We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and service”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #31 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
156 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good location and service”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel is located between the Ponte Vecchio and the Ufizzi on the edge of the Arno. Ideal location. The room we had did not have a view although some suites do. Our friends had building works outside their window. However this is the centre of a large popular city.
The room was large and the bathroom excellent.
Breakfast was good and there was a view over the Arno for some tables. Staff were slow to clear away used plates but the rest of the hotel was excellent. Ideal for seeing Florence.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you want a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us .Thank you for your positive comment about the hotel and our location. We apologize for the building works outside the window, unfortunately this was due to some renovation works of the famous Uffizi Gallery. I am happy though you pointed out that we are located in the city centre with everything that comes with it. Hotel degli Orafi is indeed ideal for visiting all of Florence's main attractions.
We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    326
    63
    18
    9
See reviews for
292
803
73
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stopped at this hotel for 5 nights at the end of March. We had a suite overlooking the Arno. The room was large and comfortable with a good sitting area where you could sprawl out on the sofa.

Staff were all friendly and helpful and the morning buffet breakfast had a range of food to siut all tastes.

THe hotel is right next to the Uffizi and within a few minutes gentle stroll of all the main tourist sites.

We would certainly go back if ever we are in Florence again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your stay and your kind comment. It is good hear that you found the rooms to be comfortable and well appointed, all according to your needs.
We also appreciate your kind comments about our staff which is a crucial part of a successful stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a fantastic hotel right on the river next to Ponte Vecchio and the Ufizzi. The rooms and decor are dated, however that is the only negative of the hotel. The rooms are clean and very spacious. The staff are very friendly and recommended the best restaurants of our entire trip! The hotel is very easy to find and you will be greeted warmly. The hotel held our bags for us from early in the morning until our room was ready. The buffet breakfast is great - better than most hotels with a large selection to choose from. The rooftop terrace was certainly a highlight of our trip - every night we would sit on the rooftop terrace and drink lovely wine and beer watching the sunset over the Tuscan countryside to our left and the Duomo to our right. Absolutely magical!!

Room Tip: The lift takes a while so a room on a lower floor will save you time waiting for the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CluelessTraveller_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review about your stay!
We appreciate your comments about our staff and breakfast and we are happy you found the hotel to be well located. As for the décor, we inform that our rooms are decorated in a old florentine style. For those who prefer a more modern design we can offer our other wing "The Orafi Tower", a restored part of the hotel with Suites elegantly furnished and particulary suitable for longer stays or families. Regarding the lift, we apologize if you found it a bit slow but we also have a 2nd lift that operates from the1st to the 4th floor, usually less crowded.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Roof terrace bar with the panoramic views and our excellent Chianti wine. Hopefully you will be back for another sunset!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night last September(a special treat for our 30th wedding anniversary of which they were informed) The room itself was very nice but when I opened the curtains to check the view we were at the side of the hotel looking out onto an apartment block being refurbished full of scaffolding and worst of all the ugly yellow rubbish shute for the builders directly in front of our room. We were very disappointed and informed the staff at reception who offered to upgrade us FOR A PRICE. I think if you are only staying the one night they are not too worried about views for you or anything else. Most disappointed since we paid about 150 euro for the night which was a discounted website price!

Room Tip: Rooms fronting onto the river are the only worthwhile ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Mrs Yvonne G,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your stay with us.
I was disappointed that you had issues during your stay and reading this comment 6 months after is very unfortunate for us. I am sorry you found us over-priced and that the rate didn’t match your expectations. This is a mid/high season month and therefore the rates are usually much higher than the rate you’ve stated. Price is a very subjective issue but I would say that if this was the amount you paid you got a fairly good deal. As you know our hotel is located in the city centre next to all of the important sights, with a free American buffet breakfast and with a beautiful view over the Ponte Vecchio, The Duomo and the Florentine Roof tops. I can also assure that our rates are very much in tandem with other 4 star hotels in the area.

If I understand your wish was to have a room with a view . We inform you that these rooms are only available in the higher categories, not in the Standard Classic room. Most of our clients are honeymooners or special anniversary guests therefore this is not a guarantee for a free upgrade or view room. We also inform that we always answer every kind of request that we receive from our clients or travel agents regarding this particular request. We offer a supplement to be paid and usually our clients are very happy with this option.

I also want to state that we treat all our clients equally and not depending on how many nights they stay. I would very much like to have the opportunity to speak to you in person regarding your experience and would be happy to get in contact with you at the earliest opportunity.
Next time it would be my pleasure to personally find you a room if you decide to come back once more, which I sincerely hope you will

Best regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Degli Orafi is a nice hotel for those who want a pretty view of the Arno. The rooms are spacious and have nice beds. However, the staff were not as pleasant and helpful as other hotels my wife and I staid at in Italy. They were not rude, but just not as helpful as I expected considering the price I paid for the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
We’d like to apologize for the lack of service you received from our staff. However I would have preferred a more detailed explanation, but not because I’m a Hotel manager but mostly for my staff since it makes them unhappy knowing they were unhelpful, especially since this is one of our strongest advantage. As you can see we get a lot of positive response about our front desk staff and therefore it is important for us to hear from you again, in order to show you the best of us. Working in this industry for many years I can only say that every day is different with new challenges and problems to solve. Maybe, I hope, you encountered a very stressful day with many clients and therefore did not receive our personal service that we are so proud of.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Property: Hotel Degli Orafi
Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $228 - $560
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing