We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gran Duca
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Citta(Livorno)
USD 109*
USD 96*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 96*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 254*
USD 158*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Touring(Livorno)
USD 103*
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Al Teatro(Livorno)
USD 122*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 93*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 257*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boston Hotel(Livorno)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Ariston(Livorno)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
44
123
154
68
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
123
154
68
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggscity taxquattro morismall roombusy roaddecent hotelrecommend this hotelfree wifiyogurttrain stationgranducastatueharbourskylightlucapillows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The room we had was a bit noisy but not impossibly so. The hotel overlooks the port and had we been taking a car onto the ferry to Bastia we would have been pleased with the location. But we were on foot and with luggage so we had to take a taxi costing about 12 euros.

The port itself is huge and badly signed. The taxi dropped us off at the ticket office but we found ourselves having to walk for about twenty minutes until we finally found our boat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

we needed 1 night in Livorno before catching an 8:15am ferry to Corsica. The Hotel Gran Duca is right on the water front and served the purpose well.

The rate we received by booking the day before was excellent and the hotel was clean, well equipped and the staff very welcoming. Our room overlooked a busy road along the water front and had electric shutters to control the noise level into the room.

free car parking was provided - you get a permit upon check in and then it's a bit of a game to secure a park out front. Be patient and one will free up. Otherwise, 12 Euro gets you secure parking undercover.

The hotel has a nice looking restaurant, however, across the road we found some excellent restaurants overlooking a marina.

if i was staying in the city of Livorno again and needed to be near ferry departures, I'd stay at the Hotel Gran Duca

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeebooTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed at Gran Duca for one night. The room was comfortable and the view of the harbor was wonderful. Our room was hot when we checked in. We had trouble adjusting the thermostat on the air conditioner. The front desk sent someone up to adjust it right away. The restaurant of the same name is sensational! The buffet breakfast was also very good. Lots of different choices and excellent coffee.We reserved a parking space which we highly recommend as there is not much street parking. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The Gran Duca is well situated for those who want to take a ferry to the island of Capraia. For Corsica and Sardinia it is not the best situated. It is very noisy, the rooms are nothing special - there are some renovated rooms, our room is a "De Luxe" room for 180 Euros - old, loud, hot... and FAR too expensive!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zh-frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

I chose this hotel just because it's very close to the port. I was very happy with the location considering the fact we needed to take ferry at 8 a.m. Hotel is average, it was fine for us just for 1 night. The major thing i didn't like was service.
Some ferries leave at 8 a.m and you have to check in 1 hour in advance at the port, so it would be nice if they provide some early breakfast (at least coffee), especially considering the fact that most guests who stay there are people who take ferry. When we asked the guy if there's any early breakfast provided - he was kind of shocked by our question. He was very indifferent, cold and very unfriendly. I was shocked. Common, you can say, no, but not like he said.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julia-lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews