We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
573
265
36
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
265
36
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator rooms are small great location old building croissants smiley face walking distance two nights hotel location top floor gave us a map your luggage a wonderful stay air conditioning gelato single room central florence
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

This was an amazing experience for our first time in Florence. From the minute we walked in, Mario was professional and kind. He gave us a warm welcome, gave us our room key, and immediately gave us detailed instructions regarding what attractions to see and when to see them. He was very helpful. Simone also worked at the front desk after Mario and was also helpful.

Hotel Santa Croce is a quaint, family owned (Mario and his brother). It has a very old fashioned feel. It is an older building without an elevator. Even though we were on the top floor, we did not find this to be an inconvenience as we are a younger couple. Be warned, if you do not prefer the extra work, request a room on one of the lower floors. If you are on one of the lower floors, Mario will happily assist with carrying your bags up to your room.

The actual room was pretty basic. I don't think there was a refrigerator in the room. There were cold beverages on sale in the lobby, however. Again, our room (Double or Twin Room) was on the top floor. There was no bidet in the bathroom which was different from the other hotels in Italy we had just stayed in. It wasn't a problem for us, but just wanted to inform others who may be used to seeing one in the bathroom.

The location of Hotel Santa Croce was more in the southern part of the city which was ideal for seeing site in that area such as Piazzale Michelangelo and the Uffizi Gallery. The Piazzale Michelangelo was close to the hotel and we got there just in time to catch an amazing sunset over Florence. A must see as you get a great view of the entire city.

All in all, Hotel Santa Croce was a very refreshing experience. I very much value customer service above all and appreciate Mario and his staff and the extra effort they made to make our stay so pleasant. It was a great hotel for the amount of money we spent. If you are looking for something more spacious and modern, Hotel Santa Croce may not work for you. If you love amazing service at a great price, Santa Croce is a good pick.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DrSuav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Dr Suav,
we are really happy that you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us, and we are honored to have become you home away from home.

We can't wait to host you again as soon as possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, we send you all our kind regards.

Staff
Hotel Santa Croce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

The staff at the Santa Croce Hotel were amazing. My mother and I stayed in Florence for nine days and by the end of our trip, we felt very at home and were treated like family by the staff. While the rooms were older (the building itself is connected to the building where Michelangelo was born), the service and genuine kindness of each staff member made this our favorite stay in our month long trip. We'll be back to Florence and will absolutely be staying here again!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Kara,
thank you very much for your excellent review that you shared about your stay in our Hotel.

We are very happy that you had a great time here and you felt at home and like in your family, it's a pleasure for us.

We hope that you will return as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We were very well looked after by the staff at Hotel Santa Croche. Hotel is well located to easily access all the main tourist sites.
The hotel were very helpful when I left something behind and arranged to send to a forwarding address. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank qman909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for apprecciating our service during your stay at Hotel Santa Croce, we are so happy you had a very great time here.

We hope you'll be back asap.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

I have been to Florence a dozen times and have always stayed in the same hotel. Not this time, we decided to stay here! What a Gem, located right by Santa Croce church it was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful-especially Gabriel. The included breakfast is good and simple. The only negative I could come up with the size of the shower - not made for big guys. Great value overall.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cotton_from_HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear Cotton,
thank you for sharing your excellent experience here, we are glad you enjoyed everything.

Regarding the size of the showers, there are some bigger than other but all of them have a shower plate with standard measures.

We hope that you will return soon.

Best wishes,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

I was surprised this was a "2*". It was great.

On reception had a lovely greeting and lots of helpful tips about the attractions in Florence. There were also some good recommendations for local restaurants and the staff willingly made bookings on our behalf when requested. My husband had stayed here 3 years ago and described a dish he really enjoyed - they knew the restaurant and when it was open. My husband was so pleased! One evening we were personally shown to the restaurant so we didn't get lost.

The room was small but not in any way a problem. You're in Florence - you are there to go and see the city aren't you?! It was perfectly comfortable and very clean. The shower ran hot water with good pressure. The room was made to perfection in the morning, PJs folded, our mess tidied up. Was really appreciated.

The breakfast was basic but sufficient. Toast, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, tea and coffee.

The hotel was 2 mins from Santa Croce Church - I would recommend. It was a few minutes from Il Duomo etc. Maybe a 10 minute walk to Ponte Vecchio and the south of the river.

Honestly, no hesitations in recommending this place for the price and location, really pleased. As I say it was my Husband's second time there, and we will definitely book again if we go back to Florence.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. Was quiet and pleasant.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DondonsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear Dondon,
thank you for choosing again our Hotel for your stay in Florence and for the wonderful review you wrote.

We are delighted that you enjoyed every detail of our hotel and for appreciating our advices to visit and eat in Florence.

Thank you so much for the excellent score, we hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews