We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Sightseeing Livorno
Save
Review Highlights
Layback

We saw this beautiful little city in April 2018 and what a pleasant surprise it was. It reminds you... read more

Reviewed 14 June 2018
Anna S
via mobile
The perfect way to get the measure of Livorno

City sightseeing busses are the best way to see the town for the first time. Along the canals... read more

Reviewed 31 August 2017
Andrew D
,
Alicante, Spain
via mobile
Read all 85 reviews
  
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
45
20
9
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
20
9
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front cruise liner the bus tourist office tour guide leaning tower cathedral port waterway nuova boats piazza stops
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

I think this might only run when cruise ships are in town. You need to buy ticket at the tourist office and they don’t take credit cards. There is a cash machine near the bus stop. The bus was single decker and went round the canal area, along the sea front passing the naval academy and the best bit was stopping near the funicular to go up to the monastery (check the monastery opening times). Goes back through the town and near two museums. The stops weren’t very well announced. Commentary was good.

1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Our ship’s shuttle dropped us at Piazza del Municipio, two blocks away from the city’s cathedral. It was Easter Sunday morning and the area was fairly quiet, save for passengers from the ships in port, who were sightseeing independently. Most first time visitors of course ignore the town of Livorno, and head straight to Florence and Pisa, so there wasn't a great number of foreigners in town.

Having explored the square, we headed south east along Via del Giglio. Hearing the bells peeling at Chiesa della Madonna, we went inside a few minutes before the service started.

Continuing along Via del Giglio, we soon reached Chiesa dei Greci Uniti, so perhaps this thoroughfare ought to be called Church Street!

Religious needs satiated for the time being, we headed for, what is referred to, Venezia Nuova. Livorno has a modest canal network and Via del Giglio ends at one of these. The canal opens up the cityscape and adds blue to the colour palate of the scene, with grand buildings flanking the waterway. Perhaps surprisingly, small boats lined both sides of the canal, which sits quite deep in relation to the surrounding land. Thus, whilst there is a towpath, the high, sheer walls would render it of little use for a sightseeing tour of Livorno.

Turning right and right again into Via Cairoli, we arrived at the Cathedral where a service was still in progress. Going in, we stood at the back and listened to the Mass in progress, and joined in some of the hymns which are universal for Easter both for the Catholic and the Anglican church.

We left half an hour later and returned to the shuttle pick up point to return to the ship.

Visitors arriving on the day we did in Livorno would not get the same atmosphere as one would on any other day of the year, when the town is bustling both with traffic and pedestrians. However it was nice for once to spend a quiet day in what is a lovely town, and is often overlooked in favour of Florence and Pisa.

2  Thank masterecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Modern shops, good cafe culture and beautiful Italian goods we visited from a cruise liner and the port is in easy walking distance with no hills of note to worry the traveller.
a lovely sea front mixed with modern boutiques and café and restaurants. Good for people watching, shopping and an alternative to dashing off to Pisa.

1  Thank past0r29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Ideal. Lots of inexpensive shops. Bags 28 euros. Shoes 15 euros. Nike and Adidas trainers 100 euros. Skirts, tops 15-25 euros. Unknown shops plus the usual H&M, Zara. We have a nine year old too. Two toy shops. The usual hight street prices of the Entertainer toy shop. My teenage daughter liked the market stalls in Pisa, selling capes and scarves at 15 euros and the inexpensive boutiques selling nice rings at 35 euros. Not much to do in Pisa once you hAve done the tourist attractions thats it. Food a bit more expensive than Livorno. Food prices in Livorno slightly cheaper than uk. Livorno is a port it has no beach. I would highly recommend a winter trip. You cannot sunbathe here, no where to lie down. Its quiet so really easy to sight see. You wont feel ill, no big crowds, no heat stroke!. Its so sunny compared to the uk. The sun is so much brighter and higher in the sky. Not that cold. Take your sunglasses!

Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Livorno is a major port town. Very industrial. We had not done alot of research so when we drove into the city past the huge oil refinery and docks...we quickly realised it was not what we recommend for a family holiday...we left pretty quickly ..enough said.

Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews