We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a view”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #33 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We had the 'room with a view' which had a wonderful terrace tucked into the face of this lovely historic building. I had heard the room was small, but it was a good size and doubled with the size terrace. Double french doors led out to 2 comfortable white covered sofas and a big chair; perfect place to have breakfast or a glass of wine. We could see directly to the Ponte Vecchio and we also had a glorious view of sunsets, boats going down the river, weather blowing in and out, all from our terrace without having to enter the throng of tourists downstairs. Once downstairs, the location was perfect for all the best Florence has to offer; Uffizzi around the corner and the piazza, and market just metres away. Very friendly reception staff and great fun being right in the middle of everything!

Room Tip: room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passingthru63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Everything is perfect. I stayed in a room with definite sewer smell, otherwise everything else is 5 star. Breakfast is excellent. Front desk, location, everything is amazing.Rooms are huge as compared to other European hotels
I heard a lady complaining about that daughter was bitten by possible spiders , we had two rooms, one room smelt like sewer. They checked it out but nothing could be done.

Room Tip: Avoid room with sewer smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Helper521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with 2 children and would wholeheartedly recommend it as a perfect base to explore Florence.
We arrived in car via the excellent instructions from the hotel, avoiding the central zone charge and parking just beside the main entrance. There was an efficient valet and parking service that cost €30/night (for a small car but price varies depending on car size).
Staff were very friendly and very understanding of the needs of the children. The hotel feels intimate, yet had a totally unobtrusive service. Great for a couple!

The room 209 was large and spacious with all the expected facilities and free T-shirts which the kids loved. The view was only of the street below and the fascinating Vasari corridor so if you want a view of the river avoid room 209! For us it was perfect and the most central base to explore the city and museums.
Breakfast was a delicious and simple buffet with something for everyone: scrambled eggs, bacon and lardons, smoked salmon, caviar and eggs, Cereals, fruits, croissants, breads and spreads etc.
I would stay at the hotel again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank wongini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We had room 108, which we were concerned was right next to the breakfast room. Once we opened the door, we were taken aback.....the room was 2 floors. The main level had the living area, TV, bathroom, etc., while up a set of stairs was a large sleeping loft, with safe and closet. Also a TV. Plenty of space and the ceiling height was likely 25 feet. The windows were large, but the view was a side alley and garbage cans. Hotel is 5 minutes or less to Ponte Vecchio. We arrived at 2p but were informed our room was not ready, so we went to the roof bar. Would've been nice if they gave us a drink each for the 1/2 hour wait. Breakfast was included and was just OK. I prefer to go out and hit a bar for breakfast. We had a flight to catch and were at the breakfast lounge at 7a and they were not opened, it was still dark. A/C in room was awesome and bathroom was nice, with strong shower. Only minor issue is that above the bed there is an AC duct and we could hear some voices every so often. Likely from the breakfast lounge. Overall, had everything we needed after some hectic days in Florence.....space, AC, large bathroom. No real issues. Attentive front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrappaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed at the hotel and couldn't believe how lovely all the reception staff where, we arrived early and the room wasn't ready which we was expected but we carried out all the paperwork to avoid doing it later, our bags where taken care off, we didn't even have chance to ask where anything was because the receptionist had a map and was showing us the sights of Florence! Even when checking out a different member of staff was equally as helpful and nothing was to much trouble, they even helped us with train journey etc.
The room was lovely, big, clean, modern with a great shower.
Rooftop was also nice, however the views where not as great as some other rooftop bars BUT getting that million dollar view is actually quiet hard in Florence. But you could see all the sights.
Breakfast was also the best we had throughout our driving tour of Tuscany, my friend is gluten intolerant and asked a member of staff if they happened to have any gluten free bread, the next thing she had a basket full of gluten free biscuits, crackers etc and he had even toasted her some bread, this is amazing service if you suffer with any kind of food issue.
Hotel is also in a great location, easily walking distance to all the main sights!!!
Brilliant hotel, with brilliant staff, would without doubt stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eblakos30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,925 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,469 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 411 in Florence
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 411 in Florence
1,594 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,715 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#62 of 411 in Florence
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#20 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $194 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing