We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family holiday rental”
other travellers have booked this property
Peace and quiet poolside as sun rises for another beautiful day.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peace and quiet poolside as sun rises for another beautiful day.
pool looking on to olive grove. 3m deep end, 1.2m shallow end.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Peace and quiet poolside as sun rises for another beautiful day.
pool looking on to olive grove. 3m deep end, 1.2m shallow end.
Entrance hall
Patio outside kitchen for al fresco dining. Table seats 10
There is a lounge with DVD and satellite tv, charming traditional features and a large old fireplace
Second our-poster bedroom with Puccini opera posters.
Another double bedroom with south-facing view.
Bunkbed room. We have side guards for young children and 2 travel cots
Gym from outside reflecting the farmhouse in one way mirrored glass.
Gym with Lifefitness machines, iPod docking station, DVD player and cables
Take a walk through the olive grove to the children's climbing frame.
View of the house and pool from the olive grove
Formal garden with lemon and lime trees.
our pool has a 1.2 metre shallow end with stairs. Deep end is 3 metres
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jaycee9
Leeds, West Yorks, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday rental”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Casa Boccina is lovely. The house is spacious and extremely well equipped. The grounds are amazingly well kept and there is a variety of seating areas for eating and relaxing or for quiet activities. The swimming pool is excellent, large, clean and suitable for young and old. Our grandchildren loved the trampoline and the range of toys and books. There is also a playground, football pitch, table tennis, pool table and outdoor chess. The owners are very friendly and helpful Everything you need for a wonderful holiday is provided. It will be hard to beat next year. I think we'll have to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed all that the property had to offer and that you had a relaxing stay. I enjoyed meeting you all and would love to have you as guests again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne M
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“If Carlsberg made holidays, they would have made this one!”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Have stayed at Casa Boccina 4 times now, it is just wonderful. The owners have thought of everything you would need. Well equipped kitchen, lovely open spaces to relax in, music by the pool, plenty of space for children (and adults) to play in. We walked in to Lucca along the river a few times. Beautiful old city to walk around and discover lovely little wine bars and take in the amazing buildings. We will be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded but by no means isolated from amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agragt
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Place to be Ourselves”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, 5 children, parents and brother recently enjoyed a fabulous week at Casa Boccina and we are still reflecting on the incredible time we shared together as a family.

Before our arrival, a packet of helpful instructions regarding the property use and directions to the villa gave us a great idea of what to expect and, as a result, arrival at the villa for all of us was seamless. Britta picked us up at the Lucca train station (about 5 minutes away) and we were delighted to have a stocked fridge and pantry (including basics for the first 24 hours - and stocked balsamic vinegars, olive oils, spices, salts and peppers). The kitchen offered everything needed to serve 10 people beautiful meals - we took great advantage of the covered outdoor eating area (the lack of mosquitos was a huge bonus for us!). There were ample fresh linens for the tables and perfect sleeping accomodations for our large family. The use of the washing machine was especially appreciated by those who had travelled extensively before their arrival at Casa Boccina. We enjoyed great wifi access and the DVD was nice for the younger set who watched movies late in the evening.

My children took full advantage of the trampoline, pool, pool table, large garden sized chess set and especially the table tennis. We enjoyed a week long table tennis tournament amongst our very competitive offspring. As everyone arrived from many different corners of Italy, down time was so appreciated in the many outdoor covered spaces for those who needed some quiet... there was ample space for everyone.

Access to fresh herbs in the garden (including a bay leaf hedge, thyme, oregano, mint...), fresh sweet cherries right off the tree, the hill of olive trees overlooking the pool added to the serenity of the surroundings.

Britta was incredibly helpful in so many ways. Suggestions for site seeing in Rome and Florence, the booking of reservations for 10 at a wonderful Lucca restaurant, the use of the large van for transportation to Cinque Terre, Florence and visits to the grocery store, a suggestion for and transportation to a great take-out pizza place, and surprise arrival of the most delicious gelato we have ever tasted and final transportation to the Pisa airport and the Lucca train station were just a few indications of Britta's attention to so many details and her primary focus on hospitality.

To the aforementioned, the soft kitchen morning sunlight, serene walks along the aqueduct, the sweet company of the family cat and perfect weather created for us a week that we will never forget. All we can do now is give thanks!

Feedback from our oldest son
The best thing about Casa Boccina to me is that it allows any visitor to be themselves. Situated within striking distance of many of Italy's best attractions, it is a great staging point for ambitious vacationers to experience such a beautiful country. But it is also a fantastic destination for those who just want to unwind on the estate and allow the world's stresses to melt away. We loved the pool, trampoline, ping pong table, pool table, gazebos, and aqueduct walk right out of the front gate. This property exceeded all expectations, and we'd love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre B
1 review
“A Rustic Tuscan Dream”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in October 2013

For my son's 18th birthday we went on vacation to Lucca, Italy. We found this lovely family-owned farm that boasted a beautiful Tuscan villa just outside of the city. And we couldn't have made a better choice! We truly enjoyed our stay at Casa Boccina, it was absolutely fantastic! The villa was beautiful and Britta and Stuart (the owners) have taken great care refurbishing the old home, staying true to the age and style of a rustic Italian villa. We were able to take advantage of the beautiful swimming pool as the weather was just perfect. On the hill above the pool is a fair sized olive orchard, from which the family harvests the olives and makes their own olive oil each fall. It really is an excellent accommodation which also includes a fitness room (off the main house), an outdoor play areas for kids (if you're planning a family vacation), a pool table and an outdoor chess set.
The location is very convenient just 5 minutes from the walled city. As for things to do, we were spoiled for choice. We made several day trips and were able to visit Rome, Pisa, Sienna and Florence, all of which offered their own unique experiences. Britta and Stuart's hospitality was outstanding and I am looking forward to a return visit. I recommend this accommodation to anyone who is looking for an authentic Tuscan experience.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to having you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline G
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Every opportunity for a memorable holiday”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in June 2014

We visited Casa Boccina early in the summer with a group of friends who were all unknown to one another so we had some trepidation regarding success. We needn’t have worried – from the moment we arrived it was so easy to relax. The facilities were fantastic with plenty of outdoor areas to enjoy, either with others or to sneak privately away. Whilst Lucca itself is close by and offers plenty of eating and drinking opportunities, more often than not we opted to stay home at Casa Boccina and quickly developed a routine of early evening drinks, communal meal preparation, long and conversationally full mealtimes followed by raucous renditions of 1960s hits well into the evening. Luckily the villa is suitably well away from the neighbouring properties and our hosts were willing to join in when invited!

The pool is in a beautiful setting, again offering more seating areas and having the availability of a gym is a real bonus particularly when it is so well stocked with great equipment.

We had such a fabulous time that we are considering repeating the experience with a different group of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor communal areas
Liked least: Having to go back home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing