We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy!”
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gran Duca
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Very very noisy hotel! Some of the staff not friendly. Very smelly room (sewage pipes from the toilet). WIFI 10 euros per day? Will certainly not book here again.

Their restaurant is good though. I asked for the fitness room but it was not open.

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BA_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    93
    128
    54
    20
See reviews for
40
97
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The room we had was a bit noisy but not impossibly so. The hotel overlooks the port and had we been taking a car onto the ferry to Bastia we would have been pleased with the location. But we were on foot and with luggage so we had to take a taxi costing about 12 euros.

The port itself is huge and badly signed. The taxi dropped us off at the ticket office but we found ourselves having to walk for about twenty minutes until we finally found our boat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

we needed 1 night in Livorno before catching an 8:15am ferry to Corsica. The Hotel Gran Duca is right on the water front and served the purpose well.

The rate we received by booking the day before was excellent and the hotel was clean, well equipped and the staff very welcoming. Our room overlooked a busy road along the water front and had electric shutters to control the noise level into the room.

free car parking was provided - you get a permit upon check in and then it's a bit of a game to secure a park out front. Be patient and one will free up. Otherwise, 12 Euro gets you secure parking undercover.

The hotel has a nice looking restaurant, however, across the road we found some excellent restaurants overlooking a marina.

if i was staying in the city of Livorno again and needed to be near ferry departures, I'd stay at the Hotel Gran Duca

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeebooTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed at Gran Duca for one night. The room was comfortable and the view of the harbor was wonderful. Our room was hot when we checked in. We had trouble adjusting the thermostat on the air conditioner. The front desk sent someone up to adjust it right away. The restaurant of the same name is sensational! The buffet breakfast was also very good. Lots of different choices and excellent coffee.We reserved a parking space which we highly recommend as there is not much street parking. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The Gran Duca is well situated for those who want to take a ferry to the island of Capraia. For Corsica and Sardinia it is not the best situated. It is very noisy, the rooms are nothing special - there are some renovated rooms, our room is a "De Luxe" room for 180 Euros - old, loud, hot... and FAR too expensive!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zh-frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Livorno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livorno hotels
1.8 km away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
7.4 km away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#4 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#7 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Property: Hotel Gran Duca
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli 16-18, 57123, Livorno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price range (per night): $101 - $168
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing