and Peggy Johnson, Granada Hills, CA


A

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Everybody reading this post must keep in mind that I am not a B&B fan, but due to previous excellent opinions expressed here, my husband and I decided to give this place a chance.
We will never be interested in coming back to Al Tondone, even though Lucca is a great place to visit.

First, the location- even with our performant GPS we barely found it. Also, the road to Lucca passes through unpleasant sites; you can’t enjoy a bike ride in an industrial area!

The room was very basic, no air conditioning, no TV, nor the mentioned balcony. We couldn’t spend any time in the praised garden because mosquitoes would attack even during the day hours.

The breakfast, except some bruschetta, consisted mainly in some groceries (cheese and ham) you can buy from a gas station, nothing cooked or home-made.
The first day we had to wait more than an hour on the front gate, no one cared about our previous mail announcing the estimated time of our arrival.

All in all it was a disappointing accommodation, meeting only budget requirements.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alex a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suttons Bay, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This place is a gem. We loved that it was outside the city of Lucca, but with bikes provided so we could ride into Lucca through the countryside. Anna was a delight. The breakfast was superior to other places we stayed, served in a great porch roomoverlooking the gardens. Would stay here again just to see Anna. Benito was a gem, too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonlake68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I had a lovely time staying at Al Tondone outside of Lucca. The house was charming as was Anna, one of sweetest hostesses we've ever met. She went out of her way with everything. The breakfast was very thorough (from cereal, tea, coffee, cheeses, yogurt etc) and our room was clean, pretty and well maintained. My husband and I also shared a bottle of wine on the porch listening to classical music and crickets...very surreal. The walk into town is far so use the bikes (which are free) or take your car. If we are ever able to stay in Lucca we will most definitely be returning to Al Tondone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
5.0 km away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#14 of 51 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.1 km away
Al Porto di Lucca B&B
Al Porto di Lucca B&B
#4 of 170 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
8.6 km away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
La Pieve di Sant'Andrea
La Pieve di Sant'Andrea
#1 of 2 in Maggiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
10.9 km away
Relais Victoria
Relais Victoria
#1 of 1 in San Macario in Monte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Tondone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Tondone

Property: Al Tondone
Address: Via di Fontanella 663 | Localita San Filippo, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price range (per night): $105 - $122
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Tondone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Tondone Lucca
Al Tondone Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing