We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Sightseeing Livorno
Save
Review Highlights
Layback

We saw this beautiful little city in April 2018 and what a pleasant surprise it was. It reminds you... read more

Reviewed 14 June 2018
Anna S
via mobile
The perfect way to get the measure of Livorno

City sightseeing busses are the best way to see the town for the first time. Along the canals... read more

Reviewed 31 August 2017
Andrew D
,
Alicante, Spain
via mobile
Read all 85 reviews
  
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
45
20
9
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
20
9
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front cruise liner the bus tourist office tour guide leaning tower cathedral port waterway nuova boats piazza stops
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Livorno is a major port town. Very industrial. We had not done alot of research so when we drove into the city past the huge oil refinery and docks...we quickly realised it was not what we recommend for a family holiday...we left pretty quickly ..enough said.

Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

On the western coast of Italy with population approx 160,000 what a very pleasant city to arrive on a cruise ship early in the morning and seeing the sunrise and looking over the city was awesome. Arrived on a Sunday and took a bus into Livorno town central (to await another bus to Pisa - tuscanybus.com ((city sight seeing Livorno)) - 20 Euro round trip p/p). Was all very quiet and strolled around the central township, so much history here and so clean and tidy.

1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We came to Livorno on a cruise and as we have already been to Florence and Pisa decided to take this bus tour. It goes all around the city, past the canals [highly over rated - not at all like Venice as is suggested],along the sea front and ends at the funicular to visit the monastery[50c ticket included]. As the bus only runs every hour we had little time at the monastery unless we wanted to stay much longer and catch a later bus.
Overall a pleasant way to see Livorno if you haven't much time.

4  Thank jennywrenSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

The route includes a visit to the Sanctuary of Montero, aka the Shrine of our Lady of Grace. Not to be missed! The final approach to the basilica is by funicular railway, a delight in itself. There is a gallery in the basilica iilustrating various accidents which have befallen the unwary, eg being run over by a bus, kicked in the cloisters by a horse. Very amusing in a bizarre way, the art is primitive and verging on childlike and can be somewhat ghoulish. I have never seen anything like it. If you visit Livorno, go and see!

1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We were on a ship stop over and did the train trip to Pisa, good train ride, but Pisa was hot and sticky with lots of people doing selfies all over the place so we went back to Livorno. Great little town. But if you want to find stuff, you need to walk round to old part. The Boat trip round the old Fort and the towns canals is a must (about an 1 hr) check it out at the Tourist Office, it goes out into the old and the new harbour. We had a very good guide who could speak several languages. This is a MUST DO NOW town as it is amazing that it has not been overrun by ship board tourists. (most just seem to do the ship trips) Note of warning! The boat has no shade only little umbrellas so take your own if you can.

7  Thank Stuart220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews