We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Place to Stay Close to Everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B & B Novecento

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
B & B Novecento
Ranked #334 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Middletown, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Place to Stay Close to Everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I was only in Florence for 3 nights, so this B&B close to Duomo was perfect. The room was charming - I had a view overlooking the street and I didn't find it to be too noisy at all. The elevator comes in the form of an actual human being to help you up the multiple flights of stairs to the top floor so I would advise calling ahead and letting someone know you're downstairs and needing assistance if you don't think you can carry your luggage up yourself. The owners were absolutely adorable and very helpful with recommendations on where to eat and what to see.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    38
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
24
55
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Brilliant location with roof terrace view of Florence Duomo. We stayed for 3 nights and it was great value for money. Very friendly owners.....we will be back!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank irish-swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

My husband and I and four of our family members booked four rooms at B&B Novocento in early June. Thank God we only stayed two nights! Apparently we missed the small print on their website that mentioned the fact that this B&B is located on the third floor of a 16th century building with no elevator. Shame on us. After 73 steps (literally) and signage all the way up the stairwell warning us not to scratch the walls, we were greeted by owner, Franco, and his wife who immediately thrust business cards of their "recommended" resturants in our faces. We hadn't even been to our rooms and we were next shown a variety of lotions, potions and soaps that were available for purchase.

Once we finally did get to the rooms (which were small but clean and nicely decorated) we were met with a litany of rules- nothing in the toilet but toilet paper (duh) or face a 400 euro fine, no using the mosquito net above the bed (decoration only), no irons allowed...the list went on. The rule that was most frustrating was breakfast. We were told breakfast was 8:30- 9:30 only- no exceptions. When we told Franco that our tickets to the Uffizi were for 8:30 and so we'd miss breakfast, he made no attempt to accomodate us in any way whatsoever. However, when we woke the following morning and were actually able to get to breakfast, we realized we'd missed nothing other than one croissant and coffee. The end. In addition to being pushy (he made three more attempts to sell his lotions to us) Franco was rude. When he gave us our keys and told us he'd show us how to lock the common door, he dismissed me, shooed me like a gnat and said, "No, I'll show him," meaning my husband. Apparently at B&B Novocento, women are helpless. We could not wait to leave but couldn't, of course, before Franco encouraged us to leave a sterling review of his bed and breakfast here and reminded us not to mention the stairs.

All in all, the location was good, safe and clean but the experience wasn't a pleasant one. My family and I traveled to three other Italian cities on this trip and loved each and every hotel we stayed at...except this one.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WellyWoo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

My son and I just completed a 4 night stay in Firenze with Novecento B&B. We enjoyed our stay in the city and Franco + Sawako, proprietors, were a big reason why.
The B&B is very centrally located on via Ricasoli, just off Piazza del Duomo and very near the Accademia Gallery. All of Firenze is a convenient, easy walk from Novecento.
We occupied two single rooms facing the street. The rooms are bright, well appointed, and very clean. Franco and Sawako both do their best to make sure their guests feel comfortable. The only downside to the rooms was street noise in the early AM.
I did see the other larger double, interior rooms and they seemed very hospitable.
A morning breakfast includes coffee, croissant, yoghurt, and toast served in a community kitchen.
Novecento is located on the third floor, up several flight of stairs, so it best suits the client who chooses to travel with less luggage.
I would recommend Novecento while in Firenze for casual travellers be they families or singles. The biggest plusses are the friendly proprietors and the very central location in Firenze.

Room Tip: Interior rooms when avaialable, minimizes noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick042051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Great location to see Florence. Very small room but was functional. Shower was a little strange as you used a plastic shower curtain in the bathroom (like a wet bath in an RV). We found it fine but others might not. Franco and his assistant were friendly and helpful. Somebody else mentioned the bells of the city were bothersome. We enjoyed them and also enjoyed walking down the stairs and being right in the middle of Florence.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkmtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#210 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Duomo
Relais Il Campanile
Relais Il Campanile
#264 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Duomo
Magnifico Messere
Magnifico Messere
#183 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
#33 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Duomo
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
#11 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#13 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Novecento

Property: B & B Novecento
Address: Via Ricasoli 10, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): $115 - $712
Hotel Class:1 star — B & B Novecento 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the centre of Florence,in one the most characteristic streets of the city, few steps far froom the Academy. Where is situated the David of Michelangelo (the original), not far from Medicis chapels, near to the most famous squares of the city. Every 30 minutes about you can benefit from the bus service, from and to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your B & B Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing