We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #33 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel but was very disappointed. Good things were: Front Desk staff were very friendly, the room was very clean, and the location is great. Negatives: the service from the rooftop bartenders was awful. Never come to your table to see if you need anything. I even had to go back to the bar and ask for napkins because we weren't given any with the snacks that come with the drinks. They never come and ask if you want another drink. They are completely uninterested in the attending to the guests. In general, the hotel is definitely time worn. It's a beautiful historic building, but the furnishings in the room and also in the common areas and the bathrooms are definitely due for an upgrade which almost made the whole hotel seem depressing. I honestly felt like we were staying in an assisted living facility for senior citizens. The breakfast buffet was satisfactory. If I were to return to Florence I would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaF2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Fabulous location on the river between the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio - walkable to all sites. First time I stayed I was upgraded to a river view, this time a standard room without a view which had a nice marble bathroom and certainly suitable. Other room features I love - the included and refreshed water in the minibar, heated towel rack and bathrobe and slippers. The breakfast room is amazing with ceiling frescoes and the breakfast has a wide variety of options. The in room safe is small so can only keep small items in it. The rooftop bar is an excellent spot to have a glass of wine (at price comparable to any restaurant/cafe) with an amazing view - hotel provides a welcome drink. Staff is helpful, friendly and efficient. I've recommended this hotel to several friends and all agreed great choice in Florence.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and visited Florence for the first time and stayed here. We were upgraded to a suite on the river side of the hotel. Ponte Vecchio is right next to this hotel and the Uffizi is in the other side. Incredible location. The hotel is nicely decorated. The room was spacious and well appointed. Our only complaint is that the bed was hard as a rock! It would be great if they could change the mattresses. The breakfast buffet, which was included with the room was terrific. And, the rooftop bar and patio has an amazing view of the Duomo dome. Stunning! The staff of the hotel was terrific. We would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cramsay1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

The room, facility and friendliness of the staff were amazing. Best location. The roof top terrasse overlooking the river on one side and the dome of the duomo on the other was great - sat there for an aperetivo every afternoon. The breakfast was unbelievable. Will be back. Thank you.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 750sylvieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

A comfortable hotel with good bedrooms, some with views of the Arno. Breakfast is excellent with some hot but mostly cold buffet. Good location for nearby restaurants (some tourist traps). Staff are very helpful and friendly. Stayed here for our last 3 visits.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bbtlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,916 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 411 in Florence
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 411 in Florence
1,592 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 411 in Florence
1,714 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $199 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing