We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap charming old hotel”
Review of Hotel Sampaoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sampaoli
Ranked #320 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I've made it to Florence after a 12 hours flight from home. As i saw the hotel stairs i thought "...mmm is this a joke ?" . After a two flights of stairs climb the place looked me like the place i wanted to stay. My room was basic and , even if i only booked for one night the kind girl at the desk allowed me to add another day. They have signs around the place against loud people and this made this old brit man happy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sermau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

First off, you can completely ignore the website for this hotel because the real thing looks terrible as compared to what is advertised on the internet. The location is about 15 mins from the train station which is the only positive thing I can say about this place. You first need to climb a narrow flight of stairs which isn't horrible but not ideal, especially if you have luggage rather than backpacks. The room we stayed in was dark, it had a horrible smell, it was old, and was incredibly disgusting overall. The bathroom was on the other end of the hall and it too was not in great condition.

The woman working at the reception was incredibly rude and we got into an argument over how gross the room was. She completely dismissed any of our complaints and treated us terribly. When we told her that it was never mentioned that there was no air conditioning she called us liars and said that we were informed.

Needless to say, we didn't stay long and left after a few hours to find a better place. There are a lot of nicer, cleaner, and AIR CONDITiONED hotels that charge the same price with even better location than this one.

I advise you to stay away from Hotel Sampaoli.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jordang22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Our stay at Hotel Sampaoli was like being a house guest in someone's home. The hotel is in a small street and on the 2nd floor of a building. Our room was at the end of a hall and very cozy. It was almost like staying in a master bedroom. Outside our room, there was a bathroom for other rooms that did not have one. The hotel is very quaint and feels like you're borrowing someone else's room for the night. A Greek restaurant is below the hotel so we were able to see the staff prepare tables outside our room. It was so lovely. We also had a view of a rooftop garden. The hotel staff was nice. They recommended a fantastic restaurant called Za-Za's that was amazing!!! Don't get fouled into going to the restaurant next door though (bad service and the food's not as good as Za-Za's). Hotel Sampaoli was also located very close to the train station and near the museum where you can see the break-taking Statue of David! Such a lovely hotel for an amazing price!

Room Tip: If you prefer a private bathroom, make sure that is the room you are reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melida27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Alot of people who have booked to stay there get rerouted to their sister hotel, be warned. we made sure to call them twice before we left to make 100% SURE we stayed there, so they had no excuse to move us.
its not too far some the train station, print a map from google map, its 100% accurate.
Once you get there, be warned that you have 2 flights of stairs to, which are narrow, to climb. Receptionist was very friendly. Our room was great, we got a 3 bed room, we even had our own sink, but shared bathroom, we were there in early June, and it was very quiet. this place was very Clean, very quiet, beds were comfortable, the location was GREAT, for a reference point: this hotel is 3 min from Saint Marks basilica.
Free Wi-Fi, TV & DVD player in room, they give you towels as well for free
i would deff. stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLottie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed at Sampaoli for two nights. We booked the double private ensuite for 78 euros with an bathroom just for us. There is no photo of our room on internet and they know why. We felt like sleeping in an old kitchen. The room was very small and very dark, there were tiles on all the walls and the door was made of glass so that the corridoors light was shining into the room all night long and we reallz heared everything! Bathroom was ok. The girl at the reception gave us 2 times wrong information for parking place and for where to have breakfast. parking is available far away (15 min to walk) for very "cheap" 20 euros per day. you cant even pass by car for two minute in front of the hostel to take out your luggage because there will be some army men from the house next to the hostel screaming at you. finally we think it was an expensive stay for very little comfort. if you want to sleep quiet and if you are arriving by car you should prefer to walk some minutes more to the center of florence ...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina77718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#137 of 410 in Florence
664 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#266 of 410 in Florence
237 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#234 of 410 in Florence
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#273 of 410 in Florence
96 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#176 of 410 in Florence
495 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#159 of 410 in Florence
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sampaoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sampaoli

Address: Via San Gallo 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $76 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sampaoli 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi! We are Michela e Rosalia, two friends with a passion to share our Florence exerience! We work with tierless enthusiasm on our project, to welcome our guests with warmth and friendliness in one of the most beautiful cities in the world ... Florence! Hotel Sampaoli is located in the heart of Florence's historical center, near the university area, and within a short distance of the most famous artistic Florentine masterpieces. Friendly atmosphere, comfortable rooms and a clean environment. Furnished with a sober and essential style, but always with attention to comfort and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sampaoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaoli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing