We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveller rating
474
214
34
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
214
34
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his son the owner within the walls old world charm breakfast room boutique hotel wonderful hotel highly recommend this hotel old town small hotel beautiful lucca loved this hotel large room cold meats train station central location croissants
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 744 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018

If you are looking for old-world charm and gracious service, this place is wonderful. If you are looking for Holiday Inn, then perhaps you should have booked Holiday Inn. I'd come back to Palazzo Alexander.

We loved everything about the hotel.

Thanks to Mario, Gabriel, Cesare and David, himself a true life experience who I will never forget. HUH!?

Room tip: Get a room that does not face the street if you are a light sleeper.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Lucca does not have an oversupply of Bedrooms. Having stayed in an apartment on an earlier visit and on a different visit a very pleasant B&B we chose the Alexander and it did not disappoint. Nice & quiet but in a great location. Marion & his staff are most welcoming and will offer any advice you need. Mario saw an opportunity 18 years ago and seems to be still delighted .

Room tip: Next time we will book the top room. It has an original balcony overlooking the roof tops. Ideal for “al fresco”.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mhbeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

When we arrived at Hotel Palazzo Alexander we were immediately met with a friendly attitude, assistance and warmth. We had great help with baggage & parking the car. Mario & Caesar were both relaxed, yet extremely helpful when we needed assistance or a recommendation. They recommended a fine dining restaurant at Casa Puccini and it was exceptional and one of the best on our month long vacation. We then wanted casual food and they recommended a nearby local Trattoria “Buralli”. It was casual more affordable, and provided less formal but friendly service and home made good food. We had a great stay at this Hotel!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BlaiseLofland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights here. One has the feeling of going back to an earlier, slower-paced time. This is starts with the interest proprietor Mario takes in his guests, inquiring about their day and their plans, offering suggestions of excellent restaurants, and engaging in friendly conversation. The decor, described as reflecting the noble Lucchese style, also reinforces this impression, as do bathroom fixtures that invoke the 1940s.

Everything works, including the complimentary WiFi and the air conditioning. Breakfasts are excellent, and are provided in an elegant room just off the lobby. All staff members are very helpful. The location in a quiet part of town is within comfortable waking distance to restaurants, shopping, all major sights and attractions and, of course, the famous wall. The train station is a 20-minute walk or a 15-minute taxi ride. The hotel will send out your laundry, or you can use the laundromat just down the street (tokens are 1 euro each, and you’ll need 8 to wash and dry one load). An elevator goes to the third of four floors. Staff will get your luggage to and from your room upon request.

Altogether an excellent base from which to explore the region, including Cinque Terre.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel is an old renovated building in side the heart of lucca old town. The hotel has the best services. Its family run hotel and the owner is a very kind gentleman always willing to help his customers. He made our trip from exhausting to enjoyable. Thank you Hotel Palazzo Alexander.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elleana234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews