We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This hotel is so horrible. It's like going to a 3rd world country. It is modernized (looks like Ikea inside), but you have to have the key in the wall to have electricity and they won't give you an extra key. So, if your roommate leaves, you have no electricity. It's cheap and it's embarrassing that an American chain name, Best Western, is on this hotel. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay in Rome, don't go to the small towns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guinigi, Meeting and Group Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Mrs Rachel,
thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our Hotel and I am sorry that your stay here did not meet your expectations. We are sure that any comments, either positive or negative, from our Clients are important to improve the quality of our Hotel. We usually use feedbacks to implement improvements in order to provide a superior experience for our Guests. Therefore, I was deeply concerned when I read the title “Horrible!” but, continuing in the reading of your letter, I really don’t understand what we have to improve thanks to your suggestions or what is the inefficiency that I have to justify or explain.
I do not have to justify our room’s electricity system because it’s a standard and widespread device used by superior category Hotels (especially used by the American Hotel Chains) and daily handled by all our kind Guests from all over the world.
I do not have to explain that on our mark we have “an American chain name, BEST WESTERN” since the international assessment quality report of BEST WESTERN recognizes, annually, that we meet the higher standards of quality and services requested by the Chain, anyway, I appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Thank you for comparing our just renovating common areas and rooms to one of the greatest and loved company of the world as Ikea (however our furniture are made by an Italian artisan in solid wood…).
I think that the community of TripAdvisor will easily judge the value of this opinion from the beginning of your letter just reading “It’s like going to a 3rd world country” that I refuse to comment.

Yours sincerely
Serena Panelli - Grand Hotel Guinigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    445
    130
    15
    10
See reviews for
238
321
23
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This a pretty standard hotel. The food is sure nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Im staying in this moment to this hotel,
during summer they offer some bikes to rent, because the hotel its situated 10 min.by car from city walls. the hotel is clean, efficent, the rooms are clean, the tv is an Lcd hanged on the wall of the room.
in my room there's only shower hub. the only things not perfect is that is a bit far from city center, so you need to catch a taxi, or a bus nr.11, that it takes aprox.10 minutes.
wifi internet is free.
The restaurant is good and the waiters have good manners,
a kitchen fine, with fresh fish and typicall tuscany cusine.
The fitness room is on the 5th floor, with large windows and a terrace,
tapis roulant, cyclette, and another stuff to built muscles. In a room beside, there's a Sauna.
The only thing that miss: water (as usually you can find in other hotels, together with sometimes apples, or tea).
Its my second time here, and I think I'll come again.

Room Tip: Choose room with view on the mountains, the valley in the back of the hotel (the other view: is on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andros77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just what you expect of a Best Western hotel. Efficient, Clean and comfortable. We took a room for four, with our two teens and it was very comfortable for all of us. The location of the hotel was a bit disappointment for us, as it is not a walking distance from the old town. But since we were visiting off season there was plenty of parking in and around the old town. We did not get much information from the front desk, but upon request we were given instructions to a nice restaurant for dinner, which was packed with locals and very nice. Breakfast was OK. it was also helpful to have a gas station and a supermarket next door. Also take into account that the hotel is located in the main road, but our room faced the back and we did not have any noise.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
649 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Very good hotel with freindly staff and nice large rooms, easy to find. But if on holliday you need a car or do have to travel in taxi or bus into the fantastic town center Lucca. The rooms and hotel is modern and very clean. Restaurants does have very nice food and wine at very good prices and a staff which does help you in a very proff and informativ way. Breakfirst very good , but they sill have to learn to cook a good scrambel egg !! A hotel which is recomendabel for holiday and business and very good value for money, will for sure stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 52 in Lucca
1,061 reviews
1.6 km away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 52 in Lucca
888 reviews
2.8 km away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 52 in Lucca
417 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 52 in Lucca
448 reviews
5.6 km away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 52 in Lucca
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi

Property: Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
Address: Via Romana 1247, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#11 Family Hotel in Lucca
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price range (per night): $130 - $213
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located near the historic center, offers tasteful decor, meeting facilities, restaurant & bar; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lucca
Lucca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing