We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay again”
Review of Relais Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Florence
Ranked #407 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed 22 November 2009

The rooms were suitable for backpackers not for families. We were given room away from the actual B&B, it wasn't airy, furniture was very old, the bathroom was squashy. Didn't see the owner during the stay. Breakfast minimal. Felt like a dungeon.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shomoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    18
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed in three cities in Italy, and this has been our best experience! The landlady, Marcella and her husband, Pietro were always smiling, always willing to help. The room was nice, clean and spacious. The bathroom was a little small though. The location is very good, just beside the main train station. There are very nice food joints nearby, just ask Marcella and she'll give you all the info you need.
We checked out on our last day in the morning and took a trip to Pisa. They were very happy to keep our luggage for the whole day! We came back in the evening and collected our luggage.
Overall, a 10 out of 10 for 70 euro a night! We loved our stay there!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

I've stayed in Relays Florence during June. Overall the stay was okay but there were some problems that overshadowed the stay.
The good things first:
The owner was nice and helped us plan the tour in flourence and outside it. The location of the hotel was satisfying, we could visit the big attractions by foot.
The not so good things are:
We've received a room that is exactly above a bus station, so it as very loud when we opened the window. The owner didn't want us to use air conditioner, unless we pay him extra.
The breakfast included two brioches that the owner put in our room a day before and coffee from a machine in the living room. I wouldn't call it a real breakfast.
I hope my comment would help you decide properly to choose or not to choose staying in Relais Florence.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greenrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Do not stay here. I made a reservation online months in advance. When we arrived, the hotel was overbooked. They put us in an apartment down the street and around the corner in a dark alley. It has obviously been broken into in the past, the door was shredded around the lock. Inside, the place was filthy. There were rat feces in the bathroom, small drops of fresh blood on the sheets and the toilet and shower were disgusting and unclean. We stayed one night and found another hotel the next. I was charged for my entire 4 night reservation even though I did not stay there. The manager was totally unreasonable. We found a great place down the street, the Hotel Elite.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — It was uninhabitable
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pogoeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 September 2005

i have just stayed all over italy and this b&b was definately the best. I still cant believe the value for money. Leonardo the host was just wonderful, and as a single female traveler it was so nice to come back to a safe clean room and a friendly face. Leo was more than helpful when it came to giving me directions or sugestion of thing to do. I would definately stay here again when im in florence next and would recomend this place to anyone staying in Florence. the location was unbeatable.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Luce Florence
Relais Luce Florence
#34 of 305 in Florence
25 reviews
San Lorenzo
Duomo View B&B
Duomo View B&B
#414 of 675 in Florence
213 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Faceroom Bed and Breakfast
Faceroom Bed and Breakfast
#370 of 675 in Florence
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
I Sleep B&B
I Sleep B&B
#155 of 675 in Florence
60 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Scala Garden B&B
Scala Garden B&B
#114 of 305 in Florence
4 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Piazza del Carmine
Piazza del Carmine
#296 of 675 in Florence
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Florence

Property: Relais Florence
Address: Via della Scala 48, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): $99 - $217
Hotel Class:2 star — Relais Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Florence Hotel Florence
Relais Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing