We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Degli Orafi
Nearby Hotels
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
USD 287*
USD 239*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Room Mate Luca(Florence)
USD 173*
USD 143*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 177*
USD 145*
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 427*
USD 379*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
USD 400*
USD 353*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 275*
USD 208*
Maria Novella
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
USD 216*
USD 188*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plus Florence(Florence)(Great Value!)
USD 131*
USD 115*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
USD 770*
USD 728*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 1,188*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,623)
Filter reviews
1,623 results
Traveller rating
1,182
346
66
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,182
346
66
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barponte vecchioarno riverbreakfast roomuffizi galleryperfect locationvasari corridorpainted ceilingwelcome drinkold bridgefifth floorbeautiful roomwonderful hotelfront desk staffliving roomexcellent breakfastaround the corner
Filter
Updating list...
870 - 875 of 1,623 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stopped at this hotel for 5 nights at the end of March. We had a suite overlooking the Arno. The room was large and comfortable with a good sitting area where you could sprawl out on the sofa.

Staff were all friendly and helpful and the morning buffet breakfast had a range of food to siut all tastes.

THe hotel is right next to the Uffizi and within a few minutes gentle stroll of all the main tourist sites.

We would certainly go back if ever we are in Florence again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your stay and your kind comment. It is good hear that you found the rooms to be comfortable and well appointed, all according to your needs.
We also appreciate your kind comments about our staff which is a crucial part of a successful stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a fantastic hotel right on the river next to Ponte Vecchio and the Ufizzi. The rooms and decor are dated, however that is the only negative of the hotel. The rooms are clean and very spacious. The staff are very friendly and recommended the best restaurants of our entire trip! The hotel is very easy to find and you will be greeted warmly. The hotel held our bags for us from early in the morning until our room was ready. The buffet breakfast is great - better than most hotels with a large selection to choose from. The rooftop terrace was certainly a highlight of our trip - every night we would sit on the rooftop terrace and drink lovely wine and beer watching the sunset over the Tuscan countryside to our left and the Duomo to our right. Absolutely magical!!

Room Tip: The lift takes a while so a room on a lower floor will save you time waiting for the lift.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CluelessTraveller_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review about your stay!
We appreciate your comments about our staff and breakfast and we are happy you found the hotel to be well located. As for the décor, we inform that our rooms are decorated in a old florentine style. For those who prefer a more modern design we can offer our other wing "The Orafi Tower", a restored part of the hotel with Suites elegantly furnished and particulary suitable for longer stays or families. Regarding the lift, we apologize if you found it a bit slow but we also have a 2nd lift that operates from the1st to the 4th floor, usually less crowded.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Roof terrace bar with the panoramic views and our excellent Chianti wine. Hopefully you will be back for another sunset!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night last September(a special treat for our 30th wedding anniversary of which they were informed) The room itself was very nice but when I opened the curtains to check the view we were at the side of the hotel looking out onto an apartment block being refurbished full of scaffolding and worst of all the ugly yellow rubbish shute for the builders directly in front of our room. We were very disappointed and informed the staff at reception who offered to upgrade us FOR A PRICE. I think if you are only staying the one night they are not too worried about views for you or anything else. Most disappointed since we paid about 150 euro for the night which was a discounted website price!

Room Tip: Rooms fronting onto the river are the only worthwhile ones.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Mrs Yvonne G,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your stay with us.
I was disappointed that you had issues during your stay and reading this comment 6 months after is very unfortunate for us. I am sorry you found us over-priced and that the rate didn’t match your expectations. This is a mid/high season month and therefore the rates are usually much higher than the rate you’ve stated. Price is a very subjective issue but I would say that if this was the amount you paid you got a fairly good deal. As you know our hotel is located in the city centre next to all of the important sights, with a free American buffet breakfast and with a beautiful view over the Ponte Vecchio, The Duomo and the Florentine Roof tops. I can also assure that our rates are very much in tandem with other 4 star hotels in the area.

If I understand your wish was to have a room with a view . We inform you that these rooms are only available in the higher categories, not in the Standard Classic room. Most of our clients are honeymooners or special anniversary guests therefore this is not a guarantee for a free upgrade or view room. We also inform that we always answer every kind of request that we receive from our clients or travel agents regarding this particular request. We offer a supplement to be paid and usually our clients are very happy with this option.

I also want to state that we treat all our clients equally and not depending on how many nights they stay. I would very much like to have the opportunity to speak to you in person regarding your experience and would be happy to get in contact with you at the earliest opportunity.
Next time it would be my pleasure to personally find you a room if you decide to come back once more, which I sincerely hope you will

Best regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Degli Orafi is a nice hotel for those who want a pretty view of the Arno. The rooms are spacious and have nice beds. However, the staff were not as pleasant and helpful as other hotels my wife and I staid at in Italy. They were not rude, but just not as helpful as I expected considering the price I paid for the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
We’d like to apologize for the lack of service you received from our staff. However I would have preferred a more detailed explanation, but not because I’m a Hotel manager but mostly for my staff since it makes them unhappy knowing they were unhelpful, especially since this is one of our strongest advantage. As you can see we get a lot of positive response about our front desk staff and therefore it is important for us to hear from you again, in order to show you the best of us. Working in this industry for many years I can only say that every day is different with new challenges and problems to solve. Maybe, I hope, you encountered a very stressful day with many clients and therefore did not receive our personal service that we are so proud of.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great location right next to the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio. The rooms are very nice and the staff were great. Breakfast was served in a lovely room overlooking the Arno. The food selection was awesome and very tasty. This is a great hotel that I would certainly go back to.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Maria,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay, we are so happy that you had such a wonderful time. Hope to see you next year and many years to come....

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews