We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to Stay in Florence”
Review of Accademia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Accademia House
Ranked #278 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Florence”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Accademia House was a find. Great location, excellent host, and wonderful rooms. This is a place to stay if you are not comfortable in big hotels. Great personalized service, good rooms, and on a quiet street that is so close to everything.

Marco Viti is big bonus. He was friendly, helpful and knowledgable. It was like staying with a family friend in Florence.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldMillSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    53
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
126
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

First off - Marco was a great host, he gave us a detailed map when we arrived and marked down places and restaurants that were a must see during our visit to Florence. The place was clean, and we felt we were in a safe neighbourhood.
We stayed in the Studio on the top floor which was apparently a newer addition to the rental choices. The Studio had a kitchenette, which Marco asked us not to use ( however, we did use the fridge) I think he was trying to cut down on the cleaning that would be required if we used the kitchen, but our price for the studio was more expensive than the other units - and it was mainly because it did include the option of a kitchen!
The whole unit was very, very basic and plain. I say this because the photos on the site are for his other units which look more colorful and more decorated.
There were some photos that hadn't been hung up on the wall, they were just leaning against the wall and the bedroom was very sparse.
The bathroom was larger than some of the place we stayed at in Italy, but just had the shower. The shower unit was so small that turning around in it was a pain.
The wireless internet had a hard time reaching the 2nd floor and we only could pick up the internet when we were leaning up against the wall, right by the entrance. Not the most convenient location.
We stayed here for our honeymoon and found it less than what was advertised on their website. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PureLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in November 2011. It's a low tourist season and maybe that's why we enjoyed our stay. We loved it thanks to the host, Marco, who is friendly, helpful, kind and fun to talk to. The hotel rooms are located in a 16th-century building, which adds charm and beauty to the overall experience. The room and bathroom were clean. The decor is simple yet elegant and reflects an ecclectic style of the host, who restored, repaired and re-decorated this place himself. It's quiet and cozy, located right near all main attractions in Florence. You get breakfast at a cafe accross from the hotel, which is a nice place where everybody knows each other. Coffee and pastries are incredibly tasty. Everything was great about our stay because we felt welcomed at the hotel. If we had any questions, inquiries or needs, we would go to the host, who gave us excellent suggestions and tips. Thank you, Marco! We are coming back and we will make sure that our friends will stay at your place.

Room Tip: Get in touch with the host Marco and tell him what you want. He is honest and will suggest you the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anton_eya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and i stayed 3 nights at Accademia house in October 2011. It is wonderfully located, just a few blocks from the main sights, grocery store a block and a half away, ditto for a great wine shop. The studio was clean and had all the necessities. Marco the owner/host is as good as it gets. Completely knowledgeable about the city sights, how to book tickets if you need to, what walking routes to take, and excellent advice on restaurants. A first rate experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

our stay here was great. we stayed in the studios and it was very nice. marco is very helpful and informative when it comes to figuring out what to do in florence. the studios were shuper big and the bathroom was nice and clean. i would highly recommend the accademia house to anyone visiting florence. i will stay here again on my next trip! thanks so much marco!

Room Tip: studios are like apartments. great size. with a living room and kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Accademia
Hotel Accademia
#232 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Sampaoli
Hotel Sampaoli
#313 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Sangallo
Residenza Sangallo
#355 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia House

Property: Accademia House
Address: Via San Gallo 61, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): $116 - $173
Hotel Class:4 star — Accademia House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Accademia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing