We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in a budget room”
Review of Albergo Diana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo Diana
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We stayed at Albergo Diana recently and had a pleasant experience.
We were warmly welcomed after walking from the train station. The walk took only 15 mins.
The room was pleasant although little dark. All the facilities were good which included free wifi,
The most impressive detail was it's location within the city walls which was so close to the cathedral and minutes walk from many of the wonderful sights Lucca had to offer.
The city walls were close by and made for a wonderful daily walk

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJHKRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morotti, Responsabile reception at Albergo Diana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Hello,

thank you a lot for your opinion about our hotel and we are sorry if you found it a bit dark, we will try to put more light!
We are happy that you enjoyed your staying in Lucca!

ciao ciao,
Sandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Its my fourth time in this hotel. Perfect location if you are traveling by car, easy to find with GPS but be aware of Traffic Restricted Zone - very easy to miss! Onsite parking available at 15 euro for 24 hrs. All rooms have different decor, not very big but reasonable , the beds are big and very comfortable! Toiletries are supplied and very nice. The staff extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Will not hesitate to go back again or recommend to others .

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gitana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morotti, Responsabile reception at Albergo Diana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Hi!

thank you very much! We are very happy when a guest come back to our hotel :)

ciao ciao,
Sandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We stayed in Diana hotel, wich was not the main hotel. The hotel was clean, in a very good location inside the walls in Lucca. However the electricity in our didn't work well and the room during the night was cold. Reasonable price

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sofia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015

First, let's get this out there - this isn't a luxury, five star resort hotel - nor does it claim to be. It IS however, very reasonably priced for its central location within the walls and near the attractions of Lucca. They also take pets for a nominal fee, which was very important to my wife and I, who were using this hotel as temporary lodging while we secured an apartment. The room was clean, the air conditioning worked (and worked well, I might add - I'm no stranger to fights at other hotels over faulty AC resulting in a sweltering room), and the wifi signal was strong.

On top of that, Fabrizio, who was working the night we arrived, was *amazing* over the course of our entire stay, accomodating us as we asked to extend our stay multiple times, providing information about the city - both in a touristic capacity and as future residents, and just by being genuinely warm and friendly.

Overall, unless you simply cannot live without the typical, generic complimentary breakfast (when a cappuccino and a delicious pastry can be had for a few Euro at too many places to count), or if the 30 second walk around the corner to check in is simply too Herculean a feat for your liking, the Diana is *definitely* worth your consideration as a place to stay while in Lucca.

Ciao, fellow travellers!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorSmith1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014

We choosed this accomodation in Lucca based on the pictures on the website, but it was very tricky in the real life, because you can get a good room and a very bad as well!
We got a red room with a small window close to the ceiling... it looked terrible!
The location was OK and the cleaning also, but that red athmosphere was soo terrible and cold....
Fortunately we stayed only 1 night, so for 1 it was OK.
But I wouldn't choose this for next time.
The hotel has another category accomodation at the back of Hotel Diana - it calls Albergo, this is higher category (3stars), and the athmosphere is much more better. So I would choose Albergo next time between Diana and Albergo.

Room Tip: Don't ask for the red room and specify your room preferences in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DianaK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0 km away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 47 in Lucca
533 reviews
0.4 km away
Albergo Moderno
Albergo Moderno
#33 of 47 in Lucca
103 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Stipino
Hotel Stipino
#24 of 47 in Lucca
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#17 of 47 in Lucca
228 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#43 of 47 in Lucca
373 reviews
0.3 km away
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
#26 of 47 in Lucca
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Diana

Address: Via della Dogana 9, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range: $75 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Diana 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Diana, partner of San Martino & Diana Hotels, completely renovated in the very heart of the town of Lucca, offers nice and colorful rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning / central heating, free WIFI, flat screen TV, telephone direct and hair dryer. The ideal place where to spend a pleasant holiday of relax, culture and entertainment, Hotel Diana is located a few meters from the Cathedral of San Martino, in a quiet but very central position, just few minutes walking from the train station and by the public transports station. Guests can check in at Albergo San Martino, just around the corner, and use the common areas such as a bar, a public internet terminal and a nice patio at the entrance. Inside, Hotel Diana features a vending machine with hot and cold drinks and snacks. Also for the guests who want breakfast, there is the opportunity to take advantage of the collaboration with the striking bar Aria in Piazza Antelminelli, with the impressive scenery of the Cathedral accompanied by "cappuccino and croissant." The reception at Albergo San Martino, which is available from 7.30 to 23.00 with multilingual staff, friendly and young, is available for any need or request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Diana Lucca
Albergo Diana Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing