We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
209
333
137
51
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
333
137
51
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk piazza san marco hotel is modern shower door good size accademia gallery rooms are nice pleasant stay central station bus stop five nights breakfast was included wi fi major attractions large bathroom on foot breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2008

This hotel is in a great location, clean, modern and has a great staff. I enjoyed staying there, and the bartenders there are fantastic. They concoct excellent drinks, and it has a great atmosphere. We went out in the Santa Croce district and had no problems walking back to our hotel at 2:30am after going out. It's definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank allietimes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

This is a very nice hotel, convenient to the center but out of the tourist mess in the very center.

Rooms are a good sized and we had a nice bath as well. Closets are small but functional. Our superior room had a large terrace and was quite spacious, standards are less so but still a good value.

Breakfast was more than adequate.

Staff overall was excellent, especially Alessandro at the front desk and Jacopo.

Restaurant was disappointing though lovely. Pietro who seems to do a bit of everything provided excellent service.

All in all, a very good experience and a hotel we would return to.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank caviargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athenaeumhotel, Hotel Management at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2008

Dear Guest,
first of all we thank you a lot for your nice review and for the kind words of appreciation. It is so nice to realize that our job is worth to be mentioned by our Clients. It would be very helpful for us if you could better explain what you didn't like about our restaurant. Suggestion are welcome, and if you would be so kind to mail us your opinion, be sure that next time you will stay with us, nothing will be disappointing.

Athenaeum Personal Hotel - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

When you arrive you'll think you've got the wrong hotel, it looks as though someone started an office building and then changed their mind half way through and turned it into a hotel. The design and finishes are modern and of a good standard, but it doesn't really seem to know whether it's a tourist hotel, business hotel or boutique and quirky.

The putting green on the roof of the bar suggests quirky, but nobody uses it. There is one suite (118) which has no view but has a good sized drawing room but furnished very oddly with a good meeting or dining table for 4 people. Some of the 4th floor rooms have roof terraces, but the rooms are small. Wireless internet is available on each floor.

It's a good ten minute walk from the Duomo, and whilst the staff are helpful and the rooms comfortable enough, I think you could find somewhere more central and Italian for the price.

Not bad though.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hypercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athenaeumhotel, Hotel Management at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2008

Dear Guest,
we appreciate very much that you found the time to write a review about us, and we thank you a lot for that. We are ready to receive good and bad reviews, and being yours halfways, we would like to explain you something about us: Personal Hotel Athenaeum is a tourist, business, boutique and quirky hotel at the same time, because we planned it exactely as it is. Florence is visited by travellers of every kind and country, and we want them all!! We also would like to focus your attention on our location, deep inside the historical centre of the city; the one surrounded by ancient city walls.

Athenaeum Personal Hotel - Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Loved loved loved this hotel. Great for anyone - young, old, couples, singles, families. Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a birthday celebration and could not have asked for a nicer hotel in a great location.

Staff friendly and service great. Ate in the restaurant and the prices were ok including alcohol.

Florence itself is amazing - loads to do and could have spent more time there in fact planning to go back and spend about 4 nights.

Would highly recommend

Stayed: August 2008
Thank trixi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athenaeumhotel, manager at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2008

Your nice words made us feel very proud and we will do our best to follow in this direction to score our most important goal: make our guests happy.

The Athenaeum Personal Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Just back from a wonderful break in Florence.

The hotel Athenaeum was fantastic - modern, friendly, clean and good food with a great location in the city centre.

We had four rooms and no complaints about any of them. We had champagne chilling in all four rooms on our arrival included in our 'Sweet Florance' package. Continental breakfast was included with a discout in our rooms for the hotel restaurant where the food was lovely.

Staff were particularly friendly and very helpful.

Michelangelo's David is located in the Accademia gallery only minutes walk away just next to Piazza San Marco.

10 minutes walk away you'll find yourself at the Duomo and a further 5 minutes at the Piazza della Signoria which givers access to the Uffizi gallery.

The train station and bus stations are near by also.

Don't miss thee open top bus tour or the markets.

Would recommend the hotel and will be back myself, hopefully sooner rather then later.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athenaeumhotel, manager at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2008

We will keep working with pleasure to make our services better and better, and words like yours are the best reward for our efforts.

The Athenaeum Personal Hotel - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews