We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull again”
Review of Hotel Burchianti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Burchianti
Ranked #168 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2011

we stayed for 7 nights last week (2 nights last nov). the hotel is a gem. the entire staff, mario, la signora and the others are a pleasure and go out of their way to please you. great location and frescos on the ceilings.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MD O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

We just returned from 3 weeks in Italy, with the Burchianti our first stop upon arrival in Florence. I always seek out small boutique hotels and this one is a perfect example of a non-chain place to stay. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable, and Mario the concierge is a true gift to travelers. He recommended places to eat and museum exhibits to see, gave us a map and helped orient us to the neighborhood, and made calls and reservations for us. We explained that we were only staying two nights, then going away for a week, and then returning to Florence but staying in an apartment for a week--and Mario offered to help us with reservations and information upon our return to Florence, even though we would not be staying at the hotel again.

The hotel offers a nice breakfast with great coffee, and the building itself is really wonderful if you like old palatial spaces. Our room was the studio apartment on the third floor. It had great views of the city, a small kitchen, and was probably much larger than the other rooms. The trade offs were:
1. No frescoes on the ceiling, which I would have liked
2. Elevator service did not go to the floor our room was on--it was sort of like a lovely, nicely renovated garret. This was important mostly for our arrival and departure, but we needed to lug our baggage up a narrow flight of stairs to our room.
3. Wifi service seemed to be better downstairs than in our room, where we ideally would have liked to access it.
4. There was not much space for storing our belongings....no closet, just, if memory serves me well, one dresser and a desk.
I don't think that any of these were deal breakers. However, on my next trip to Florence, I will be sure to ask for a downstairs room so that I can see what that experience is like as well.

Room Tip: When booking, if you don't want the studio apartment, be sure to mention that you want a room ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed in a single room in this hotel. Be aware that you will not have a room that has a fresco if you stay in a single room. The photos of the rooms that are provided by the hotel do not depict their single rooms.

When I arrived I was initially given an unacceptable room. These were the problems:

The room had no proper window. It is true that there are glass panels, covered by wooden shutters, in the door to the room. What I mean is that there are windows, of a sort, literally in the middle of the room's front door. These “windows” look out into the hotel's hallway, as opposed to the outside of the building like a real window. So, if you open the wooden shutters to reveal these “windows”, you will not have any privacy. Opening the shutters will mean that anyone in the hallway will be able to see your entire room and whatever you are doing. There really isn't any natural light. There is no natural light because there are no real windows, and by “real windows” I mean windows that open to the outdoors.

This room was a strange narrow rectangular shape with single beds against the wall. It really did look like they'd actually converted a broom closet into a room. No windows, narrow rectangular shape, I really wouldn't be surprised if this room actually used to be a closet or store room of some kind. In the bathroom they had a very strange hairdryer. Unlike every other wall hair dryer that I've ever seen, this one had a nozzle like a vacuum cleaner.

In my opinion, it is totally unacceptable to expect someone to pay to stay in that room and the owners/manager should know better. It was terrible and the room should not be used to house guests.

After I saw this room, I asked to be changed to a room with a window. The man who I asked was not the manager (a middle aged man). Rather, I asked a much younger man who I saw working in the hotel a few times during my stay. This young man was so lovely, genuine and very helpful. He moved me to a better room (room no.7) and this room had a window that opened out to the courtyard. This new room had pros and cons:

Pros: The internet connection worked and the connection speed was good enough. Also, the double bed was very comfortable and I slept well. The water pressure in the shower was fine and the wall hairdryer had a normal nozzle, unlike the one in the room that I was initially given.

Cons: The room really needs a fresh coat of paint. The walls are grotty with many scuff marks. Also, there were no free power points in the room. In order to use my laptop, I had to unplug the fridge. The power point in the bathroom is a low voltage outlet for electric razors, so it is not an option. For me, the lack of free power points was a problem. The safe in the room didn't work. Another problem was the minibar. When I arrived it was not fully stocked. It only had a bottle of water and two cans of soft drink. I drank the bottle of water but no new bottles were put inside. The mini bar wasn't restocked at all during my stay. So, if you want a cold bottle of water, make sure that you buy some yourself and put them in the fridge.

As for the hotel in general, the foyer is nice, with a high roof. The woman who makes coffee at breakfast is really nice, as is the young man who moved me to the second room.

It is hard for me to rate this hotel as “poor” since some of the people working there seemed very kind. The reason why I'm doing this is because it simply wasn't good value for money and while the second room was much better than the first, it still had problems. It wouldn't take much effort to improve the hotel so that solo/business travellers could have a very good experience, comparable to the experiences that are discussed in the favourable reviews on this site.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the room with no window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Italy_Autumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We were a bit puzzled when searching for the hotel to find a name plate (among others) and a door bell to request for the opening of a huge gate in a residential building. We were expecting a reception hall on the ground floor ! Like all hotels. Second surprise when we were given a tiny room without any window (I did request for a quiet room !) To move to the bathroom I had to walk sideways as the bed took almost the full width of the room ! Mario, the Manager, promised to sift us to another room the next day. Which he did ! And the room was to our expectation as we saw on the internet. Room with 18th century frescos ! And clean. Mario is a marvel, extremely helpful and always smiling inspite of the fact that he is on duty from 7h45 to 19h00 everyday Monday to Sunday. We were tipped on the best way to visit the surroundings ( Bus for Lucca; train for Pisa; Bus for Sienne) He even booked our musuems before our arrival so as to avoid the 4 hours queue ! Any problem ? Super Mario is there ! We were treated not like a room number but more as visiting friends. Breakfast, however, at 8h00 is a bit too late. And some music (medieval so as to go with the building which is historical and dates back to the medieval era) in the background during breakfast would have been a plus.

We went around for dinner each night and have been trying several before we discovered one marvellous trattoria "Du Guido" nearby on a side road (Via Faenza). Always full as compared to the others.

The hotel is walking distance to all the main attractions of Firenze. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Specifically request for the room with frescos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clearsea51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife and I spent two nights in Florence for our honeymoon. We had originally booked a room at the Hotel Centrale. Upon arriving we were told that the hotel was having problems and that they booked us room at the Hotel Burchianti. Skepticism and fear quickly turned into delight once we met Mario the hotel manager. Great staff, great location, and the room we stayed in had beautiful murals painted on the walls and ceiling. We felt like we had set up camp in the Sistine Chapel. Breakfast was average, but that was really the only thing about the hotel that was not above and beyond. Also, the cleanest hotel we stayed in during our two week trip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npapehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#60 of 411 in Florence
903 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Guicciardini
Palazzo Guicciardini
#162 of 411 in Florence
179 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#117 of 411 in Florence
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,869 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#198 of 411 in Florence
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burchianti

Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $135 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing