We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, great location, good price, helpful owner”
Review of Accademia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Accademia House
Ranked #288 of 643 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place, great location, good price, helpful owner”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

our stay here was great. we stayed in the studios and it was very nice. marco is very helpful and informative when it comes to figuring out what to do in florence. the studios were shuper big and the bathroom was nice and clean. i would highly recommend the accademia house to anyone visiting florence. i will stay here again on my next trip! thanks so much marco!

Room Tip: studios are like apartments. great size. with a living room and kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    53
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
126
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan, BC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here in May 2011 for three nights and definitely wish we'd had more time to enjoy Florence and the accommodations at Accademia House. Marco was a great host and his recommendations for dinner were perfect (the last of which was Tito, just up the road, which turned out to be one of our best restaurant experiences during our month in Italy). We stayed in the Modern Room which was absolutely perfect, although the view from the balcony isn't really much to look at... the ability to open the door to the balcony was still nice though. If and when we get back to Florence, we'll certainly look to Accademia House for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cup0Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Accademia House for 4 nights in Sept. 2011 and were thoroughly happy with our stay. The room was spacious and clean - although basic, it had all the essentials covered plus some bonuses (small fridge & great wifi access). The A/C worked well and the shower had good water pressure with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was available across the street in a cafe (coffee with a choice of 2 pastries or sandwich), making for a quick, easy start in the morning. The location is great - easy to walk to almost all of the major sites, with numerous restaurants and the market close by, yet a bit off the tourist track, so much quieter. As all the other reviewers have mentioned, what really differentiates this B&B is Marco. He is so friendly and welcoming - it is like you have an instant friend in Florence! He provided us with a map of Florence and highlighted all the major attractions, interesting areas, and great restaurant recommendations (make sure you try them). He seems genuinely interested in making sure your Florence experience is the best it can be. Would highly recommend - great value for the money!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of May 2011 and I wish I had stayed 10x as long! Every room is beautiful, with gorgeous vaulted ceilings. It is very romantic staying in this authentic old italian building, although I went with my sister, haha! The decor was really gorgeous and the rooms were BIG. Everything was very clean and quiet. Location is EXCELLENT, and you can walk to all the major sites. The duomo is 4 minutes walk away (depending on how fast you walk, haha)

But the best part about this place, is Marco!! He is such a character...really genuinely friendly, and so helpful! He is like a hotel and tourguide in one! He will tell you all the best restaurants to go to and help you plan out what sites to see, etc. He takes a genuine interest in your trip and offers great tips that will help you save money and have a great time. Since we were 2 women travelling alone, it was really nice to know that Marco was looking out for us. Since we were continuing along to other cities in Italy, he gave us lots of travel tips about those other cities as well, and made sure were were well informed of the safest places to go in some of the bigger cities. Plus, he is a real laugh and always in a funny cheerful mood!

I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room that's cozy and has less brightness, pick one at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Accademia House 4 yrs ago and liked it so much we decided to return with our kids (ages 15, 13, 10). The rooms are very spacious, especially for the 3 kids. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and quiet and AC is good. Location is great, close to the market, in a safe and quiet area. Marco is a great host. He speaks fluent English and is very helpful with directions, bookings and recommendations. He is very relaxed and was great with our kids. It felt like we were visiting an old friend. For breakfast, Marco gives you vouchers for the cafe across the street. A basic breakfast - coffee/tea, croissants or sandwich. Overall great value - I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardycarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Accademia
Hotel Accademia
#225 of 411 in Florence
293 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 411 in Florence
1,131 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Glance Hotel In Florence
Glance Hotel In Florence
#20 of 411 in Florence
178 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 411 in Florence
1,253 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#7 of 411 in Florence
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia House

Property: Accademia House
Address: Via San Gallo 61, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): $95 - $117
Hotel Class:4 star — Accademia House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Accademia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing