We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
170
392
135
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
392
135
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking mc donalds modern hotel old town minute walk overnight stay main road excellent hotel breakfast buffet is walking distance good size short stay nice bathroom walled city of lucca stayed for one night double bed air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We spent 2 nights in that hotel from July 29 until July 31st.
We booked the room for 3, 2 adults and one child and we called the hotel to add 1 child of 4yo, as he sleeps with us in the bed. No problem over the phone and booking was confirmed and we send an email before to ask for an early check-in, but we did not receive any answer.
First thing the lady said at the reception that it was too early (we arrived at 7am) and check-in only possible from 2pm, no flexibility at all. On top of this she was not aware that we were 4 instead of 3 and she said this is very bad in case the police comes!!

Well. after a few minutes she calmed down and accepted the other child with additional charges for the breakfast (free for other guests...).

In the room: double bed 2 big for the structure, so the bed not comfortable at all, leak in the shower, toilet was not working and noise from the ventilation all day long (like a washing machine).

Reception said this is how the rooms are built and this is normal...what an answer!

Hotel in general in good shape, but location is quite bad for a family trip.

Breakfast very poor and not varied at all for a 4 starts hotel!

Very bad surprise and this hotel does not deserve these 4 stars

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JedayeGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed one night there. Bed was great. Bathroom was modern. WiFi worked well. You will get exactly what’s in the photos.

It’s a nice walk from Lucca old town wall. And there is a good restaurant nearby as well.

Only thing to worry about is that there is a McDonald’s next door and if your room is on that side, you will get the fryer smell in your room when you crack open the window.

All in all, it’s great hotel for the typical rate you find.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AshDelhi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Very good value. Hotel is just off the motorway about 10 minutes walk from the walled city of Lucca. Very clean with comfy beds, nice bathroom and good quality toiletries. Perfect hotel if you want good basic comforts without paying too much.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BevA100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Absolutely outstanding hotel. It seems as if it's stuck in the middle of nowhere and is a long way from the old town and the railway station but that's just because the taxi takes you a longer way round due, I think, to a one way system.
Anyway a 10 to 15 minute walk up the nearest main street and you are. There are no other problems at all as far as i can see. So, Ok, it's out on a bit of a limb in an area that seems to becoming built up. The views, therefore, are not great but you don't stay in the hotel all day unless it's for a work meeting and the like. If it is part of a holiday you get yourself out and about and Lucca is a place you need to get out to see because it is interesting, beautiful and friendly. If you don't fancy paying 10 Euro for breakfast, you can always nip next door for a McDonald's before setting off out.
My wife was pleased because they had tea and coffee making facilities in the room, at no extra cost, the only time we came across such a phenomenon out of 6 different hotels we visited in our fortnight away.
Definitely use this place. The value for money was outstanding in our opinion. Perhaps that's because we booked it early with the hotel itself or because, at the moment the surrounding area isn't that pretty. Whatever the reason, people need to take advantage of the fact.
All the staff were spot on in their dealings with us and other guests by what we saw and the rooms were clean, spacious and had lots of nice touches.

Room tip: Don't think any of the views are that wonderful at the moment so any room would be fine in our opinion.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Our room over looked the Mc Donalds which says a lot about location... this is a great practical place to stay if passing through and you need quick access to autostrada. Not the most romantic Lucca hotel or location. 30 min walk to piazza Ampitheatro. And 15 euro taxi

The breakfast is ok. Cheese fruit bread basically. But an Nescafe instant coffee machine which is inexcusable. No excuse for bad coffee in Italy..

Staff was kind and helpful. But in the morning at checkout there was often one person which made for long waiting. Even if you just had a question.

Clean.. good parking...doors close very loud and sound is a bit of an issue. But no more than normal hotels.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Winternsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews