We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home & Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
Ranked #120 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Lovely little gem tucked in the historical center of Florence. You will enjoy the clean, comfortable rooms and the delightful roof terrace that will provide a tranquil oasis after all that sightseeing. The welcoming owners of this family run hotel are exquisite and will make you feel at home. As so, you will be going back again and again. Love it!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel C, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time!
Carmel Coppola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful place! The hosts were charming and treated us like family. They went out of their way to fulfill our requests and make us feel comfortable. Rooms were very clean. The hotel is centrally located and very convenient to sites and transportation. The terrace in back was lovely. The hosts even hung my nephew's suits up while we explored elsewhere for 6 days so they were not wrinkled for a wedding he attended. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for charm, a taste of REAL Florence life, and personalized service. If you want a modern antiseptic room that looks like every other hotel room, look elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank JWalsh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel C, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Grazie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Found this gem on Trip Advisor and how happy we were that this lived up to all the reviews that we had read. It was an easy walk from the station, and an easy 5-10 minute walk into the centre of Florence. The room was clean, stylish and yet felt homely and very Italian. Nice touch with the coffee machine. We had use of the shared toilet which was again pristine clean every day. The terrace was a lovely retreat to come back to, and a nice place to chat/meet other guests if we wanted to. It even has a view of the cupola of the Duomo! Carmel & Pino were charming, helpful and great hosts! Grazie Mille

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel C, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Grazie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We began a family visit to Italy at this charming hotel. Super Clean, fun art and awesomely friendly owners. The piazza is lovely for evening visits - several rooms open onto it. The hotel is within walking distance of every major 'must-see' as well as great restaurants and shopping. The SMN train station is less than a 10 minute walk. Highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel C, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Grazie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Nice little hotel off a side street a few blocks north of the SMN train station, close to the Mercato Centrale. Owned by a couple; the wife is American. Rooms are quite spacious, although the bathroom is quite small,no tub, just a shower. The room also had a mini fridge. King bed was actually two twins slapped together, but that was fine.

The hotel has a nice patio on the 2nd floor. Immediately after dropping our bags we walked over to the market and bought some bread, wine, cheese, salami, and olive oil, and had ourselves a lovely picnic lunch on the terrace. They offer wine glasses in the rooms and bottle openers on the patio.

Hot water in bathroom is anemic at best, and variable. For your shower you'll wait a long time for it to warm up, and during your shower you'll be adjusting it constantly.

Eco-conscious, they ask you to set aside glass and plastic for recycling, hang your towels for reuse, and have liquid hand soap so you don't waste bars of hand soap.

They have wifi but it's also a little anemic and a bit flakey.

A/C available, but €10 extra per night, cash. Free earplugs, but it's a pretty quiet area so you may not need them.

Needs another small trash bin in the room, not just the bathroom.

No elevator, so if you have heavy bags, consider this.

Don’t forget the sneaky city tourist tax must be paid in cash.

Room Tip: ask for room with patio access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank huesmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel C, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Grazie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#134 of 410 in Florence
671 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 410 in Florence
775 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#131 of 410 in Florence
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#184 of 410 in Florence
320 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#239 of 410 in Florence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#68 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $98 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute rates, availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquiries to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me through our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Tripadvisor page on the left. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing