We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An inexpensive place to stay, clean and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soggiorno Alessandra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soggiorno Alessandra
Ranked #311 of 637 Florence B&B and Inns
PDX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“An inexpensive place to stay, clean and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed in Florence and used it as a base to go to Lucca and to Sienna also. We stayed for 5 nights and very glad we stayed on that side of town, that side of river because of all the great restaurants hidden in the narrow streets there away from the big plazas.

The room was clean but basic with a horrible fluorescent main light, so we kept that off and used the table lamps and side lamps that gave the room and much more inviting warm glow. Replace the cold coloured florescent lamps Alessandra!

For the price we were very happy with this.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    30
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
37
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in early September and it was great.The Hilton or the Casbah it is not,but very clean,close to main sights and Alessandra who was celebrating her 10th wedding anniversary was more than helpful.Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 9 nights while visiting Florence for a friend's wedding. I would have no problem recommending this B&B while touring the Florence. It is an ideal base and close to some wonderful sites-only two bridges away from the Ponte Vecchio. Accommodation was comfortable and cleaned everyday.A small breakfast was also available in our room. Staff were friendly, we had our own key&there was no curfew. Accommodation is what you expect for the price you pay. I would go back here if I were to visit Florence again.

Room Tip: wireless is available on code request
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omalleypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

If you're looking for the cheapest place to stay comfortably in Florence, with a private bathroom, this is it. The location is decent, with convenient access to the bars and restaurants of Oltrarno, but is a bit of a hike from the main sites. However, for those wanting to stay away from the overly-touristy center, this is a good choice. Beware of an alarmingly early checkout time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

My wife and I stayed here for several nights in May 2009. Our room was clean and we had a private bathroom across the hall from our room. The room had a window but it looked into a storage / utility room that had a skylight and sinks / mops / brooms. Also, the room had a noticeable mold / mildew odor. It was not very pleasant.

The bathroom did not have a shower in it when it was originally built, but a drain and shower head were added at some later point as a remodel. This caused two problems: 1) while there is a shower curtain, the water still runs all over the bathroom floor because the drain is level with the rest of the floor, and 2) there was not a vent or other means of air circulation in the bathroom which caused it to smell of mold / mildew.

We found the self-service breakfasts in the room to be enough to get us started, and later in the morning we would grab a cappuccino and pastry at a cafe.

The location was okay, but if you're going to spend a lot of time north of the Arno closer to the Accademia or Duomo, then you may want to find lodging that is closer to those attractions. If you think you'll spend most of your time in Oltrarno, then this may be just fine for your needs.

The cons I've mentioned were not horrible, but they were enough to make us wish we had gone somewhere else. Perhaps more experienced travelers in Italy will find these issues to be nothing for them. Alessandra was courteous, but next time in Firenze I'll spend a little bit more money to get a better lodging experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wickersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#113 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
La Torre del Cestello
La Torre del Cestello
#98 of 637 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Franz House
Franz House
#285 of 637 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Residenza D'Epoca Al Numero 8
Residenza D'Epoca Al Numero 8
#148 of 637 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Cestelli
Hotel Cestelli
#217 of 637 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Duomo
B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze
B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze
#254 of 637 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Alessandra

Property: Soggiorno Alessandra
Address: Borgo San Frediano 6, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 637 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): $71 - $176
Hotel Class:2 star — Soggiorno Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is located on the first floor in historic palace of 15th century in the center of Florence, 10 minutes walk from the Central Train Station of Santa Maria Novella and the Duomo and 5 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio (the Old Bridge), Uffizi Gallery, Pitti Palace and Boboli Garden... From here you can visit all the city just walking around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Booking.com so you can book your Soggiorno Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing