We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, noisy”
Review of Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elite
Ranked #259 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic, noisy”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel was easy to find and well located near the train station. After walking up the steps to the 1st floor we were greeted by the most lovely lady, Nadia, who checked us in and helped us by marking all the best sights on a map. She really was wonderful and it makes me feel somewhat guilty for what I'm about to write about the hotel.

The room was basic, but acceptable. It's dated, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing if you're into the whole 'rustic' experience. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. For a start the fan was very noisy. The shower is an 'open-plan' affair with just a curtain separating it from the toilet and basin. This really didn't appeal to us.

My main issue with this hotel is that it is above a bar which meant a lot of noise late at night. The doors\shutters did help somewhat but it still affected our ability to sleep with all the drunks outside. We stayed on a friday night, so perhaps it is not so noisy during the week.

Having said this, it was a cheap hotel and has some merit. A backpacker would consider it luxurious, despite the noise. If viewed as a B&B option, for a heavy sleeper then I could recommend it. Perhaps the rooms at the rear of the property are quieter.

Breakfast is served in a different hotel, but we chose not to walk over to see what it was like.

Room Tip: Away from the main street would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheQuokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    93
    59
    28
    13
See reviews for
48
110
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel is fantastically located and is very clean. The staff are super helpful, and I felt very safe behind multiple gates and doors. The bathroom is a weird shape, so that you could literally sit on the toilet or the sink and shower. It is a walk up, but since the building is over 300 years old this is to be expected. The breakfast at the sister hotel is close and a good value. Unlimited coffee drinks and typical European breakfast for €5. I would highly recommend this hotel to any budget traveler!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoodlyPoodly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I left my mobile phone in the hotel but they send the SIM card for me. And they help me keep my phone. So good service!! so nice person! And the bathroom is really good.i stayed in this hotel for two nights. And also the location. It is near the train station. so it is convenient for us . And another part i want to mentioned is the lady's English, its pretty good comparing with other hotel charger in Italy.

n

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

With Hotel Elite what you see is what you get. This hostel is fantastically located, and as other reviewers have noted - offers rooms at amazingly cheap prices compared to other lodgings in Florence. It's only a few minutes' walk to the main train station, and you can be down in the main square at the Uffizi in 10-15 minutes on foot (and it's a lovely walk).

The only staff member we dealt with was the lovely Nadia, who was effervescent and incredibly helpful with a map, directions and frank advice on visiting various attractions.

We booked a private room with ensuite, which was functional, clean and basic but had everything we needed. The hostel is also upstairs within a locked apartment building so feels secure (although note you will have to lug your luggage up that first flight of stairs). The free wireless internet was slowish (as would be expected given that it's free) but once again was all we really needed.

Room Tip: Our room had a window looking down into the small central courtyard space which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dita511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel is located near Santa Maria Novella train station and is convenient to the local piazza. The hotel does not have a lift, but the host helped us with our bags. The room was small but comfortable with a sink and shower. There is a shared bathroom down the hall. Staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed just one night in transit to Padua.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#283 of 422 in Florence
232 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#269 of 422 in Florence
443 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#296 of 422 in Florence
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#157 of 422 in Florence
688 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#362 of 422 in Florence
399 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#236 of 422 in Florence
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite

Property: Hotel Elite
Address: Via della Scala 12, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $78 - $660
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Elite 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing